Posted by: frburke23 | June 3, 2013

Thought for Tuesday, 9th Week in Ordinary Time

Tobit 2:9-14

On the night of Pentecost, after I had buried the dead,
I, Tobit, went into my courtyard
to sleep next to the courtyard wall.
My face was uncovered because of the heat.
I did not know there were birds perched on the wall above me,
till their warm droppings settled in my eyes, causing cataracts.
I went to see some doctors for a cure
but the more they anointed my eyes with various salves,
the worse the cataracts became,
until I could see no more.
For four years I was deprived of eyesight, and
all my kinsmen were grieved at my condition.
Ahiqar, however, took care of me for two years,
until he left for Elymais.

At that time, my wife Anna worked for hire
at weaving cloth, the kind of work women do. When she sent back the goods to their owners, they would pay her.
Late in winter on the seventh of Dystrus,
she finished the cloth and sent it back to the owners.
They paid her the full salary
and also gave her a young goat for the table.
On entering my house the goat began to bleat.

I called to my wife and said: “Where did this goat come from?
Perhaps it was stolen! Give it back to its owners;
we have no right to eat stolen food!”
She said to me, “It was given to me as a bonus over and above my wages.”
Yet I would not believe her,
and told her to give it back to its owners.
I became very angry with her over this.
So she retorted: “Where are your charitable deeds now?
Where are your virtuous acts?
See! Your true character is finally showing itself!”

_____________________________________________________________

Tobit is one of the wonderful books of the Old Testament that I would recommend reading.  At the beginning of the book, Tobit proclaims himself to be a righteous man.  He is very generous in giving to the poor and he took it upon himself to give the dead a dignified burial. 

In today’s reading, however, we see the sinful side of Tobit.  His wife has worked hard and has been paid her wages, plus they gave her an extra bonus by giving her a goat.  Tobit’s anger is ignited because he thinks that she stole the goat.  She stops him in his tracks by telling Tobit,

“Where are your charitable deeds now?  Where are your virtuous acts?  See! Your true character is finally showing itself!”

Wow!  He must have been humbled.  And if you continue reading in Tobit, he then goes before the Lord in tears, asking God for forgiveness.

What can we learn from this story?  Humility, vigilance, patience.  We have to remember that we are all sinners, even the holiest among us.  “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”  (Romans 3:23)  We are never far from falling into sin, which can cause scandal to others around us. 

We must be in constant prayer.  We must be vigilant to fight off the temptations to sin that come our way every day.  We must be aware of our weaknesses and our habitual sins and fortify our soul with prayer and fasting.  Scripture says, “The devil is prowling like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8)  He knows our weakness and attacks us right there.  Be vigilant!

Tobit probably was a very righteous man, but even he was prone to sin, as we all are.  In all humility, let us come before the Lord and ask Him, “Lord help me to remain vigilant and humble.  Protect me from all temptation.  Help me to allow your light to shine in me, within me, through me all the days of my life.  Let not my sinfulness shine forth, nor let me be a cause of scandal to those around me.  But help me to draw others close to you by the way I think, speak, act, love and forgive…”

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Tobías 2:9-14

En la noche de Pentecostés, después de haber enterrado a los muertos,
Yo, Tobías, fui a mi patio
a dormir junto a la pared del patio.
Mi cara estaba descubierta por el calor.
No sabía que había pájaros posados ​​en la pared por encima de mí,
hasta que sus excrementos cálidos cayeron en mis ojos, causando cataratas.
Fui a ver a algunos médicos para una cura
pero cuanto más me untó los ojos con diversos remedios,
peor las cataratas se hacen,
hasta que no pude ver nada más.
Durante cuatro años fui privado de la vista, y
todos mis parientes se apenaron de mi condición.
Ajicar, sin embargo, me cuidó durante dos años,
hasta que se fue a Elimaida.

En ese momento, mi esposa Ana trabajó por contrato
en tejer telas, el tipo de trabajo que las mujeres hacen.
Cuando devolvió los bienes a sus propietarios, ellos le pagarían.
A finales de invierno en el séptimo de Distros,
terminó el paño y lo envió de nuevo a los propietarios.
Ellos le pagaron el sueldo completo
y también le dieron un cabrito para la mesa.
Al entrar a mi casa la cabra empezó a gemir.

Llamé a mi mujer y le dije: “¿De dónde vino esta cabra?
¡Tal vez fue robada! Devuélvela a sus dueños;
¡no tenemos derecho a comer alimentos robados!”
Ella me dijo: “Se me fue dado como un bono por encima de mi salario.”
Sin embargo, no le creía,
y le dije que se lo devuelva a sus propietarios.
Me puse muy enojado con ella por esto.
Así que ella replicó: “¿Dónde están tus obras de caridad ahora?
¿Dónde están tus actos virtuosos?
¡Ves! ¡Tu verdadero carácter esta finalmente mostrándose!”

===========================================

Tobías es uno de los maravillosos libros del Antiguo Testamento que yo recomendaría para leer. Al principio del libro, Tobías se proclama a sí mismo ser un hombre justo. Él es muy generoso en darles a los pobres y que se encargó de dar a los muertos un entierro digno.

En la lectura de hoy, sin embargo, vemos la parte pecaminosa de Tobías. Su esposa ha trabajado duro y ha sido pagado sus salarios, además de que le dieron un bono extra dándole una cabra. La ira de Tobías se encendió porque él piensa que ella robó la cabra. Ella lo detiene en seco diciéndole Tobías,

¿Dónde están tus obras de caridad ahora? ¿Dónde están tus actos virtuosos?  ¡Ves! ¡Tu verdadero carácter esta finalmente mostrándose!”

¡Wow! Debe haber sido humillado. Y si continúas la lectura en Tobías, luego se va ante el Señor entre lágrimas, pidiendo perdón a Dios.

¿Qué podemos aprender de esta historia? humildad, vigilancia, paciencia. Tenemos que recordar que todos somos pecadores, incluso los más santos entre nosotros. Todos pecaron, y están destituidos de la gloria de Dios.” (Romanos 3:23)  Nosotros nunca estamos lejos de caer en el pecado, lo que puede causar escándalo a los que nos rodean.

Debemos estar en oración constante. Debemos estar atentos para luchar contra las tentaciones al pecado que se nos presentan cada día. Debemos ser conscientes de nuestras debilidades y nuestros pecados habituales y fortificar nuestra alma con la oración y el ayuno. La Escritura dice: “El diablo esta rondando como león rugiente, buscando a quien devorar.” (1 Pedro 5:8)  Él conoce nuestras debilidades y nos ataca allí. ¡Estén atentos!

Tobías probablemente era un hombre muy justo, pero él era propenso al pecado, como lo somos todos. Con toda humildad, vamos a presentarnos ante el Señor y le pedimos: “Señor, ayúdame a permanecer vigilante y humilde. Protégeme de toda tentación. Ayúdame a permitir que tu luz brille en mí, dentro de mí, a través de mí todos los días de mi vida. No dejes que mis pecados brillen adelante, menos me dejes ser una causa de escándalo para los que me rodean. Pero ayúdame a atraer a otros cerca de ti por mi forma de pensar, hablar, actuar, amar y perdonar… “

¡Tengan un día bendecido!

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Thank you Father Burke, you are such a great gift from God to
    All of us.

    Len Felder


Leave a Reply

Categories

