Posted by: frburke23 | April 10, 2014

Thought for Friday, 5th Week of Lent

John 10:31-42

The Jews picked up rocks to stone Jesus. Jesus answered them, “I have shown you many good works from my Father. For which of these are you trying to stone me?” The Jews answered him, “We are not stoning you for a good work but for blasphemy. You, a man, are making yourself God.” Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your law, ‘I said, ‘You are gods?'” If it calls them gods to whom the word of God came, and Scripture cannot be set aside, can you say that the one whom the Father has consecrated and sent into the world blasphemes because I said, ‘I am the Son of God?’ If I do not perform my Father’s works, do not believe me; but if I perform them, even if you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may realize and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.” Then they tried again to arrest him; but he escaped from their power. He went back across the Jordan to the place where John first baptized, and there he remained. Many came to him and said, “John performed no sign, but everything John said about this man was true.” And many there began to believe in him.

=================================

Once again we hear about how some of the Jews just didn’t understand who Jesus was. He simply was speaking from His own identity as the Son of God. He performed many mighty works in the name of the Father to show them His identity. He was not arrogant or conceited, but in humility Jesus was relating to them the truths of the universe. And yet their hearts were closed to the truth. And they were going to do everything they could to kill Truth itself. The Jews believed in one God and they thought it was impossible for God to walk this earth among them.

It does seem to be impossible, but with God all things are possible. “You have eyes but you do not see. You have ears but you do not hear.” Our hearts are often closed to see the power of the Holy Spirit working among us.

Do I put limits on the power of God?

Do I trust that God can do ANYTHING?

Lord Jesus, help me to recognize you today in every circumstance of my life. Open my heart to your truth. Open my eyes to see you more clearly. Help me to know your deep love and mercy. Help me to trust in you, even when there seems to be no solution. I know you are with me always.

Have a blessed day! Fr. Burke

To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.

Here is the Spanish translation:

JUAN 10:31-42

Los Judíos recogieron piedras para apedrear a Jesús. Jesús les respondió: “Yo les he mostrado muchas obras buenas de mi Padre. ¿Por cuál de estas están ustedes tratando de apedrearme? ” Los Judíos le respondieron: “No te apedreamos por una obra buena, sino por blasfemia. Tú, un hombre, te estás haciendo Dios. ” Jesús les respondió: “¿No está escrito en su ley: Yo les digo: ‘ustedes son dioses?'” Si se les llama dioses a quienes la palabra de Dios vino, y la Escritura no se puede dejar de lado, ¿pueden decir que el único a quien el Padre consagro y envió al mundo, blasfema porque he dicho: “Yo soy el Hijo de Dios?’ Si no realizo las obras de mi Padre, no me crean; pero si las realizo, incluso si ustedes no me creen, crean las obras, para que puedan darse cuenta y comprendan que el Padre está en mí y yo en el Padre”. Luego intentaron de nuevo detenerlo; pero él se escapó de su poder.

Se regresó al otro lado del Jordán al lugar donde Juan bautizó primero, y allí permaneció. Muchos vinieron a él y le dijeron: “Juan no hizo ninguna señal, pero todo lo que Juan dijo de éste hombre, era verdad. ” Y muchos allí comenzaron a creer en él.

_________________________________________________________

Una vez más escuchamos sobre cómo algunos de los Judíos simplemente no entendían quién era Jesús. Él simplemente estaba hablando desde su propia identidad como el Hijo de Dios. Él realizó muchos milagros en el nombre del Padre, para mostrarles Su identidad. Él no era arrogante o engreído, pero en humildad Jesús les estaba relatando las verdades del universo. Y sin embargo, sus corazones estaban cerrados a la verdad. Y ellos iban a hacer todo lo posible para matar la Verdad misma. Los Judíos creían en un solo Dios y ellos pensaban que era imposible que Dios caminara esta tierra entre ellos.

Parece que es imposible, pero con Dios todas las cosas son posibles. “Tienes ojos pero no ves. Tienes oídos pero no oyes.” Nuestros corazones a menudo están cerrados para ver el poder del Espíritu Santo obrando entre nosotros.

¿Pongo límites en el poder de Dios? ¿Confío en que Dios puede hacer CUALQUIER COSA?

Señor Jesús, ayúdame a reconocerte hoy en cada circunstancia de mi vida. Abre mi corazón a tu verdad. Abre mis ojos para verte más claramente. Ayúdame a reconocer tu profundo amor y misericordia. Ayúdame a confiar en ti, aún cuando parece no haber una solución. Sé que estás siempre conmigo.

¡Tengan un día bendecido!

Fr. Burke

Para suscribirse, vaya a https://frburke23.wordpress.come ir a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” /“inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

