Posted by: frburke23 | September 30, 2014

Thought for Tuesday, 26th Week in Ordinary Time

Luke 9:57-62

As Jesus and his disciples were proceeding
on their journey, someone said to him,
“I will follow you wherever you go.”
Jesus answered him,
“Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests,
but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.”
And to another he said, “Follow me.”
But he replied, “Lord, let me go first and bury my father.”
But he answered him, “Let the dead bury their dead.
But you, go and proclaim the Kingdom of God.”
And another said, “I will follow you, Lord,
but first let me say farewell to my family at home.”
Jesus answered him, “No one who sets a hand to the plow
and looks to what was left behind is fit for the Kingdom of God.”

==================================================

Today we spent the day in Assisi, my favorite place on earth.  We celebrated Mass at the Basilica of St. Francis, where we also had the chance to visit the tomb of the revered saint.  We also visited the Basilica of St. Clare, who began an order of religious women following the rule of St. Francis.  We finished our tour by visiting the church of St. Mary of the Angels, where St. Francis’ chapel “The Portiuncula” or “The Little Portion” is located.  This also include the place where he died. 

I find his life so inspiring.  His family was wealthy and he gave up everything to follow Jesus – everything.  He heard the voice of Jesus tell him, “Francis, rebuild my Church.”  Francis at first thought that the Lord meant to rebuild the physical church he was in because it was falling apart.  But then he realized that Jesus was talking about the universal Church.  His simple life has impacted millions of people for the last 800 years.  Never underestimate the power of one person who simply follows Christ with everything he/she has!

In today’s reading, Jesus is teaching us how important it is to be single-minded in our discipleship.  We cannot say that we are with you completely, Lord, but I still need time to many other things.  We can’t put off our following the Lord.  The apostles dropped everything and followed Jesus.  What is keeping you from saying YES to the Lord?  The Lord may not be asking you to leave everything, but He is saying, “Make me the center of your life and I will give you all that you need”.

Do I trust the Lord completely for every part of my life?

Is Jesus the center of my life, or am I the center of my life?

Or is someone or something else the center of my life?

How do I need to change my priorities?

St. Francis and St. Clare, pray for us.  Help us to simplify our lives and follow you unreservedly, even if it means that people think that we are crazy.  Even if it means we lose some friends.  You are my all in all.

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke Masters

To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column.  Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.


Responses

  1. Spot on, as always. Thanks!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

