Posted by: frburke23 | April 8, 2014

Thought for Wednesday, 5th Week in Ordinary Time

John 8:31-42

Jesus said to those Jews who believed in him, “If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” They answered him, “We are descendants of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How can you say, ‘You will become free’?” Jesus answered them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is a slave of sin. A slave does not remain in a household forever, but a son always remains. So if the Son frees you, then you will truly be free. I know that you are descendants of Abraham. But you are trying to kill me, because my word has no room among you. I tell you what I have seen in the Father’s presence; then do what you have heard from the Father.” They answered and said to him, “Our father is Abraham.” Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works of Abraham. But now you are trying to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God; Abraham did not do this. You are doing the works of your father!” So they said to him, “We were not born of fornication. We have one Father, God.” Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and am here; I did not come on my own, but he sent me.”

 ==========================================

In the first reading today, we hear the story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. They refused to worship a golden statue and were thrown into the fire. But God protected them because they remained faithful. They stayed true to God.

And in the Gospel, Jesus tells us, “If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. But often we put other things or people in the place of Jesus. We worship false gods like power, pleasure, wealth and honor. But these things do not make us free. It is only when we are obedient to Jesus, the Truth, that we find true freedom.

Have I placed anything or anyone before God in my life?

Am I a slave to sin?

Or do I find freedom in obedience to Jesus?

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

JUAN 8:31-42

Jesús dijo a los Judíos que creyeron en él, “Si permanecen en mi palabra, serán verdaderamente mis discípulos, y conocerán la verdad, y la verdad los librara”. Ellos le respondieron: “Somos descendientes de Abraham y nunca hemos sido esclavos de nadie. ¿Cómo puedes decir: “Serán libres”? Jesús les respondió: “En verdad les digo, todo aquel que comete pecado, es esclavo del pecado. Un esclavo no permanece en le casa para siempre, pero el hijo permanece siempre. Así que si el Hijo los libera, entonces serán verdaderamente libres. Yo sé que ustedes son descendientes de Abraham. Pero están tratando de matarme, porque mi palabra no tiene espacio entre ustedes. Les digo lo que he visto en la presencia del Padre; luego hagan lo que han escuchado del Padre.”

Ellos respondieron y le dijeron: “Nuestro padre es Abraham.” Jesús les dijo: “Si ustedes fueran hijos de Abraham, estarían haciendo las obras de Abraham. Pero ahora están tratando de matarme, un hombre que les a dicho la verdad que oí de Dios; Abraham no hizo esto. ¡Están haciendo las obras de su padre!” Entonces le dijeron: “Nosotros no hemos nacido de fornicación. Tenemos un Padre, Dios.” Jesús les dijo: “Si Dios fuera su Padre, ustedes me amarían, porque yo vine de Dios y estoy aquí; No he venido por mi cuenta, sino que él me envió.”

_________________________________________________________________

En la primera lectura de hoy, escuchamos la historia de Sadrac, Mesac y Abednego. Ellos se negaron a adorar una estatua dorada, y fueron arrojados al fuego. Pero Dios los protegió porque ellos permanecieron fieles. Permanecieron fieles a Dios.

Y en el Evangelio, Jesús nos dice: “Si permanecen en mi palabra, serán verdaderamente mis discípulos, y conocerán la verdad, y la verdad los librara.” Jesús es el Camino, la Verdad y la Vida. Pero a menudo ponemos otras cosas o personas en el lugar de Jesús. Adoramos dioses falsos como el poder, placer, riqueza y honor. Pero estas cosas no nos hacen libres. Es sólo cuando somos obedientes a Jesús, la Verdad, que encontramos la verdadera libertad.

¿He puesto algo o alguien antes que a Dios en mi vida? ¿Soy un esclavo del pecado? ¿O encuentro libertad en la obediencia a Jesús?

Dios los bendiga,

Fr. Burke

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

