Posted by: frburke23 | April 14, 2011

Thought for Friday, 5th Week of Lent

John 10:31-42

The Jews picked up rocks to stone Jesus.
Jesus answered them, “I have shown you many good works from my Father.
For which of these are you trying to stone me?”
The Jews answered him,
“We are not stoning you for a good work but for blasphemy.
You, a man, are making yourself God.”
Jesus answered them,
“Is it not written in your law, ‘I said, ‘You are gods”‘?
If it calls them gods to whom the word of God came,
and Scripture cannot be set aside,
can you say that the one
whom the Father has consecrated and sent into the world
blasphemes because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’?
If I do not perform my Father’s works, do not believe me;
but if I perform them, even if you do not believe me,
believe the works, so that you may realize and understand
that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.”
Then they tried again to arrest him;
but he escaped from their power.

He went back across the Jordan
to the place where John first baptized, and there he remained.
Many came to him and said,
“John performed no sign,
but everything John said about this man was true.”
And many there began to believe in him.

_________________________________________

You can almost understand the Jews in the case of Jesus.  They knew the law well, which said that blasphemy was worthy of death.  This Jesus was claiming to be the Son of God, so they thought He should be killed.

However, their eyes were not open to seeing Jesus’ mighty works.  It is one thing for a person to claim to be the Son of God.  It is another thing to actually perform the mighty deeds of God.  Did they not notice the miracles?  Did they not recognize the authority with which He spoke?  This truly is the Son of God in their midst.

Do I believe that Jesus is the Son of God?  Do I trust the Word of God?  Have I seen the Lord at work in my life? 

Jesus says, “The Father and I are one.”  The great thing is that the Father always keeps His promises to us.  Jesus is the perfect reflection of the Father, so we should not be afraid to trust Jesus at His word.  No matter how difficult things get in your life – and I talk to people daily who are really struggling right now through unemployment, stress, poor relationships – the Lord promises to help you through it.

Have a blessed day!

Fr. Burke 

http://frburke23.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. Thank you for your timely insights, Father! In particular that no matter how difficult things become, the Lord promises to help me through it. It is so easy for me to lose sight of this because I look for Him to change the situation rather than help me through it. Thank you! Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,770 other followers

