Posted by: frburke23 | September 2, 2013

Thought for Tuesday, 22nd Week in Ordinary Time

1 Thessalonians 5:1-6, 9-11

Concerning times and seasons, brothers and sisters,
you have no need for anything to be written to you.
For you yourselves know very well
that the day of the Lord will come like a thief at night.
When people are saying, “Peace and security,”
then sudden disaster comes upon them,
like labor pains upon a pregnant woman,
and they will not escape.

But you, brothers and sisters, are not in darkness,
for that day to overtake you like a thief.
For all of you are children of the light
and children of the day.
We are not of the night or of darkness.
Therefore, let us not sleep as the rest do,
but let us stay alert and sober.
For God did not destine us for wrath,
but to gain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ,
who died for us, so that whether we are awake or asleep
we may live together with him. Therefore, encourage one another and build one another up,
as indeed you do.

_______________________________________________________

About six years ago I was at a retreat for young adults and we had some time for recreation.  So I took part in the kickball game and then a volleyball game.  I felt great while we were playing.  But a couple of days after the retreat was over, I could barely walk.  I had extreme pain running down my left leg, starting in my lower spine.

For a few days I waited for the pain to subside as it always had before during my baseball-playing days.  However, when the pain only worsened, I finally went to the doctor and had an MRI done.  Yes – I had a herniated disc in the lower back.  I started on medication and physical therapy, but the pain grew worse.  After three weeks of severe pain, I received an epidural cortisone shot.  Oh what a relief!  Almost instantly the pain went away and I felt SO much better.

Why do I share this story?  St. Paul says in this letter to the people of Thessalonica that the day of the Lord will come upon us like a “thief at night.”  We will be saying “Peace and security”, but sudden disaster will come upon us…  I had taken my health for granted for so long.  I was a baseball player.  I had been going to the gym regularly and was in great health.  But suddenly one day I was barely able to walk.  It came like a thief at night.  As I had 3 weeks to contemplate my health in severe pain, I realized how much I missed being healthy.  But I was not vigilant about my health.  I slouched when I sat.  I used my back to lift things instead of using my legs.  I played certain sports with reckless abandonment.

But….now I walk in the light.  I am careful with my back.  My chiropractor and physical therapist have shown me how to care for my health and prevent injury.  I am faithful to these back exercises daily and have not had a problem since.  I was fortunate not to need surgery.

Think of this as spiritual therapy.  Don’t take your faith for granted.  Don’t walk in the dark.  When we are least prepared, the Lord will come like a thief in the night.  Make the most out of every day by exercising your spiritual life – through prayer and study, by loving God and your neighbor.

Where is my relationship with Jesus today?

Would I be ready of the Lord called me home today?

Don’t wait until it is too late to walk with Jesus daily in prayer, the Sacraments, the Scriptures….  This is how to walk in the light.  We often think that we always have tomorrow.  We focus on the things of this world with careful attention to detail – the mortgage, our jobs, our homes, etc.  And these are important and necessary things.  However, do we pay similar attention to the detail of our souls?

Jesus wants all of us to live with Him for all eternity, but He has given us a precious thing called free will.  He gives us a choice.  What am I doing with that choice?  Don’t wait until it’s too late!

Have a good day!

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

1 Tesalonicenses 5:1-6, 9-11

En cuanto a tiempos y temporadas, hermanos y hermanas,
no tienen necesidad de nada que les escriba.
Porque ustedes saben muy bien
que el día del Señor vendrá como ladrón en la noche.
Cuando la gente esté diciendo: “Paz y seguridad”
luego desastre repentino vendrá sobre ellos,
como los dolores de parto a la mujer en cinta,
y no escaparán.

Pero ustedes, hermanos, no están en tinieblas,
para que ese día nos sorprenda como ladrón.
Para todos nosotros somos hijos de la luz
e hijos del día.
Nosotros no somos de la noche ni de las tinieblas.
Por lo tanto, no durmamos como los demás,
pero vamos a mantenernos alerta y sobrios.
Porque Dios no nos destino para la ira,
sino para obtener la salvación por medio de nuestro Señor Jesucristo,
quien murió por nosotros para que ya sea que estemos despiertos o dormidos
vivamos juntamente con él.
Por lo tanto, anímense y edifíquense unos a otros,
como lo están haciendo.

