Posted by: frburke23 | August 19, 2014

Thought for Tuesday, 20th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 19:23-30

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Amen, I say to you, it will be hard for one who is rich
to enter the Kingdom of heaven.
Again I say to you,
it is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle
than for one who is rich to enter the Kingdom of God.”
When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and said,
“Who then can be saved?”
Jesus looked at them and said,

“For men this is impossible,
but for God all things are possible.”
Then Peter said to him in reply,
“We have given up everything and followed you.
What will there be for us?”
Jesus said to them, “Amen, I say to you
that you who have followed me, in the new age,
when the Son of Man is seated on his throne of glory,
will yourselves sit on twelve thrones,
judging the twelve tribes of Israel.
And everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters
or father or mother or children or lands
for the sake of my name will receive a hundred times more,
and will inherit eternal life.
But many who are first will be last, and the last will be first.”
________________________________________________________
Yesterday, we heard how Jesus told the rich young man to “sell everything you have, give it to the poor, and follow me,” in order to be perfect.  We continue on this theme of riches in today’s Gospel.  With the example of the camel passing through the eye of a needle, Jesus almost closes the doors of heaven to the rich.  Realizing this, the disciples ask, “Then who can be saved?”  They were getting nervous.

Jesus has nothing against rich people.  He is warning us against the dangers of worldly attachments.  Jesus calms their fears of losing heaven by saying, “for men this is impossible, but for God all things are possible.”  This gives me great hope.  We often spend our whole lives trying to prove ourselves, garnering accolades, prizes and material things, adding to our resumes; yet, we realize that by gathering all of these things, we still are fundamentally empty if we haven’t put Christ at the center of all of it.

Peter, the spokesman for the apostles, then pipes up and basically says, “Lord, we’ve given up everything.  So what’s in it for us?”  You can hear the selfishness in his question.  But Peter is so human.  We can all relate so well to Peter.  Even though we are trying to follow Christ, rid ourselves of worldly attachments, we still want to know, “What is in it for me?”

Jesus tells him not to worry.  If you have given up house, family or other things for the sake of the Kingdom, you will be rewarded one hundred times and gain eternal life.  This is the Good News!

Reading this Gospel, I could not help but think of some of our seminarians from Poland, Kenya and Mexico.  They literally have given up home, country, language, family, everything…and come to this country to serve God as a priest.  Even though they can probably help their families by serving as a priest here, they have given up so much.  But we don’t have to leave our country to sacrifice for God.

This inspires me and makes me ask the question, “What have I given up for Jesus?”  I am near my family.  I am not starving.  I have a roof over my head.  I have sacrificed having a wife and children of my own.  But I Lord has blessed more than I can possibly imagine.  I feel as though my spiritual family is huge.  I have met so many incredible people by being in ministry.  They have blessed my life tremendously.  What little I have offered to God to follow Him, He has returned to me more than 100 times.  The more I offer back to Him, the more He gives me to give away again.  And the peace and joy I have received is beyond my wildest imagination.  I realize that I cannot outdo God in generosity.

May we all meditate on these words of Jesus.  What is the Lord asking me to sacrifice or give up or offer back to Him so that my worship may be pure?  If I’m not asked to leave my home or country or family, am I being called to give up some worldly comforts?  I guarantee you “what you give is what you receive” and then some… 100 times more

Finally, Jesus says, “the first will be last and the last will be first.”  Sometimes we feel superior on this earth if we have more power, prestige, titles, fame and money.  Jesus measures success by humility, service, love and mercy.  If you had a report card on these qualities, what grades would you receive?

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Mateo 19:23-30

Jesús dijo a sus discípulos:
“En verdad, les digo, será difícil para que un rico
entre en el Reino de los cielos.
Otra vez les digo,
es más fácil para un camello pasar por el ojo de una aguja
que un rico entre en el Reino de Dios.”
Cuando los discípulos oyeron esto, se asombraron grandemente, y dijeron:
“¿Y quién podrá ser salvo?”
Jesús los miró y dijo,

“Para los hombres esto es imposible;
pero para Dios todo es posible”.
Entonces Pedro le dijo en respuesta,
“Nosotros lo hemos dejado todo y te hemos seguido.
¿Qué va a haber para nosotros? “
Jesús les dijo, “En verdad les digo que
ustedes que me han seguido, en la nueva era,
cuando el Hijo del Hombre se siente su trono de gloria,
ustedes se sentarán en doce tronos,
para juzgar a las doce tribus de Israel.
Y cualquiera que haya dejado casas, o hermanos, o hermanas,
o padre, o madre, o hijos o tierras
por causa de mi nombre, recibirá cien veces más,
y heredará la vida eterna.
Pero muchos de los primeros serán los últimos, y los últimos serán los primeros”.

