Posted by: frburke23 | September 15, 2013

Thought for Monday, 24th Week in Ordinary Time

Luke 7:1-10

When Jesus had finished all his words to the people,
he entered Capernaum.
A centurion there had a slave who was ill and about to die,
and he was valuable to him.
When he heard about Jesus, he sent elders of the Jews to him,
asking him to come and save the life of his slave.
They approached Jesus and strongly urged him to come, saying,
“He deserves to have you do this for him,
for he loves our nation and he built the synagogue for us.”
And Jesus went with them,
but when he was only a short distance from the house,
the centurion sent friends to tell him,
“Lord, do not trouble yourself,
for I am not worthy to have you enter under my roof.
Therefore, I did not consider myself worthy to come to you;
but say the word and let my servant be healed.
For I too am a person subject to authority,
with soldiers subject to me.
And I say to one, ‘Go,’ and he goes;
and to another, ‘Come here,’ and he comes;
and to my slave, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”
When Jesus heard this he was amazed at him
and, turning, said to the crowd following him,
“I tell you, not even in Israel have I found such faith.”
When the messengers returned to the house,
they found the slave in good health.

===============================================

The centurion in this Gospel passage displayed two very important virtues – humility and faith.  The Lord Jesus had been summoned to the home of the centurion to heal his slave.  Even though the centurion had many slaves and soldiers under his care, he did not let this power and authority go to his head.  He recognized Jesus as the AUTHORITY and says, “I am not worthy to have you enter under my roof…but say the word and let my servant be healed.”

These are the words that we say at every Mass when the priest raises the consecrated host.  The priest says the words of John the Baptist, “Behold the Lamb of God, who takes away the sins of the world…”  And we say in response the words of the centurion, “Lord, I am not worthy to that you should enter under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed.”  The Mass is full of Scripture.

Jesus is impressed by the humility and faith of the centurion as He says, “I tell you, not even in Israel have I seen such faith.”  And the slave was healed at that moment.

Do we believe that the Lord can heal? 

Do we let pride get in our way to humbly go before the Lord and ask for help and healing? 

Do we appreciate the depth of Scripture that runs throughout the Mass? 

Let us follow the example of the centurion and come before the Lord in humility and faith…

God bless,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Tx burke. Had dinner with eduardo craig the gang at st. Mary’s bishop siegal. As already a great time. Questions by seminarians good conversation and prayer. I grew up with craig at st. Isidores. Know parents. Encouraging him to fill out app. Bit hesitant. All an fyi. Take care. Ecuador o says He needs to talk to u. Said that two weeks a

    Fr. Peter J.

  2. Thanks Fr. Burke….Great Pondering! Baseball son has wrote this in his journal today…(from your post): Do not let pride get in the way of asking God for help.

    He has been journaling faithfully….

    With his love of baseball I’m am blessed to have heard you on relevant radio there was just something there…..Mary had a messenger appear to her…we all have messengers sent to us….”Believe!”

    God Bless You

    Been Blessed,
    Rhonda


Leave a Reply

Categories

