Posted by: frburke23 | February 10, 2013

Thought for Monday, 5th Week in Ordinary Time

Mark 6:53-56

After making the crossing to the other side of the sea,
Jesus and his disciples came to land at Gennesaret
and tied up there.
As they were leaving the boat, people immediately recognized him.
They scurried about the surrounding country
and began to bring in the sick on mats
to wherever they heard he was.
Whatever villages or towns or countryside he entered,
they laid the sick in the marketplaces and begged him that they might touch only the tassel on his cloak;
and as many as touched it were healed.

==================================

I am writing this from the 125th Men’s Cursillo in the Diocese of Joliet.  It has been a wonderful-grace filled weekend as the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ has been tangible.  Each Cursillo that I participate in strengthens my own walk with the Lord and commitment to share His love with the world.  Many of the men arrived on Thursday night as relative strangers and we leave here on Sunday as brothers in Christ.  It never ceases to amaze me what God’s grace can do to a group of people.

Have you ever been invited to attend a Cursillo?  If you have never attended a Cursillo weekend, I encourage you to pray about the opportunity.  It is an experience of Christian community that we seldom experience elsewhere in this secular world.

Now, back to today’s reading.  What strikes me in this reading is how the people flocked to Jesus wherever He went.  They were focused on Him and would go to extremes to meet Him.  They were drawn to Jesus because there was something different about Him.  Yes, He was healing people and had a reputation as a miracle worker.  But more importantly, they saw holiness incarnate.  They were drawn to the very presence of God and were willing to sacrifice anything to get to Him.

Do I even recognize my need for Jesus?

Has my life been so conformed to the secular society that I have become numb to my need for Jesus?

To what extent am I willing to sacrifice my time, my comfort, my desires in order to go to meet Jesus?

Do I seek the Lord with my whole heart, mind and soul?

Dear Jesus, help me to recognize my need for You.  Help me to step back from my hectic life, my pursuit of material things, my plans and my desires so that I place you at the center of my life.  My heart is restless because it is seeking You.   I can only find rest in you and yet I seek solace in so many things of this world.  I want to be holy.  I want to stand apart from this world of materialism, minimalism and secularism.  I want to be your faithful disciple and to help You light this world on fire.  Help me to put aside comfort and worldly pleasure to seek you above all things.

God bless,

Fr. Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

