Posted by: frburke23 | May 27, 2014

Thought for Tuesday, 6th Week of Easter

John 16:5-11

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Now I am going to the one who sent me,
and not one of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’
But because I told you this, grief has filled your hearts.
But I tell you the truth, it is better for you that I go.
For if I do not go, the Advocate will not come to you.
But if I go, I will send him to you.
And when he comes he will convict the world
in regard to sin and righteousness and condemnation:
sin, because they do not believe in me;
righteousness, because I am going to the Father
and you will no longer see me;
condemnation, because the ruler of this world has been condemned.”

_____________________________________________________________

Jesus makes it clear in this Gospel reading from John how powerful the Holy Spirit is.  First of all, Jesus says that it will be better for them when He ascends into heaven because then the Holy Spirit will be with us.  Most of us would want to have Jesus with us in person, but He affirms that it is better for us that He return to the Father.

Why is that?  Is it because the Holy Spirit can be everywhere and in everyone at the same time?  Is it because of the intimate way that we receive the Holy Spirit at baptism?  I’m not sure…

But what we do hear from Jesus is that the Holy Spirit will “convict the world”.  In other words, through the power of the Holy Spirit, we will know right from wrong.  We will be convicted of our sinful ways.  Have you ever had this happen to you?  We sin and our conscience will not let us rest.  We cannot experience peace, nor can we sleep at night…  This is the Holy Spirit convicting us of our sinful ways.

And this Holy Spirit is the same God as Jesus Christ – this is the mystery of the Holy Trinity – one God, three persons.  It is part of God’s master plan that His presence be with us until the end of time. What a loving God we have.  He wants to be intimately involved in our lives.  And the Holy Spirit convicts us, not because Jesus wants to condemn us.  Jesus says, “I did not come to condemn the world, but to save it.”  The Holy Spirit convicts us of our sins so that we turn to God in repentance and be saved.

Come Holy Spirit, come!

God bless,

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Juan 16:5-11
Ahora me voy al que me envió, y ninguno de ustedes me pregunta: ‘¿A dónde vas?’.
Pero al decirles esto, ustedes se han entristecido.
Sin embargo, les digo la verdad: les conviene que yo me vaya, porque si no me voy, el Paráclito no vendrá a ustedes. Pero si me voy, se lo enviaré.
Y cuando él venga, probará al mundo dónde está el pecado, dónde está la justicia y cuál es el juicio.
El pecado está en no haber creído en mí.
La justicia, en que yo me voy al Padre y ustedes ya no me verán.
Y el juicio, en que el Príncipe de este mundo ya ha sido condenado.

_____________________________________________________________

Jesús hace claro en esta lectura del evangelio de Juan que tan potente es el Espíritu Santo.   En primer lugar, Jesús dice que será mejor para ellos cuando él ascienda al cielo, porque entonces el Espíritu Santo estará con nosotros.  La mayoría de nosotros desea tener a Jesús con nosotros en persona, pero El afirma que es mejor para nosotros que El se devuelva al Padre.

¿Por qué será?  ¿Es porque el Espíritu Santo puede estar en todas partes y en todos al mismo tiempo?  ¿Es debido a la forma íntima que recibimos el Espíritu Santo en el bautismo?  No estoy seguro…

Pero lo que oímos de Jesús es que el Espíritu Santo “condenara el mundo”.  En otras palabras, a través del poder del Espíritu Santo, nosotros sabremos entre el bien y el mal.  Nos va  condenar por nuestras formas pecaminosas.  ¿Alguna vez te a sucedido esto?  Pecamos y nuestra conciencia no nos deja descansar.  Nosotros no podemos experimentar paz, ni podemos dormimos en la noche…  Este es el Espíritu Santo, condenándonos de nuestras formas en las cuales pecamos.

Y este Espíritu Santo es el mismo Dios que Jesucristo – este es el misterio de la Santísima Trinidad: un solo Dios, en  tres personas.  Es parte del plan maestro de Dios que su presencia este con nosotros hasta el fin del tiempo. Que Dios tan amoroso tenemos.  Él quiere involucrarse íntimamente en nuestras vidas.  Y el Espíritu Santo nos convicta, no porque Jesús quiere condenarnos.  Jesús dice, “Yo no vine a condenar el mundo, sino a salvarlo.”  El Espíritu Santo convicta de nuestros pecados de modo que podamos acudir a Dios en arrepentimiento y ser salvados.

¡Ven Espíritu santo ven!

Dios te bendiga,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Joining in with your Prayer….

    Yes! Come Holy Spirit, Come!

    Thanks Fr. Burke.

    Blessings,
    Rhonda


Leave a Reply

Categories

