Posted by: frburke23 | June 30, 2014

Thought for Tuesday, 13th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 8:23-27

As Jesus got into a boat, his disciples followed him.
Suddenly a violent storm came up on the sea,
so that the boat was being swamped by waves;
but he was asleep.
They came and woke him, saying,
“Lord, save us! We are perishing!”
He said to them, “Why are you terrified, O you of little faith?”
Then he got up, rebuked the winds and the sea,
and there was great calm.
The men were amazed and said, “What sort of man is this,
whom even the winds and the sea obey?”

==========================================

Why are you terrified, O you of little faith?” 

How often do we lose faith?  How often do we say, “Lord, where are you?  Why have you abandoned me?”   How often do the daily trials and crosses that we carry overwhelm us and we feel that we can’t go on?

Jesus invites us to the cross with Him.  It was at the cross that Jesus was completely dependent of the Father.  He trusted His entire self to the Father at that moment and the Father did not let Him down.   Some say that Jesus despaired of the Father’s presence when He said, “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?”  And yet that is the beginning of Psalm 22.  In Jesus’ day, everyone knew the psalms by heart.  Even though this psalm begins crying out to God, it finishes with resolute trust and faith in God.  By praying the first line, Jesus was praying the entire psalm.  Even though things seem to be desperate Jesus trusted in the Father.

Life is challenging for everyone.  Each person that I meet is carrying a heavy cross.  But Jesus invites us to the cross with Him, to that place of complete and total dependence on the Father.  As Jesus promised before He ascended into heaven, “I will never abandon you.  I will be with you until the end of time.”  This is the truth. 

The lie that the evil wants us to believe is that we are alone.  Another lie is that God has abandoned us and will never love us, save us or forgive us.  Dismiss these lies because they do not come from God.  The evil one is the “father of lies”.  We need to turn to our true Father, who loves us and tells us that we are His beloved sons/daughters.

What are the waves and storms that surround me right now?

What are the crosses that am I carrying?

Do I trust that the Father will never abandon me?

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Mateo 8:23-27

Cuando Jesús subió a una barca, sus discípulos lo siguieron.
De repente una violenta tormenta se levanto en el mar,
de modo que la barca estaba siendo inundada por las olas;
pero él estaba dormido.
Vinieron y lo despertaron, diciendo,
“¡Señor, sálvanos! ¡Estamos pereciendo!”
Él les dijo, “¿Por qué están aterrorizados, hombres de poca fe?”
Entonces se levantó, reprendió a los vientos y al mar,
y vino una gran calma.
Los hombres estaban asombrados y decían, “¿Qué clase de hombre es éste,
que incluso los vientos y el mar lo obedecen?”

___________________________________________________

¿Por qué están aterrorizados, hombres de poca fe?

¿Con qué frecuencia perdemos la fe? ¿Con qué frecuencia decimos, “Señor, dónde estás? ¿Por qué me has abandonado? “¿Con qué frecuencia las pruebas diarias y las cruces que llevamos nos agobian y sentimos que no podemos seguir adelante?

Jesús nos invita a la cruz con él. Fue en la cruz que Jesús era completamente dependiente del Padre. El confió todo Su ser al Padre en ese momento y el Padre no lo defraudó. Algunos dicen que Jesús perdió la esperanza de la presencia del Padre cuando dijo, “Dios mío, Dios mío, ¿por qué me has abandonado?” Y sin embargo, ese es el comienzo del Salmo 22. En tiempos de Jesús, todos sabían los salmos de memoria. A pesar de que este salmo comienza clamando a Dios, termina con entera confianza y fe en Dios. Al rezar la primera línea, Jesús estaba rezando todo el salmo. A pesar de que las cosas parecían estar desesperantes Jesús confiaba en el Padre.

La vida es desafiante para todos. Cada persona que me encuentro está cargando una cruz pesada. Pero Jesús nos invita a la cruz con Él, a ese lugar de completa y total dependencia en el Padre. Como Jesús prometió antes de ascender al cielo, “Nunca los abandonaré. Voy a estar con ustedes hasta el fin de los tiempos.” Esta es la verdad.

La mentira que el maligno quiere que creamos es que estamos solos. Otra mentira es que Dios nos ha abandonado y nunca nos amara, nos salvará o nos perdonara. Descarten estas mentiras porque no vienen de Dios. El maligno es el “padre de las mentiras”. Tenemos que volver a nuestro verdadero Padre, que nos ama y nos dice que somos sus hijos / hijas amados.

¿Cuáles son las olas y las tormentas que me rodean ahora mismo? 
¿Cuáles son las cruces que estoy cargando?
¿Confío en que el Padre nunca me abandonará?

¡Tengan un día bendecido!

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Father Burke,

    You don’t know me as I live in Knoxville, TN but I subscribe to your daily emails. I had a particularly rough day today and as I was in my car yelling at the Lord to show his presence in my life, my phone vibrated with today’s perfectly appropriate devotional. I just wanted to thank you for these emails and for letting the Lord work through you in my life and the lives of your other subscribers. Don’t ever think that these emails don’t mean something to somebody out there.

    God Bless,

    Will Brewer

    • Thanks Will. I appreciate your kind words. There are times that I’m tired, but when I remember emails like yours it inspires me to continue to write. God bless you…

  2. Great Pondering….Hope its okay… I copied it for My spiritual scrapbook…to be read over…and over.

    I’m always pretty impressed, what baseball son writes in his spiritual journal after he does your devotion.

    His senior baseball year did not end up as far as he wanted to go….today he wrote “Trust that God is in control.”

    Thanks MUCH …Fr. Burke

    Been Blessed,
    Rhonda

    • Thanks Rhonda. Blessings to you and your family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

