Posted by: frburke23 | March 19, 2013

Thought for Wednesday, 5th Week of Lent

John 8:31-42

Jesus said to those Jews who believed in him,
“If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples,
and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”
They answered him, “We are descendants of Abraham
and have never been enslaved to anyone.
How can you say, ‘You will become free’?”
Jesus answered them, “Amen, amen, I say to you,
everyone who commits sin is a slave of sin.
A slave does not remain in a household forever,
but a son always remains.
So if the Son frees you, then you will truly be free.
I know that you are descendants of Abraham.
But you are trying to kill me,
because my word has no room among you.
I tell you what I have seen in the Father’s presence;
then do what you have heard from the Father.”

They answered and said to him, “Our father is Abraham.”
Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children,
you would be doing the works of Abraham.
But now you are trying to kill me,
a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God;
Abraham did not do this.
You are doing the works of your father!”
So they said to him, “We were not born of fornication.
We have one Father, God.”
Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me,
for I came from God and am here;
I did not come on my own, but he sent me.”

=======================================

“If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” 

Jesus invites us to remain in His word.  What is this invitation?  I think the Lord wants us to meditate on the Scriptures.  As you read the Word of God, imagine yourself in the scene.  Listen to Jesus speak.  What do you see in His eyes?  How does He treat people?  Can you sense His love and compassion?  If we get to know Him well, we will be His disciples – His followers.

And we will know the truth.  Is there such a thing as objective truth?  Today many people want to believe that there is no objective truth.  They want their own beliefs to be their truth.  It is all subjective.  Yet Jesus is very clear that there are truths that are undeniable – Jesus is the Son of God.  Jesus died on the cross and rose from the dead.  Jesus ascended into heaven opening the gates of heaven for you and me.

And this truth will set us free.  How does truth set us free?  If follow Jesus’ commandments of love, it is extremely freeing.  When we sin, we become slaves of sin.  Our conscience bothers us.  We cannot sleep in peace.  However, when our discipleship of Jesus is the most important part of our lives, the Holy Spirit fills us with peace and freedom that no one can take away from us.

Jesus came to offer us new life.  He wants us to become adopted sons and daughters of the Father.  If we want to remain the Father’s house forever, Jesus asks us to avoid sin and follow His ways.

Do I spend time seeking the truth in the Word of God?

Do I regularly review my life, examine my conscience and go to confession?

Do I see myself as a son/daughter of God?

Do I wake up and ask the Lord, “How can I be a better disciple today?”

God bless,

Fr. Burke

To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column.  Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.


Responses

  1. I am new to looking at your site. All I can say is thank you from my heart. I saw you on EWTN’S,” Life On The Rock” this week. I was born and raised in Joliet and have been Catholic all my life.
    I now live in San Antonio, TX. I am part of the women’s ACTS retreats in my parish. Thank you for your faith and for being a faithful priest to Christ . I look forward to praying and reflecting with you on your web site.

    All For His Greater Honor And Glory,

    Mary Lou


Leave a Reply

Categories

