Posted by: frburke23 | June 20, 2013

Thought for Friday, 11th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 6:19-23

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth,
where moth and decay destroy, and thieves break in and steal.
But store up treasures in heaven,
where neither moth nor decay destroys, nor thieves break in and steal.
For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be.

“The lamp of the body is the eye.
If your eye is sound, your whole body will be filled with light;
but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be in darkness.
And if the light in you is darkness, how great will the darkness be.”

==================================================

This is a beautiful and challenging teaching from the Lord.  Where is my treasure?  Where do I spend my time?  Where do I focus my energy?  On what do I spend my money?  Where does my heart rest when I am alone and quiet?  Do I focus on things that are earthly or on the things of heaven?

Obviously, we need certain things here on earth to survive, especially if we are raising a family.  We need a roof over our head, food on the table, clothes to wear, etc.  But do I over-indulge?  What are my needs and what are my wants?

Jesus is trying to keep us focused on the things that will last forever because that is how we are made.  We are made for relationships, love, heaven, joy and peace.  Are these my focus?

Then the Lord teaches us about light and darkness.  Some say, “Your eyes are the window to the soul.”  What are we allowing into our soul?  What am I viewing on TV or the internet?  What am I reading?  What is the focus of my conversations?  If we fill ourselves with things of the light, the things of heaven, our whole body will be filled with light.  However, if we fill ourselves with darkness, “how great the darkness will be”. 

If you find yourself in darkness and focusing on things that are not of the light, the Lord may be inviting you to refocus your life today.  He constantly calls us back to Him, to a life of abundant joy, to a life of love and service.

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

