Posted by: frburke23 | April 25, 2013

Thought for Friday, 4th Week of Easter

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Do not let your hearts be troubled.
You have faith in God; have faith also in me.
In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places.
If there were not,
would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?
And if I go and prepare a place for you,
I will come back again and take you to myself,
so that where I am you also may be.
Where I am going you know the way.”
Thomas said to him,
“Master, we do not know where you are going;
how can we know the way?”
Jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.”

==========================================

This is often read at funerals to give comfort to those who have lost a loved one.  “Do not let your hearts be troubled.”  Just allow those words to enter your heart.  So often our hearts are troubled.  Loved ones pass away, we lose our job, relationships are floundering, we don’t love as we should…  And yet, Jesus tells us, “Do not let your hearts be troubled.” 

Jesus tells us to place our faith in Him.  No matter how bad things get, Jesus tries to keep us focused on Him and eternal life.  He is trying to teach us to trust in Him completely.  He has prepared a place for us in heaven and He will come back to take us with Him.  He wants to take us where He is going.

Thomas wanted to follow Jesus, but he says, “we do not know where you are going; how can we know the way?”  Jesus responds with the famous line that has been quoted throughout the centuries, “I am the way and the truth and the life.”

Jesus is the WAY.  He calls us to follow Him on this WAY.  He asks us to study Him in the Scriptures so that we know the WAY.  We get lost in life and we lose our way, but Jesus calls us to keep our eyes focused on Him.  “Come follow me and I will make your fishers of men.”

Jesus is the TRUTH.  Do I know the TRUTH?  Have I come to know the TRUTH?  Do I study the Lord and learn the TRUTH?  Come Holy Spirit, guide me to the TRUTH.

Jesus is the LIFE.  When we live in His grace by following His way and living in the Truth, then we have LIFE.  “I came so that you might have LIFE and have it abundantly.”  Are you living an abundant LIFE? 

Jesus invites us into His divine LIFE today.  What is my response?  Where am I going?  Do I want to live in one of those rooms He has prepared for me? 

Have a blessed day!

Fr. Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

