Posted by: frburke23 | July 21, 2014

Thought for Monday, 16th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 12:38-42

Some of the scribes and Pharisees said to Jesus,
“Teacher, we wish to see a sign from you.”
He said to them in reply,
“An evil and unfaithful generation seeks a sign,
but no sign will be given it
except the sign of Jonah the prophet.
Just as Jonah was in the belly of the whale three days and three nights,
so will the Son of Man be in the heart of the earth
three days and three nights.
At the judgment, the men of Nineveh will arise with this generation
and condemn it, because they repented at the preaching of Jonah;
and there is something greater than Jonah here.
At the judgment the queen of the south will arise with this generation
and condemn it, because she came from the ends of the earth
to hear the wisdom of Solomon;
and there is something greater than Solomon here.”

=================================================

It is so natural for us to want a sign, isn’t it? We are human.  We want proof.  We want Jesus to lay things out for us very clearly so that we can place our faith in Him.

Yet what is faith but it is a belief in something we cannot see.  If we could see and prove everything, there would be no need of faith.  In the Scriptures, Jesus encouraged faith as much as anything else.  It was faith that brought about healing of many people.  It was faith that gave people hope in the middle of trials and tribulations.  It was faith that allowed people to love and forgive their enemies.

So maybe you are waiting for a sign from God in order to believe like the scribes and Pharisees.  That is understandable.  I remember asking God for signs as I was discerning my vocation.  I wanted to know for sure that God was calling me to be a priest.  As I look back, God was calling me and encouraging me in so many different ways, especially in the silence of my heart while I was in adoration.

At times God gives us wonderful, prodigious signs in order that we might believe.  But most often he speaks to the silence of our hearts.  He wants us to come away to a silent, deserted place to pray.

God also wants to contemplate the “signs” that Jesus gave us while He walked the earth.  He told us that He would suffer, die and rise again on the third day.  And He did exactly that.  Whatever Jesus promises He fulfills.  He is trustworthy, more than anyone else that has lived.  And yet He gives us free will.  The choice is up to us. 

Am I going to place my complete trust and faith in Jesus?

Am I going to look for signs for proof?

Or am I going to pray and entrust my entire life, all my cares and worries, into the loving hands of Jesus?

Jesus, help me to trust in you.  My heart wavers with the wind at times.  I grow weary and lose faith so easily at times.  But I know that you are trustworthy.  Help me, like Peter who walked on water, to keep my eyes focused on you.  When the winds and waves of life come my way, help me to trust in your loving guidance and protection 

Have a blessed day.

Fr. Burke

To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column.  Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.


Responses

  1. I saw you on EWTN and I decided to join your blog. I read your posting about Faith and Trust and the idea of asking Jesus to show us a sign.- very interesting. I love and trust Jesus. Buz

  2. Thanks Fr. Burke….Your post were missed last week…

    When the winds and waves of life come my way, help me to trust in your loving guidance and protection….For some reason…My Spirit just had me stop and offer up prayers for you. Thanks much for all you do.

    Your in my prayers.

    God Bless,
    Rhonda

  3. Thank you Fr Burke – I will keep you and your work in my daily prayers. I wish you well and I will look forward daily to your words of encouragement and wisdom. My God Bless you, Buz

  4. Dear Fr.Burke,
    The other day I was watching Life On The Rock and listened to you talk about your story of faith. Thank you for being such a great witness of the love of Jesus. Your joy shined from your face and your faith and obedience is a strong witness.
    Your words today I receive as God’s affirmation and encouragement to me of what he’s been whispering to me,… You can trust me Tracy, even when all the signs seem to say other wise…
    Thank you and God bless,

    Tracy

  5. You had be hanging on your every word on Life on the Rock last night. You are tremendous inspiration to us Catholics and to the Christians who may be searching for the truth. I pray for your and that the Lord will continue to bless you in His direction I ask that you pray for me and people like myself who continuously need the assurance of our Lord’s forgiveness and unconditional love for without Him I know my life would definitely not be the same. Thank you.

    • Anna thanks for your kind words. May God bless you…

  6. Father, I too saw you on EWTN and your story about how God guided you to the path you have taken. I am sure there were times that thought that it was crazy and struggled with what God was asking you to do for Him. I am struggling now with myself trying to discern is it God asking me to serve him differently than what I am doing now. I ask that you pray for me so I trust in God mission He is asking me to do.
    Thank you and you are in my prayers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

