Posted by: frburke23 | September 22, 2014

Thought for Monday, 25th Week in Ordinary Time

Luke 8:16-18

Jesus said to the crowd:
“No one who lights a lamp conceals it with a vessel
or sets it under a bed;
rather, he places it on a lampstand
so that those who enter may see the light.
For there is nothing hidden that will not become visible,
and nothing secret that will not be known and come to light.
Take care, then, how you hear.
To anyone who has, more will be given,
and from the one who has not,
even what he seems to have will be taken away.”
_____________________________________________________

Has the light of Christ been lit in your heart?  Have you had an encounter with the living Christ?  Pope Francis has been talking a great deal about the importance of encountering Jesus, who is alive and well today.  This happens through prayer, reading the Scriptures, retreats, the Sacraments, and different personal experiences.

When we do encounter Christ, He calls us to holiness.  He calls us to live a life that proclaims what we believe through our words and actions.  This line from Jesus can be frightening, “For there is nothing hidden that will not become visible, and nothing secret that will not be known and come to light.” 

Do you want everything in your life to come to light?

We are entitled to have a private life but not a double life.   God knows everything – He knows our hearts, our minds and our actions.  The whole world does not need to know everything about us.   We deserve to have some privacy.  But none of us should be living double lives in which we preach one thing and live another way.

Does your public life match your private life?

We are all sinners and fall short of the glory of God.  None of us are perfect.  But the Lord calls us to be holy as our heavenly Father is holy.

God bless,

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Just a few of my pondering thoughts….

    Do you want everything in your life to come to light?

    Does your public life match your private life?

    These are some hard questions. In my private life I can be who I am…who I was created to be. I perfer a tranquil, quiet, peaceful life. One where one can hear the voice of God. It is when I get out in the public life, where everyone is telling me…You need to do this…You need to get out more. You need to be on facebook, We need to go, go, go, who needs to have a family supper any more? God forgive me if I am wrong on this next one….The Church is even having us go, go, go….do bible studies…get on committees…do a book club….come learn how to do your finances….

    Where does this leave the family? Broken. Have others watch and teach your kids. The Public life is telling me not to be that person (the person who I am in my private life).

    …We are told: Set the example. We need action. these example and actions don’t match up to today’s world. Not to many perfer this way of life.

    Am I living a double life? I don’t know? He tells us to live in this world but not to be of this world.

    When I read the Office of Readings this morning….St. Augustine’s sermon on Pastors…

    The title: “Insist upon the message, whether it be welcome of not”

    Had my Spirit Stirred up…

    Reading it I grew strength and courage….

    Reading theses words in St. Augustine’s message: “However unwelcome, I dare to say: “You wish to stray, you wish to be lost; but I do not want this.” for the one whom I fear does not wish this. And should I wish it, consider his words of reproach: The straying sheep you have not recalled; the lost sheep you have not sought. Shall I fear you rather than him? remember, we must all present ourselves before the judgement seat of Christ.

    Thanks Fr. Burke….keep shepherding this herd of lost sheep.

    Been Blessed,
    Rhonda

  2. Padre excelente pregunta para reflexionar. Si me puso a pensar me conduzco igual dentro y fuera de mi casa o soy mejor persona con mis amistades que con mi familia? Dios lo bendiga

  3. Thank you Father … I’m learning everyday and yes I live only one life… I sometimes fly up to the clouds but I’m begging my Will to be tethered to God’s Will so I will never be without Him.

    I want to be Sealed with the Holy Spirit desperately … I’ve waited so long… I am praying for patience.

    GBY

    Mary Brooks


Leave a Reply

Categories

