Posted by: frburke23 | April 27, 2013

Thought for Sunday, 5th Week of Easter

When Judas had left them, Jesus said,
“Now is the Son of Man glorified, and God is glorified in him.
If God is glorified in him,
God will also glorify him in himself,
and God will glorify him at once.
My children, I will be with you only a little while longer.
I give you a new commandment: love one another.
As I have loved you, so you also should love one another.
This is how all will know that you are my disciples,
if you have love for one another.”

===================================

It is interesting that Jesus calls his impending crucifixion the time that He will be “glorified”.  According to the world, this looked like a huge failure.  Yet, few understood what was in store.  There would be no resurrection without the suffering and death.  Judas’ betrayal set into motion the mystery of salvation.

So before Jesus departed His followers, He wanted to impart to them some of the most important teachings.  Think about that – before parents leave their children for an evening, they give them explicit instructions on what they are to do and not to do while they are gone.  What does Jesus choose to share with His disciples before He leaves them?  Love one another as I have loved you.  This is what He saw as most important before He left them.

And how did Jesus love us?  He loved us to the cross – the most shameful way of execution.  He shed his last drop of blood.  He emptied Himself completely for you and for me.  This was something completely new.  This kind of love had never been seen before.  And now Jesus was asking His followers to love in this same way.

That means me and you.  We are called to love sacrificially, to lay down our lives for one another.  We are called to seek the best for others because we are all brothers and sisters in Christ.  And what is the best for another person?  Salvation.  Am I willing to lay down my life and my desires so that another person can be saved for eternity?  That is what Jesus did for us.  This is what He calls us to do.

And this is how we can glorify Jesus by our own lives – by loving one another.  Have you ever seen a group that truly loved one another?  I remember the first Cursillo I attended and how much love I saw from that team.  They sought opportunities to serve us.  I saw the love of Jesus in those men.  That impacted me greatly and they were giving glory to God.

Do I see every person as my brother or sister, no matter what language they speak, the color of their skin, or their background?

Am I willing to sacrifice my desires for the good of another person?

Am I willing to love as Jesus loved?

Have a great weekend!  May we put into practice what Jesus has taught us.  May we love one another and He loved us.

God bless,

Fr. Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

