Posted by: frburke23 | February 20, 2013

Thought for Thursday, 1st Week of Lent

Queen Esther, seized with mortal anguish,
had recourse to the LORD.
She lay prostrate upon the ground, together with her handmaids,
from morning until evening, and said:
“God of Abraham, God of Isaac, and God of Jacob, blessed are you.
Help me, who am alone and have no help but you,
for I am taking my life in my hand.
As a child I used to hear from the books of my forefathers
that you, O LORD, always free those who are pleasing to you.
Now help me, who am alone and have no one but you,
O LORD, my God.

“And now, come to help me, an orphan.
Put in my mouth persuasive words in the presence of the lion
and turn his heart to hatred for our enemy,
so that he and those who are in league with him may perish.
Save us from the hand of our enemies;
turn our mourning into gladness
and our sorrows into wholeness.”

============================

I just returned from visiting Sts. Cyril & Methodius Seminary in Orchard Lake, MI.  Then tomorrow I’m taking a group of 12 young men to visit St. John Vianney College Seminary.  Please pray for safe travels and that the Holy Spirit will guide these young men in their future decisions.

Today we hear from the book of Esther.  This is a great story of Queen Esther begging God to save her people from destruction.  She lay prostrate on the ground and asked all her handmaids to storm heaven along with her.  She truly believed that God hears those who are pleasing to Him, and of course, He does answer her prayers.

She is a great example for us who seek the Lord’s blessings.   This goes along with the Gospel today, which tells us to seek, to ask and to knock.  The Lord wants us to trust Him completely.  He wants us to come to Him with our needs.  And He wants us to live in His grace, to be pleasing to Him with the way we live our lives.

So I think there are two areas of our lives that we should contemplate:

1)     Am I living my life according to the Lord’s commandments?  Is my life pleasing to the Lord?  Am I living in God’s grace?  Or is there something in my life that I need to turn around?  Don’t wait until tomorrow to change…

2)    Do I go to the Lord with my needs?  Do I trust the Lord with every part of my life?  Or do I try to do everything on my own?  When was the last time that I begged the Lord from the bottom of my soul for something?  Would I be willing to prostrate myself in humility before the Lord?

Have a blessed day.  Be confident in the Lord and ask Him for your needs.  And live according to His ways.

Peace,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. My prayers are with you and the 12 young men .drive carefully . Peace be with you. Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

