Posted by: frburke23 | February 26, 2013

Thought for Wednesday, 2nd Week of Lent

The people of Judah and the citizens of Jerusalem said,
“Come, let us contrive a plot against Jeremiah.
It will not mean the loss of instruction from the priests,
nor of counsel from the wise, nor of messages from the prophets.
And so, let us destroy him by his own tongue;
let us carefully note his every word.”

Heed me, O LORD,
and listen to what my adversaries say.
Must good be repaid with evil
that they should dig a pit to take my life?
Remember that I stood before you
to speak in their behalf,
to turn away your wrath from them.

==============================

Imagine walking in the shoes of the prophet Jeremiah.  God called him to be a prophet at a very young age.  Jeremiah protested that he was too young and didn’t want to do the Lord’s work.  However, God told Jeremiah that He would place the words on Jeremiah’s lips when he spoke.  Jeremiah relented and went about God’s work.

As we see often in Scripture, the prophet Jeremiah was not received well.  Those who heard Jeremiah’s words of truth became angry and wanted to kill Jeremiah.  The truth often hurts.  Jesus showed us that the Truth is not going always going to be received well.  They crucified Jesus.  They persecuted many prophets.  Today the Church still is persecuted for preaching the truth.

Jeremiah’s response is to the persecution is very normal.  He cried out to God, wondering why his good intentions were being repaid with evil.  He reminds God that he was only doing the will of God.  We would do the same thing in his position.  I would be saying, “Lord, you asked me to do this.  Now that I’m doing your will, they are trying to kill me.  Where are you?  Have you abandoned me?”

Jeremiah was showing us the way.  If we are going to be faithful disciples and apostles, we must speak the truth in love.  Not everyone is going to receive our words with open arms. We are going to be rejected.

Will I continue to do the will of God in the face of rejection and persecution?

Do I refrain from sharing the truth out of fear of rejection?

Do I speak the truth in love?

What keeps me from sharing my faith with others?

Dear Lord, you are the Way, the Truth and the Life.  Help me to know you.  Help me to be convinced of your love and truth.  Inspire me to share your love and mercy with all those that I meet.  Help me to remain strong and steadfast in the face of rejection and persecution, like Jeremiah.

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Great message Father Burke,

    Reminds me of a certain preacher who was told by the Holy Spirit that he would be killed If he went to a Columbia to be a missionary. He told his friend who trying to convince him not to go “How can I tell Jesus no after what He did for me on the cross of Calvary?”

    Or Polycarp at the burning stake: All my life my Lord has been faithful and good to me, so how could I now be unfaithful to Him? (paraphrased)

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. […] Thought for Wednesday, 2nd Week of Lent (frburke23.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

