Posted by: frburke23 | February 18, 2013

Thought for Tuesday, 1st Week of Lent

Jesus said to his disciples:
“In praying, do not babble like the pagans,
who think that they will be heard because of their many words.
Do not be like them.
Your Father knows what you need before you ask him.

“This is how you are to pray:

Our Father who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name,
thy Kingdom come,
thy will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread;
and forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.

“If you forgive men their transgressions,
your heavenly Father will forgive you.
But if you do not forgive men,
neither will your Father forgive your transgressions.”

=========================================

I find the beginning of this reading very interesting.  Jesus tells us not to “babble like the pagans” with our many words.  It is not by the volume of words that Jesus is going to hear us.  Our heavenly Father knows our needs.  When we come to Him in simplicity, humility and faith, I believe that His desire is to fill us with His grace and all good things.  We not always receive what we want, but the Lord invites us to trust Him as our loving Father.  He gives us what we need.

Then Jesus teaches us the Our Father.  You’ve probably read many interpretations on this beautiful prayer, so I will not go into detail.  However, what strikes me today is the phrase “thy will be done”.  This makes every prayer perfect, in my humble opinion, because we are ultimately surrendering our will to the will of the Father.  He encourages us to seek, to ask and to knock, but ultimately we are to ask that God’s will be done.  God’s will is always better than my will, even if I don’t agree with Him all the time.

As I’ve shared with you before, my will was not to be a priest.  I thought I would be miserable being a priest.  I would by lonely, bored and poor.   Why would God call me to something that would make me miserable?  That is what I thought.  However, after being a priest 10+ years, God has shown me what a beautiful vocation the priesthood is.  I can’t imagine doing anything else with my life.  He has taught me how to trust His will as better than my will.

How did He get me to enter seminary if it wasn’t my will?  He spoke to my heart in prayer.  Every time I was silent the idea of priesthood surfaced.  And friends, family and complete strangers would recommend to me to think about becoming a priest.  God gently invited me; the response was totally up to me.  I thank God that He was persistent because I would have missed out on something tremendous had I stuck with my will.

Do you pray often “thy will be done”?

How much do you trust the Lord in every aspect of your life?

Have you noticed that God is trying to teach you to trust in Him?

Have a blessed day!

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Fr. Burke,

    I have enjoyed your daily thoughts for the past week or so. I really do enjoy them. I have a favor to ask. Please include my father in your prayers. He was diagnosed with cancer today. He is a wonderful man, and I would appreciate your prayers for him. My mother turned me on to your email, btw…

    “Let your will be done” is especially applicable to me today….This one is totally up to God, and either way, I know it’s his will.

    Thank You

    • I will keep your father in my prayers. What is his first name?

  2. Fr. Burke,   When you get a chance could you send me a list of spiritual directors.Thanks have a great week.   Just for laughs was thinking yesterday during the meeting that you could maybe get in touch with my guy Carlton Fisk I am hearing he is need of some direction:)   Frank

    • I just sent it to you via email.

  3. There have been so many times I’ve wanted to reply but didn’t but tonight I had to reply. There have been so many times I have felt like you knew what I needed to hear.
    Thank you so very much for gently leading me.

    • You are welcome. God bless you…


Leave a Reply

Categories

