Posted by: frburke23 | September 5, 2013

Thought for Friday – 22nd Week of Ordinary Time

Colossians 1:15-20
Brothers and sisters:
Christ Jesus is the image of the invisible God,
the firstborn of all creation.
For in him were created all things in heaven and on earth,
the visible and the invisible,
whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers;
all things were created through him and for him.
He is before all things,
and in him all things hold together.
He is the head of the Body, the Church.
He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead,
that in all things he himself might be preeminent.
For in him all the fullness was pleased to dwell,
and through him to reconcile all things for him,
making peace by the Blood of his cross
through him, whether those on earth or those in heaven.

=====================================================

I just returned to Joliet after a wonderful trip to visit our 5 seminarians at the Josephinum seminary in Columbus, Ohio.

This Scripture passage from St. Paul’s letter to the Colossians is a beautiful description of who Jesus Christ is – the image of the invisible God.  Think about that for a moment.  Jesus Christ is the very face of God. 

The God who created the universe, who has existed from all eternity, made Himself known to us in the person of Jesus.  He walked among us, taught among us, performed miracles among us, and He showed us His mercy and love by dying for us on the cross.

If we want to know who God is we have no further to look than Jesus.  He always existed with God the Father and the Holy Spirit.  As the Word of God, God spoke and all creation came into being.  Isn’t that amazing that the One who created the universe is the same Word of God born to Mary in Bethlehem?!

Our God loves us so much that He revealed Himself perfectly to us in the person of Jesus Christ.  We do not have a distant God who simply watches us from above.  He is in love with us in a very intimate way.

Do I believe that Jesus is the Son of God the Father?

Do I believe that this Jesus loves me intimately?

How does this relationship with Jesus affect my life today?

God bless,

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Jesus Christ – Lord of lords and King of kings!

    Immanuel!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Thank you for these readings and your letters. Its a great way to start my day!

  3. My Mom died in July and as I was leaving her after my goodbye I experienced this overwhelming love from God surround me and it was so wonderful I wanted to run and tell everyone how God loves them SOOOO MUCH and we fail to recognize it on a daily basis. It was such a glimpse of heaven that I didn’t want to let it go. Now it is a somewhat fading memory but still always with me and I am not sad for my Mom. When I think of her in heaven I am not sad but filled with Joy. We have a very loving, personal God.

  4. I bookmarked you. Thank you, Jesus, for Seminarians! You’re right, I believe God is present everywhere & invisible doesn’t mean afar off out of sight.

  5. What a wonderful sermon. This sermon really helped me to preach today. Thank you Fr.Bruke. You are in my prayers. Rev.Fr.Anthony Marcus Fernando sss.


Leave a Reply

Categories