__________________________________________________________

Ayer, escuchamos cómo Jesús le dijo al joven rico “vende todo lo que tienes, dáselo a los pobres y sígueme”, con el fin de ser perfecto.  Continuamos en este tema de la riqueza en el Evangelio de hoy. Con el ejemplo del camello que pasa por el ojo de una aguja, Jesús casi cierra las puertas del cielo a los ricos. Al darse cuenta de esto, los discípulos preguntan, “Entonces, ¿quién podrá salvarse?” Ellos Estaban poniéndose nerviosos.

Jesús no tiene nada en contra de los ricos. Él nos está advirtiendo contra los peligros de los apegos mundanos. Jesús calma sus temores de perder el cielo diciendo, “para los hombres esto es imposible, pero para Dios todo es posible.” Esto me da una gran esperanza. A menudo nos pasamos la vida entera tratando de demostrarnos a nosotros mismos, cosechando elogios, premios y cosas materiales, añadiendo a nuestro resumen; sin embargo, nos damos cuenta que al reunir todas estas cosas, todavía estamos fundamentalmente vacíos si no hemos puesto a Cristo en el centro de todo.

Pedro, el portavoz de los apóstoles, luego dice básicamente, “Señor, hemos dado todo. Entonces, ¿qué hay para nosotros?” Puedes escuchar el egoísmo en su pregunta. Pero Pedro es tan humano. Todos nos podemos relacionar muy bien con Pedro. A pesar de que estamos tratando de seguir a Cristo, liberarnos de los apegos mundanos, todavía queremos saber, “¿Qué hay para mí?”

Jesús le dice que no se preocupe. Si has dejado casa, familia u otras cosas por el bien del Reino, serás recompensado cien veces y ganaras la vida eterna. ¡Esta es la Buena Nueva!

Leyendo este Evangelio, no podía dejar de pensar en algunos de nuestros seminaristas de Polonia, Kenia y México. Ellos literalmente han dejado el hogar, país, idioma, familia, todo… Y viniendo a este país para servir a Dios como sacerdote. A pesar de que ellos probablemente pueden ayudar a sus familias al servir como sacerdote aquí, han renunciado a tanto. Pero nosotros no tenemos que salir de nuestro país para sacrificarnos por Dios.

Esto me inspira y me hace hacer la pregunta, “¿A que he renunciado por Jesús?” Yo estoy cerca de mi familia. No me estoy muriendo de hambre. Tengo un techo sobre mi cabeza. He sacrificado tener una esposa y mis propios hijos. Pero el Señor ha bendecido más de lo que puedo imaginar. Siento como si mi familia espiritual es enorme. He conocido a mucha gente increíble por estar en el ministerio. Ellos han bendecido mi vida tremendamente. Lo poco que he ofrecido a Dios para seguirlo, Él me ha devuelto más de 100 veces. Cuanto más le ofrezco de nuevo a Él, cuanto más El me da para dar de nuevo. Y la paz y alegría que he recibido es más allá de mi imaginación más salvaje. Me doy cuenta de que no puedo superar a Dios en generosidad.

Que todos podamos meditar en estas palabras de Jesús.
¿Qué es lo que el Señor me pide que sacrifique o renuncie u ofrezca de nuevo a Él para que mi adoración sea pura?
Si no se me pide que deje mi casa o país o familia, ¿estoy siendo llamado a renunciar a algunas comodidades mundanas?
Yo te garantizo que “lo que das es lo que recibes” y luego algunos… ¡100 veces más!

Por último, Jesús dice, “los primeros serán los últimos y los últimos serán los primeros.” A veces nos sentimos superiores en esta tierra si tenemos más poder, prestigio, títulos, fama y dinero. Jesús mide el éxito por la humildad, servicio, amor y misericordia. Si tuvieras una boleta de calificaciones sobre estas cualidades, ¿qué grados recibirás?

¡Tengan un día bendecido

Padre Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Thank you so much for your words, Father Burke !


Leave a Reply

Categories

