Posted by: frburke23 | July 17, 2013

Thought for Thursday, 15th Week in Ordinary Time

Jesus said:
“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am meek and humble of heart;
and you will find rest for yourselves.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

==============================

This is a reading that is often chosen at funerals, but it is appropriate for so many occasions.  Have you felt labored or burdened?  I would imagine that most of us in this fast-paced, over-worked lifestyle feel tired and burdened more than once in a while.  Jesus invites us to “come to me…and I will give you rest.”

What do you do when you are tired or burdened?

Do you turn to the Lord?

Jesus asks us to take His “yoke” upon us.  A yoke is the apparatus that unites two oxen who are working in the field.  This seems like an extra burden to us.  However, there are many paradoxes with the Lord.  When we yoke ourselves to the Lord, just as Simeon did as He helped the Lord carry the cross, our burden is lightened.

Last Sunday, July 7, I celebrated a Mass for the 15th anniversary of my mother’s death.  The night she died was one of the worst nights of my life.  I carried the burden of that awful night for many months.  But my spiritual director in the seminary recommended that I go back to the night she died in prayer and ask the Lord where He was that evening.  In my prayer, the Lord showed me that He was with us that night, holding my Mom as she died.

“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.”   That prayer experience immediately gave me rest and peace.  The Lord showed me that He is always with us, especially during the times that we need Him most.

If you are feeling burdened, tired, lonely, sad, distressed – turn to the Lord.  Take His yoke upon you and He will give you rest.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

MatEO 11:28-30

Jesús dijo:
“Vengan a mi todos los que están trabajados y agobiados,
y yo les daré descanso.
Lleven mi yugo sobre ustedes y aprendan de mí,
que soy manso y humilde de corazón;
y hallaran descanso para sus almas.
Porque mi yugo es suave y mi carga ligera”.

_________________________________________________________

Esta es una lectura que se elige a menudo en los funerales, pero es apropiada para muchas ocasiones. ¿Te has sentido trabajado o agobiado? Me imagino que la mayoría de nosotros en esta rápida, estilo de vida con exceso de trabajo nos sentimos cansados ​​y agobiados más de una vez de vez en cuando. Jesús nos invita a “vengan a mí… y yo les daré descanso.”

¿Qué haces cuando estás cansado o agobiado?
¿Te volteas con el Señor?

Jesús nos invita a tomar su “yugo” sobre nosotros. Un yugo es el aparato que une a dos bueyes que trabajan en el campo. Esto parece como una carga extra para nosotros. Sin embargo, hay muchas paradojas con el Señor. Cuando llevamos nuestro propio yugo al Señor, al igual que Simeón hizo mientras le ayudó el Señor a llevar la cruz, se aligera nuestra carga.

El domingo pasado, 7 de julio, celebré una Misa por el 15 aniversario de la muerte de mi madre. La noche de su muerte fue una de las peores noches de mi vida. Yo lleve esa carga de esa horrible noche durante muchos meses. Pero mi director espiritual en el seminario recomendó que volviera a la noche que murió en oración y le preguntara al Señor donde Él estaba esa noche. En mi oración, el Señor me mostró que Él estaba con nosotros esa noche, sosteniendo a mi mamá mientras ella moría.

“Vengan a mi todos los que están trabajados y agobiados y yo les daré descanso”,  Esa experiencia de oración de inmediato me dio descanso y paz. El Señor me mostró que Él está siempre con nosotros, especialmente en los momentos que más lo necesitamos.

Si tú te sientes agobiado, cansado, solo, triste, angustiado – voltea al Señor. Toma Su yugo sobre ti, y El te dará descanso.

Dios los bendiga,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Thank you, Father Burke. This came a a most needed time.

    Bea Bartolucci Marchese


Leave a Reply

Categories

