Posted by: frburke23 | May 8, 2014

Thought for Friday, 3rd Week of Easter

John 6:52-59

The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying,
“How can this man give us his Flesh to eat?” Jesus said to them,
“Amen, amen, I say to you,
unless you eat the Flesh of the Son of Man and drink his Blood,
you do not have life within you.
Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood
has eternal life,
and I will raise him on the last day.
For my Flesh is true food,
and my Blood is true drink.
Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood
remains in me and I in him.
Just as the living Father sent me
and I have life because of the Father,
so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me.
This is the bread that came down from heaven.
Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died,
whoever eats this bread will live forever.”
These things he said while teaching in the
synagogue in Capernaum.

=================================

As difficult as this is to understand, Jesus does not back down on His teaching of the Eucharist.  He continuously tells those who are listening, “Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood has eternal life.”  He was not speaking symbolically.  Tomorrow we will hear how Jesus allowed many followers to walk away who couldn’t take the teaching on the Eucharist.  They thought He was talking about cannibalism.  He let them walk away and asked the twelve who remained, “Will you leave me too?”  In other words, Jesus was asking them and us, “Will you trust me even though you can’t explain this or fully understand it?”

If Jesus repeatedly teaches something, it must be important.  And I think the Eucharist was central in Jesus’ teaching because he meant it to be central in the Church.  It makes sense.  Jesus didn’t just come, show us the way and leave us to ourselves to continue the mission.  Jesus gives us Himself on a daily basis in the Eucharist to sustain us, strengthen us, heal us and inspire us.  “Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood remains in me and I in him.”  And the Early Church Fathers, those who learned directly from Jesus or His Apostles, continued to teach unwaveringly the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist.

Just as we eat food to sustain our physical bodies, the Eucharist is food for the soul.  In addition to the Word of God, the Eucharist is an incredible sustenance in our lives.  If you have doubts about the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist, read about some of the many miracles that have happened with the Eucharist http://www.therealpresence.org/eucharst/mir/engl_mir.htm.

Do I trust Jesus enough to believe in the Real Presence of the Eucharist?

Do I prepare my heart and soul to receive Jesus daily or weekly at Mass?

For me, a day without the Eucharist is an empty day.

Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Juan 6:52-59

Los Judíos reñían entre sí, diciendo:
“¿Cómo puede éste hombre darnos a comer su Carne?” Jesús les dijo,
“En verdad, en verdad les digo,
si no comen la Carne del Hijo del Hombre y no beben su Sangre,
no tienen vida en ustedes.
El que come mi Carne y bebe mi Sangre
tiene vida eterna;
y yo lo resucitaré el último día.
Porque mi Carne es comida verdadera,
y mi Sangre es bebida verdadera.
El que come mi Carne y bebe mi Sangre
permanece en mí y yo en él.
Así como el Padre viviente me ha enviado
y yo tengo vida por el Padre,
así también el que come de mi vivirá por mí.
Este es el pan que ha bajado del cielo.
A diferencia de sus antepasados, quienes comieron y murieron;
el que coma de este pan vivirá para siempre.”
Estas cosas decía mientras enseñaba en la
sinagoga de Cafarnaúm.

__________________________________________________________

Así de difícil es esto de entender, Jesús no da marcha atrás en su enseñanza de la Eucaristía. Él continuamente le dice a los que están escuchando, “El que come mi Carne y bebe mi Sangre, tiene vida eterna.” Él no estaba hablando simbólicamente. Mañana vamos a escuchar cómo Jesús permitió a muchos seguidores alejarse que no podían aceptar la enseñanza sobre la Eucaristía. Ellos pensaron que Él estaba hablando de canibalismo. El los dejó alejarse y preguntó a los doce que se quedaron, “¿Van a dejarme también?” En otras palabras, Jesús les estaba preguntando a ellos y nosotros, “¿Van a confiar en mí aun cuando no pueden explicar esto o entenderlo completamente?”

Si Jesús repetidamente enseña algo, debe ser importante. Y creo que la Eucaristía era central en la enseñanza de Jesús porque él quería que fuera central en la Iglesia. Tiene sentido. Jesús no solo vino, nos mostró el camino y nos dejó para continuar la misión. Jesús nos da a sí mismo diariamente en la Eucaristía para sostenernos, fortalecernos, sanarnos e inspirarnos. “El que come mi Carne y bebe mi Sangre permanece en mí y yo en él.” Y los Padres de la Iglesia Primitiva, aquellos que aprendieron directamente de Jesús o Sus Apóstoles, continuaron enseñando inquebrantablemente la Presencia Real de Jesús en la Eucaristía.

Así como nosotros comemos alimentos para sostener nuestros cuerpos físicos, la Eucaristía es alimento para el alma. Además de la Palabra de Dios, la Eucaristía es un sustento increíble en nuestras vidas. Si tienes dudas sobre la Presencia Real de Jesús en la Eucaristía, lee sobre algunos de los muchos milagros que han sucedido con la Eucaristía

http://www.therealpresence.org/eucharst/mir/engl_mir.htm.

¿Confío en Jesús lo suficiente como para creer en la Presencia Real de la Eucaristía?
¿Preparo mi corazón y alma para recibir a Jesús diariamente o semanalmente en misa?

Para mí, un día sin la Eucaristía es un día vacío.

¡Tengan un fin de semana bendecido!

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

