Posted by: frburke23 | May 21, 2014

Thought for Thursday, 5th Week in Ordinary Time

John 15:9-11

Jesus said to his disciples:
“As the Father loves me, so I also love you.
Remain in my love.
If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love,
just as I have kept my Father’s commandments
and remain in his love.

“I have told you this so that
my joy might be in you and
your joy might be complete.”

=============================

In the Gospel of John, Jesus often invites us into the great love of the Trinity.  “As the Father loves me, so I also love you.”  We know that the Father loves the Son.  The love between the Father and the Son is the Holy Spirit.  With the same love that God the Father loves Jesus, Jesus loves us!  And the Father and Son offer each of us the Holy Spirit, Who abides within each of us baptized persons.  Take time to contemplate that kind of immense love!  There is no limit to the Father’s love for Jesus.  Thus, there is no limit for Jesus’ love for you and me!

And the best way for us to show that we love Jesus and desire to remain in His love is to keep His commandments.  These are not laws that we are supposed to follow like a robot.  The Commandments are not rules that are meant to take the fun out of life.  No!  Because God loves us, He gives us these laws because He knows what is best for us.  Out of love and for my protection, my mother told me, “Don’t touch the hot stove because you will get burned.”  In the same way God tells us, “If you follow these Commandments I can protect you.  If you go outside of these laws, you are on your own.”

Have you ever been in love?  If you have, being with that person is easy, right?  You think about them day and night.  You want to tell the world about the one that you love.  You are willing to lay down your life for that person.  And you would do all of these things without question, without a second thought.

Do you love the Lord the same way?  If you do, following the Commandments would be a natural progression of your love for Jesus.  You would make Him your top priority.  You would honor His name and keep holy the Lord’s day.  You would also love your neighbor, which encapsulates the other seven Commandments.  By loving your neighbor, you are showing your love for the Lord in each person.

Jesus wants us to experience joy and COMPLETE JOY.  Since He created us, God knows what will make us ultimately joyful.  Remain in His love.  Fall in love with Jesus by getting to know Him as your best friend, your confidant, your Lord.  He loves you more than you can possibly comprehend.  Let that soak into your heart.  If it does, you will never be the same – and that is a wonderful thing!

Am I following the Commandments as a way of loving God?

Have I fallen in love with God?

Do I remain in the Father’s love through daily prayer and study?

God bless,

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Juan 15:9-11

Jesús dijo a sus discípulos:
“Como el Padre me amo, así también los amo yo.
Permanezcan en mi amor.
Si siguen mis mandamientos, permanecerán en mi amor;
así como yo he guardado los mandamientos de mi Padre,
y permanezco en su amor.
“Les he dicho esto para que
mi gozo esté en ustedes, y
su gozo sea completo”.

_____________________________________________________

En el Evangelio de Juan, Jesús a menudo nos invita hacia el gran amor de la Trinidad. “Como el Padre me amo, así también los amo yo.” Sabemos que el Padre ama al Hijo. El amor entre el Padre y el Hijo es el Espíritu Santo. ¡Con el mismo amor que Dios Padre ama a Jesús, Jesús nos ama! Y el Padre y el Hijo nos ofrecen a cada uno de nosotros el Espíritu Santo, que permanece dentro de cada uno de nosotros como personas bautizadas. ¡Toma tiempo para contemplar ese tipo de amor inmenso! No hay límite para el amor del Padre por Jesús. ¡Por lo tanto, no hay límite para el amor de Jesús para ti y para mí!

Y la mejor manera para nosotros mostrar que amamos a Jesús y que deseamos permanecer en Su amor es guardar sus mandamientos. Estas no son leyes que debemos seguir como un robot. Los mandamientos no son reglas que tienen el propósito de eliminar la diversión de la vida. ¡No!  Porque Dios nos ama, Él nos da estas leyes porque Él sabe lo que es mejor para nosotros. Por amor y para mi protección, mi madre me dijo: “No toques la estufa caliente porque te puedes quemar.” De la misma manera Dios nos dice: “Si sigues estos Mandamientos puedo protegerte. Si sales de estas leyes, estarás solo por tu propia cuenta”.

¿Alguna vez has estado enamorado? Si lo has estado, estar con esa persona es fácil, ¿verdad? Piensas en esa persona día y noche. Quieres decirle al mundo sobre la persona que amas. Estas dispuesto a dar tu vida por esa persona. Y harías todas estas cosas sin preguntar, sin pensarlo dos veces.

¿Amas al Señor de la misma manera? Si lo haces, seguir los mandamientos sería una progresión natural de tu amor por Jesús. Lo harías tu principal prioridad. Honrarías Su nombre y santificarías el día del Señor. También amarías a tu prójimo, que encapsula los otros siete Mandamientos. Amando a tu prójimo, estas mostrando tu amor por el Señor en cada persona.

Jesús quiere que experimentemos la alegría y la ALEGRIA COMPLETA. Ya que Él nos creó, Dios sabe lo que nos hará finalmente alegres.  Permanezcan en Su amor. Enamórate de Jesús conociéndolo como tu mejor amigo, tu confidente, tu Señor. Él te ama más de lo que puedas posiblemente comprender. Deja que eso penetre en tu corazón. Si lo haces, nunca serás el mismo – ¡y eso es una cosa maravillosa!

¿Estoy siguiendo los Mandamientos como una manera de amar a Dios?
¿Me he enamorado de Dios?
¿Permanezco en el amor del Padre a través de la oración diaria y el estudio?

Dios los bendiga,

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