___________________________________________________________

Hace unos seis años me encontraba en un retiro para los adultos jóvenes y teníamos un poco de tiempo para la recreación. Así que tomé parte en el juego de patear la pelota y luego un partido de voleibol. Me sentí muy bien mientras estábamos jugando. Pero un par de días después que el retiro había terminado, yo apenas podía caminar. Tenía dolor extremo corriendo por mi pierna izquierda, empezando desde mi espina dorsal baja.

Durante unos días espere a que el dolor desapareciera, como siempre lo había hecho antes durante mis días de juego de béisbol. Sin embargo, cuando el dolor empeoró, finalmente me fui al médico y me hicieron una resonancia magnética (MRI). Sí – tenía una hernia discal en la espalda baja. Empecé en medicamentos y terapia física, pero el dolor empeoró. Después de tres semanas de dolor severo, recibí una inyección de cortisona epidural. ¡Oh, qué alivio! Casi al instante el dolor se fue y me sentí mucho mejor.

¿Por qué comparto esta historia? San Pablo dice en esta carta a los habitantes de Tesalónica, que el día del Señor vendrá sobre nosotros como un “ladrón en la noche.” Vamos a decir “Paz y seguridad”, pero desastre repentino vendrá sobre nosotros… Yo había puesto mi salud por desapercibida durante tanto tiempo. Yo era un jugador de béisbol. Yo había estado yendo al gimnasio regularmente y estaba en buena salud. Pero de repente un día yo estaba casi sin poder caminar. Llegó como un ladrón en la noche. Como yo tenía 3 semanas para contemplar mi salud en dolor severo, me di cuenta de lo mucho que echaba de menos estar sano. Pero yo no estaba vigilante sobre mi salud. Me puse cabizbajo cuando me senté. Utilicé mi espalda para levantar las cosas en vez de usar las piernas. Jugué algunos deportes con abandono imprudente.

Pero…. ahora camino en la luz. Tengo cuidado con mi espalda. Mi quiropráctico y fisioterapeuta me han mostrado cómo cuidar de mi salud y prevenir lesiones. Yo soy fiel a estos ejercicios para la espalda todos los días y no he tenido ningún problema desde entonces. Tuve la suerte de no necesitar cirugía.

Piensa en esto como terapia espiritual. No tomes tu fe por desapercibida. No camines en la oscuridad. Cuando estamos menos preparados, el Señor vendrá como ladrón en la noche. Aprovecha al máximo cada día mediante el ejercicio de tu vida espiritual – a través de la oración y el estudio, amando a Dios y al prójimo.

¿Dónde está mi relación con Jesús hoy?
¿Yo estaría listo si el Señor me llamara a casa hoy?

No esperes hasta que sea demasiado tarde para caminar con Jesús cada día en la oración, los Sacramentos, las Escrituras…. Esto es como caminar en la luz. A menudo pensamos que siempre tenemos un mañana. Nos enfocamos en las cosas de este mundo, con especial atención a los detalles – la hipoteca, nuestros trabajos, nuestros hogares, etc. Y estas son cosas importantes y necesarias. Sin embargo, ¿prestamos atención similar al detalle de nuestras almas?

Jesús quiere que todos nosotros vivamos con Él por toda la eternidad, pero Él nos ha dado una cosa preciosa llamada libre albedrío. Él nos da una opción. ¿Qué estoy haciendo con esa opción? ¡No esperes hasta que sea demasiado tarde!

¡Tengan un buen día!

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Father, great comments as usual, on the back issues I have two suggestions that will allow you to play like before.
    Inversion table twenty minutes or more a day, you can say a Rosary while unloading the L5 disc.
    Purchase a Back-A-Line belt, this is no HomeDepot lift belt but an uunbelievable back support you can wear under clothes. Trust me on this, ask for Bill the owner. Price $50 bucks.
    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Categories

