Posted by: frburke23 | November 24, 2013

Thought for Monday, 34th Week in Ordinary Time

When Jesus looked up he saw some wealthy people
putting their offerings into the treasury
and he noticed a poor widow putting in two small coins.
He said, “I tell you truly,
this poor widow put in more than all the rest;
for those others have all made offerings from their surplus wealth,
but she, from her poverty, has offered her whole livelihood.”

———————————————————————————–

I was on retreat last week and then I went to the NCYC (National Catholic Youth Conference) in Indianapolis, where 23,000 youths gathered to praise the Lord and learn about their Catholic faith.  Both the retreat and the conference were inspiring. 

As we approach Thanksgiving this week, we embark on the last week or Ordinary Time before Advent begins on Sunday.  Today’s Gospel reminds me the book “Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic”  by Matthew Kelly.  Kelly interviewed thousands of engaged, active Catholics across the country and found that they all have four things in common:

1)     Prayer – daily regimen of prayer

2)    Study – daily study of one’s faith

3)    Generosity – give of time, talent and treasure

4)    Evangelization – desire to share one’s faith with others

In Kelly’s study, he finds that most engaged Catholics represent about 7% of all Catholics.  However, these 7% contribute about 80% of parish finances and volunteer hours.  He recommends that we have a plan for the finances that we give.  We should be aware of how much we are giving right now.  For example, maybe we gave 3% to the Church this year.  Kelly recommends that we increase that amount by 1% each year until we determine that we can’t go any higher.  Some families find that they can give much more than 10%. 

I have found this to be true in my own life.  Before I really took my faith seriously, I put the loose change in my pocket in the collection basket each week. I justified that I needed every dollar that I made.  After my conversion, I realized how generous God was with me and I started to make a plan of giving.  The more I give back to the Lord (my Church and other charitable organizations), the more I seem to receive to give away again.

I’m not saying that God gives to us financially if we give financially – necessarily.  However, I have found that we can’t outdo God in generosity.  The more we are generous with His gifts, the more God will give us to keep giving away to others.  It is like the parable of talents.  When we bury the gifts God has given us, God takes them away and gives them to someone else who will use them. When we are generous, we become an instrument of God’s grace and blessings.

In today’s Gospel, we hear about the widow who only gave two small coins.  Her gift was small in comparison to the larger amounts given by the wealthy.  However, the percentage that she gives us is much greater than the others.  Her generosity was truly sacrificial and not from her surplus.

Matthew Kelly says that if we are not generous with our finances, we will not be generous in other areas of our lives. 

Am I generous with the blessings God has given me?

Do I give of my surplus wealth, or do I give sacrificially?

Let us be intentional with our finances.  And let us think of this poor widow as we make our plan of giving.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

LUCAS 21:1-4

Cuando Jesús levanto la vista, vio a algunas personas adineradas
poniendo sus ofrendas en la tesorería;
y se dio cuenta de una viuda pobre que echaba dos moneditas.
Él dijo: “En verdad les digo,
esta viuda pobre ha echado más que todos los demás;
para los demás que todos han hecho ofrendas de lo que les sobraba,
pero ella, en su pobreza, ha ofrecido todo su sustento”.

___________________________________________________________

Yo estuve en retiro la semana pasada y luego me fui a la NCYC/CNJC (Conferencia Nacional de Juventud Católica) en Indianápolis, donde 23,000 jóvenes se reunieron para alabar al Señor y aprender sobre su fe Católica. Tanto el retiro y la conferencia fueron inspiradoras.

A medida que nos acercamos a la Acción de Gracias de esta semana, nos embarcamos en la última semana o tiempo ordinario antes de Adviento que comienza el domingo. El evangelio de hoy me recuerda el libro “Cuatro signos de un católico dinámico” por Matthew Kelly. Kelly entrevistó a miles de comprometidos, católicos activos en todo el país y encontró que todos ellos tienen cuatro cosas en común:

1) Oración – régimen diario de oración
2) Estudio – estudio diario de la fe de uno
3) Generosidad – dar tiempo, talento y tesoro
4) Evangelización – el deseo de compartir su fe con los demás

En el estudio de Kelly, se encuentra con que los católicos más comprometidos representan aproximadamente el 7% de todos los católicos. Sin embargo, estos 7% aportan alrededor del 80% de las finanzas de la parroquia y de horas de trabajo voluntario. El recomienda que tengamos un plan para las finanzas que damos. Debemos ser conscientes de cuanto estamos dando en estos momentos. Por ejemplo, tal vez le dimos un 3% a la Iglesia este año. Kelly recomienda que aumentemos esa cantidad en un 1% cada año hasta que determinemos que no podemos ir más arriba.  Algunas familias encuentran que pueden dar mucho más de 10%.

He encontrado que esto es cierto en mi propia vida. Antes de que yo tomara en serio mi fe, yo puse el cambio suelto de mi bolsillo en la canasta de la colecta cada semana. Yo justifique que necesitaba cada dólar que hice. Después de mi conversión, me di cuenta de lo generoso que Dios estaba siendo conmigo y empecé a hacer un plan para dar. Cuanto más le regreso al Señor (mi Iglesia y otras organizaciones de caridad), más me parece recibir para dar de nuevo.

No estoy diciendo que Dios nos da financieramente si damos financieramente – necesariamente. Sin embargo, me he dado cuenta que no podemos superar a Dios en generosidad. Cuanto más seamos generosos con sus dones, más Dios nos dará para seguir dando a los demás. Es como la parábola de los talentos. Cuando enterramos  los dones que Dios nos ha dado, Dios se los lleva y se los da a otra persona que los usará. Cuando somos generosos, nos convertimos en un instrumento de la gracia y las bendiciones de Dios.

En el evangelio de hoy, escuchamos acerca de la viuda que sólo dio dos moneditas. Su regalo era pequeño en comparación con las grandes cantidades dadas por los ricos. Sin embargo, el porcentaje que ella nos da es mucho mayor que los otros. Su generosidad fue verdaderamente de sacrificio y no de sus sobras.

Matthew Kelly dice que si no somos generosos con nuestras finanzas, no vamos a ser generosos en otras áreas de nuestra vida.

¿Soy generoso con las bendiciones que Dios me ha dado?
¿Doy de mi exceso de riqueza, o doy sacrificadamente
?

Seamos intencionales con nuestras finanzas. Y pensemos que esta viuda pobre mientras hacemos nuestro plan de dar.

Dios los bendiga,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. This is probably one of the hardest readings for me! It makes me feel like If we are not all like Mother Theresa’s we are failing! I know this is not true, but God gives us so much, what are we suppose to do with the “extra”! Are we not suppose to save for our future?

    Sent from My iPhone

    • We all should do what we can do. We are not all Mother Theresa’s, but we are ourselves. What is God calling me to do? Can I give a little bit more each year? We have to provide for our family and our future. Each case is different. Spend time in prayer and ask God what you can do…

      peace,
      fr. burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

