Posted by: frburke23 | January 23, 2014

Thought for Friday, 2nd Week in Ordinary Time

Saul took three thousand picked men from all Israel
and went in search of David and his men
in the direction of the wild goat crags.
When he came to the sheepfolds along the way, he found a cave,
which he entered to relieve himself.
David and his men were occupying the inmost recesses of the cave.

David’s servants said to him,
“This is the day of which the LORD said to you,
‘I will deliver your enemy into your grasp;
do with him as you see fit.’”
So David moved up and stealthily cut off an end of Saul’s mantle.
Afterward, however, David regretted that he had cut off
an end of Saul’s mantle.
He said to his men,
“The LORD forbid that I should do such a thing to my master,
the LORD’s anointed, as to lay a hand on him,
for he is the LORD’s anointed.”
With these words David restrained his men
and would not permit them to attack Saul.
Saul then left the cave and went on his way.
David also stepped out of the cave, calling to Saul,
“My lord the king!”
When Saul looked back, David bowed to the ground in homage and asked Saul:
“Why do you listen to those who say,
‘David is trying to harm you’?
You see for yourself today that the LORD just now delivered you
into my grasp in the cave.
I had some thought of killing you, but I took pity on you instead.
I decided, ‘I will not raise a hand against my lord,
for he is the LORD’s anointed and a father to me.’
Look here at this end of your mantle which I hold.
Since I cut off an end of your mantle and did not kill you,
see and be convinced that I plan no harm and no rebellion.
I have done you no wrong,
though you are hunting me down to take my life.
The LORD will judge between me and you,
and the LORD will exact justice from you in my case.
I shall not touch you.
The old proverb says, ‘From the wicked comes forth wickedness.’
So I will take no action against you.
Against whom are you on campaign, O king of Israel?
Whom are you pursuing? A dead dog, or a single flea!
The LORD will be the judge; he will decide between me and you.
May he see this, and take my part,
and grant me justice beyond your reach!”
When David finished saying these things to Saul, Saul answered,
“Is that your voice, my son David?”
And Saul wept aloud.
Saul then said to David: “You are in the right rather than I;
you have treated me generously, while I have done you harm.
Great is the generosity you showed me today,
when the LORD delivered me into your grasp
and you did not kill me.
For if a man meets his enemy, does he send him away unharmed?
May the LORD reward you generously for what you have done this day.
And now, I know that you shall surely be king
and that sovereignty over Israel shall come into your possession.”

———————————————————————————

Saul took three thousand picked men to hunt down David.  Three thousand men to find one man!  Saul was determined to kill David.  David and his men were hiding in the recesses of a cave.  As chance (or providence) would have it, Saul entered this same cave to “relieve himself”.  Quietly, David cut off part of Saul’s mantle when he had every opportunity to kill the king.

When Saul left the cave, David called out to Saul, showing him the piece of mantle.  When Saul realized that David could have killed him, Saul “wept aloud”.  He realized what an honorable man David was and Saul said, “I know that you shall surely be king and that sovereignty over Israel shall come into your possession.

What can we learn from this story?

1)     How do we treat our enemies or those that are making life difficult for us?  Saul was trying to kill David; yet David respected the king and did not harm him when he had the chance.  Do we treat our enemies with respect?  Or do we gossip, or seek revenge, or kill them with our words?

2)    David left everything in the hands of God.  “The LORD will be the judge; he will decide between me and you.”  David had the faith that God, in His justice, would handle the situation.  He didn’t try to take justice in his own hands.  We read in Romans 12:19, “Beloved, do not look for revenge but leave room for the wrath; for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.”  Do I trust the Lord enough to allow His justice to prevail?

3)    David loved his enemy, just as Jesus told us in Matthew 5:43-44, “You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’  But I say to you, love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you…”  Can I love my enemy?  Can I pray for those people that are making life difficult for me?

As we reflect on this fascinating story of David and Saul, let us take time to reflect on our relationships, especially those people that get under our skin.  Let us pray for them.  Let us trust the Lord and His justice.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

1 samuel 24:3-21

Saúl tomó a tres mil hombres escogidos de todo Israel
y fue en busca de David y sus hombres
en la dirección de los riscos de cabras salvajes.
Cuando llegó al redil de ovejas en el camino, encontró una cueva,
a la cual entró a hacer sus necesidades.
David y sus hombres estaban ocupando los rincones más hondos de la cueva.

