Posted by: frburke23 | May 12, 2013

Thought for Monday, 7th Week of Easter

The disciples said to Jesus,
“Now you are talking plainly, and not in any figure of speech.
Now we realize that you know everything
and that you do not need to have anyone question you.
Because of this we believe that you came from God.”
Jesus answered them, “Do you believe now?
Behold, the hour is coming and has arrived
when each of you will be scattered to his own home
and you will leave me alone.
But I am not alone, because the Father is with me.
I have told you this so that you might have peace in me.
In the world you will have trouble,
but take courage, I have conquered the world.”

=====================================

Even though the disciples thought they understood Jesus clearly, they obviously did not understand.  They declared their faith in Jesus, “Now we realize that you know everything and that you do not need to have anyone question you.  Because of this we believe that you came from God.”  It sounds like Peter when he told Jesus that he would never deny Jesus.  Of course, we know that Peter did deny Jesus three times and all the disciples abandoned Jesus at the cross except Mary, John and Mary Magdalene.

That is what Jesus was referring to when he said, “Behold, the house is coming and has arrived when each of you will be scattered to his own home and you will leave me alone.”   

We too have placed our faith in Jesus.

Do we keep our faith when times get tough?

Have we abandoned the Lord when we suffer?

Or do we maintain our faith in good times and in bad?

But Jesus told them that He is never alone for He and the Father are one.  God is a communion of persons – Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  And God invites each of us into this communion.  Jesus promised us that He would never leave us alone before He ascended into heaven.  The Holy Spirit resides in each one of us through our baptism.  And yet sometimes we do not foster that intimate relationship that God wants to have with us. 

We turn away.

We abandon Him.

We deny that we are believers when pressed on the question.

Jesus, help me to stay faithful to you no matter how bad things get.  Help me to trust that you reside deep within me.  I want to participate in your divine life on a daily basis.  Help me to foster my relationship with you through daily prayer and study.  I love you Lord.  I know you are always faithful to me.  My desire is to remain faithful to you always.

God bless,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Dear Father Burke Masters,
    When you said, “We deny that we are believers when pressed on the question”. I was raised to pray before each meal. When on family vacation my father would lead prayer even in a restaurant. It is hard sometimes when in a Burger King, or Wendys, or a muc
    h nicer restaurant, to make the sign of cross and say, our prayer of thanksgiving, but we still do it. And show others that we are Catholic. At other times I deny Jesus, but then have to work twice as hard to realize my mistake and ask the Lords forgiveness. If we deny God, it seems like he is always there to bring us back closer to him. Letting us learn by our free will.
    God-bless you Father. Thank-you for your message.

    Doug True


Leave a Reply

Categories

