Posted by: frburke23 | June 4, 2014

Thought for Thursday, 7th Week of Easter

John 17:20-26

Lifting up his eyes to heaven, Jesus prayed saying:

“I pray not only for these,

but also for those who will believe in me through their word,

so that they may all be one,

as you, Father, are in me and I in you,

that they also may be in us,

that the world may believe that you sent me.

And I have given them the glory you gave me,

so that they may be one, as we are one,

I in them and you in me,

that they may be brought to perfection as one,

that the world may know that you sent me,

and that you loved them even as you loved me.

Father, they are your gift to me.

I wish that where I am they also may be with me,

that they may see my glory that you gave me,

because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

Righteous Father, the world also does not know you,

but I know you, and they know that you sent me.

I made known to them your name and I will make it known,

that the love with which you loved me

may be in them and I in them.”

————————————————————————–

As we continue to move to the feast of Pentecost this weekend, we hear from Jesus as he prepares to ascend into heaven.  What strikes me in this prayer of Jesus is the depth of His love for us.  Jesus’ desire is that we can be one with Him and the Father in complete unity.  Jesus has done all He can to communicate the love of the Father for you and me.  There is nothing more than He can do.

It is also striking that Jesus prays for all “those who will believe in me through their word…”  In other words, He was praying for me and you in this prayer.  He was counting on His disciples to share the Good News so that future generations will come to know Jesus and redemption.  I find this very comforting to know that the Lord was praying for me at this time. 

I also give thanks to all the men and women before me that have passed on their faith – our parents, grandparents, teachers, priests, sisters, saints, etc.  Take time today to thank those who have made you the person of faith that you are. 

Then take time to realize that the Lord is also calling you to be one of those men or women who is being called to share the faith so that future generations may believe.  You may be the only person that the Lord can use to reach a particular person.

Lord, thank you for your love in my life.  Thank you for those who have gone before me in faith.  Open my heart to hear your call so that I may share your love with others today.  Help me to focus my attention and your love on the person right in front of me today.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Evangelio según San Juan 17,20-26.
Alzando los ojos al cielo, Jesús oró diciendo:

No ruego solamente por ellos, sino también por los que, gracias a su palabra, creerán en mí.
Que todos sean uno: como tú, Padre, estás en mí y yo en ti, que también ellos sean uno en nosotros, para que el mundo crea que tú me enviaste.
Yo les he dado la gloria que tú me diste, para que sean uno, como nosotros somos uno
-yo en ellos y tú en mí- para que sean perfectamente uno y el mundo conozca que tú me has enviado, y que yo los amé cómo tú me amaste.
Padre, quiero que los que tú me diste estén conmigo donde yo esté, para que contemplen la gloria que me has dado, porque ya me amabas antes de la creación del mundo.
Padre justo, el mundo no te ha conocido, pero yo te conocí, y ellos reconocieron que tú me enviaste.
Les di a conocer tu Nombre, y se lo seguiré dando a conocer, para que el amor con que tú me amaste esté en ellos, y yo también esté en ellos”.

——————————————————————————–

Mientras nos acercamos esta semana a la fiesta de Pentecostés, oímos de Jesús mientras se prepara para ascender al cielo.  Lo que me llama la atención en esta oración de Jesús es la profundidad de su amor por nosotros. El deseo de Jesús es que podamos ser uno con El y el Padre en la unidad completa.  Jesús ha hecho todo lo posible para comunicar el amor del Padre por ti y por mí.  No hay nada más que pueda hacer El.

También resulta sorprendente que Jesús ora por todos “aquellos que creen en mí a través de su palabra…”  En otras palabras, él rezaba por ti y por mí en esta oración.  Él estaba contando con sus discípulos para compartir la Buena Nueva para que las futuras generaciones lleguen a conocer a Jesús y la redención.  Me parece muy consolador el saber que el Señor estaba rezando por mí en este momento. 

También doy gracias a todos los hombres y  mujeres que pasaron antes de mí y que nos han transmitido su fe – nuestros padres, abuelos, maestros, sacerdotes, hermanas, Santos, etc… Toma un tiempo el día de hoy para darles las gracias a las personas que te hicieron la persona de fe quien eres hoy. 

Luego tomate un tiempo para darte cuenta  que el señor también te está llamando para ser uno de esos hombres o mujeres que está llamado a compartir la fe para que las futuras generaciones puedan creer. Tú podrías ser la única persona la cual el Señor  puede utilizar para llegarle a una persona en particular.

Señor, gracias por tu amor en mi vida.  Gracias por aquellos que se han ido antes que yo, en la fe.  Abre mi corazón para escuchar tu llamado para poder compartir tu amor con otros el día de hoy.  Ayúdame a centrar mi atención y tu amor sobre la persona que está en frente de mí hoy.

Dios te bendiga,

Padre Burke


Responses

  1. Thank you, Fr Burke, your comments really touched my heart as you explained the meaning of this gospel. God bless

  2. Thank you Fr. Burke for doing this daily reflection to help us all grow in our faith!


Leave a Reply

Categories