Los siervos de David le dijeron:
“Este es el día del cual el SEÑOR te dijo,
‘ Voy a poner a tu enemigo en tu alcance;
haz con él lo que te parezca. ”
Así que David se arrimo y sigilosamente cortó un extremo del manto de Saúl.
Después, sin embargo, David lamentó de haber cortado el extremo
del manto de Saúl.
Él dijo a sus hombres:
“El SEÑOR me guarde de hacer tal cosa a mi señor,
el ungido del SEÑOR, no pondré una mano sobre él,
porque él es el ungido del SEÑOR”.
Con estas palabras, David contuvo a sus hombres
y no les permitiría que atacaran a Saúl.
Saúl luego dejo la cueva y siguió su camino.
David también salió de la cueva, llamando a Saúl,
“¡Mi señor el rey!”
Cuando Saúl miró atrás, David se inclinó a tierra en homenaje y le preguntó a Saúl:
” ¿Por qué escuchas a los que dicen,
‘David está tratando de hacerte daño’?
Ya ves por ti mismo hoy que el SEÑOR justo ahora te ha entregado
en mis manos en la cueva.
Yo tuve algunos pensamientos de matarte, pero en cambio me compadecí de ti.
Decidí, ‘ No levantare una mano contra mi señor,
porque él es el ungido del SEÑOR y un padre para mí’.
Mira aquí este extremo de tu manto el cual tengo.
Ya que corté un extremo de tu manto y no te maté,
mira y convéncete de que no planeo ningún daño y ninguna rebelión.
No te he hecho nada malo,
aunque me estás cazando para quitarme la vida.
El SEÑOR juzgará entre tú y yo,
y el SEÑOR cobrará justicia de ti en mi caso.
No voy a tocarte.
El viejo proverbio dice: “De los impíos surge la maldad.”
Así que no voy a tomar ninguna acción en tu contra.
¿Contra quién estas en la campaña, oh rey de Israel?
¿A quién persigues? ¡Un perro muerto, o una sola pulga!
El SEÑOR será el juez, él decidirá entre tú y yo.
¡Que él vea esto, y tome mi parte,
y me conceda justicia más allá de tu alcance! ”
Cuando David terminó diciéndole estas cosas a Saúl, Saúl respondió:
“¿Esa es tu voz, David, hijo mío?”
Y Saúl lloró en voz alta.
Saúl luego le dijo a David: “Estás en lo correcto en lugar de mi;
tú me has tratado generosamente, mientras que yo te he hecho daño.
Grande es la generosidad que me mostraste hoy,
Cuando el SEÑOR me entregó en tu alcance
y tú no me mataste.
¿Si un hombre se encuentra con su enemigo, el lo envía ileso?
Que el SEÑOR te recompense generosamente por lo que has hecho hoy.
Y ahora, yo sé que tú seguramente debes ser rey
y que la soberanía sobre Israel deberá entrar en tu posesión”.

_______________________________________________________

Saúl tomo tres mil hombres escogidos para cazar a David. ¡Tres mil hombres para encontrar a un hombre! Saúl estaba determinado para matar a David. David y sus hombres estaban escondidos en el fondo de una cueva. La casualidad (o la providencia) lo tendría, Saúl entró en esta misma cueva para “hacer sus necesidades”. Silenciosamente, David cortó parte del manto de Saúl cuando él tuvo toda la oportunidad para matar al rey.

Cuando Saúl salió de la cueva, David llamó a Saúl, mostrándole el pedazo de manto. Cuando Saúl se dio cuenta de que David pudo haberlo matado, Saúl “lloró en voz alta”. Se dio cuenta de qué hombre tan honorable fue David y Saúl dijo: Yo sé que tú seguramente debes ser rey y que la soberanía sobre Israel deberá entrar en tu posesión.”

¿Qué podemos aprender de esta historia?

1) ¿Cómo tratamos a nuestros enemigos o aquellos que están haciéndonos la vida difícil? Saúl estaba tratando de matar a David, sin embargo, David respeto al rey y no le hizo daño cuando tuvo la oportunidad. ¿Tratamos a nuestros enemigos con respeto? ¿O murmuramos, o buscamos la venganza, o los matamos con nuestras palabras?

2) David dejó todo en las manos de Dios. “El SEÑOR será el juez; Él decidirá entre tú y yo.” David tenía la fe de que Dios, en Su justicia, se ocuparía de la situación. El no trató de tomar la justicia en sus propias manos. Leemos en Romanos 12:19, “Amados míos, no busquen venganza sino dejen lugar para la ira; porque está escrito, “Mía es la venganza, yo pagaré, dice el Señor.” ¿Confío lo suficiente en el Señor para permitir que Su justicia triunfe?

3) David amaba a su enemigo, así como Jesús nos dijo en Mateo 5:43-44, “Ustedes han oído lo que se dijo, ‘ Amarás a tu prójimo y odiarás a tu enemigo.” Pero yo les digo, Ama a tus enemigos, y ora por los que te persiguen…” ¿Puedo amar a mi enemigo? ¿Puedo orar por aquellas personas que están haciéndome la vida difícil?

Mientras reflexionamos sobre esta historia fascinante de David y Saúl, tomemos tiempo para reflexionar sobre nuestras relaciones, especialmente ésas personas que se meten debajo de nuestra piel. Oremos por ellas. Confiemos en el Señor y Su justicia.

Dios los bendiga,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Amen – great exposition Father Burke.

    Sent from my iPhone


Leave a Reply

Categories

