Posted by: frburke23 | November 22, 2014

Thought for Sunday, Christ the King

Matthew 25:31-46

Jesus said to his disciples:
“When the Son of Man comes in his glory,
and all the angels with him,
he will sit upon his glorious throne,
and all the nations will be assembled before him.
And he will separate them one from another,
as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.
He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
Then the king will say to those on his right,
‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father.
Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.
For I was hungry and you gave me food,
I was thirsty and you gave me drink,
a stranger and you welcomed me,
naked and you clothed me,
ill and you cared for me,
in prison and you visited me.’
Then the righteous will answer him and say,
‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you,
or thirsty and give you drink?
When did we see you a stranger and welcome you,
or naked and clothe you?
When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?’
And the king will say to them in reply,
‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did
for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’
Then he will say to those on his left,
‘Depart from me, you accursed,
into the eternal fire prepared for the Devil and his angels.
For I was hungry and you gave me no food,
I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,
a stranger and you gave me no welcome,
naked and you gave me no clothing,
ill and in prison, and you did not care for me.’
Then they will answer and say,
‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty
or a stranger or naked or ill or in prison,
and not minister to your needs?’
He will answer them, ‘Amen, I say to you,
what you did not do for one of these least ones,
you did not do for me.’
And these will go off to eternal punishment,
but the righteous to eternal life.”

========================================

This weekend we celebrate Christ the King.  And the readings this weekend point us to Jesus as the Good Shepherd.  We have a God who does not Lord things over us, but one who seeks out the lost (shepherd).  But we also have a God that will separate the sheep from the goats (king).

In the first reading from the prophet Ezekiel, I am struck by the image of God as a shepherd.  “I will pasture my sheep.”  God will seek out the lost, the strayed, the injured and the sick.  And those who are sleek and strong will be destroyed.

And in the Gospel, we have the image of both the king and shepherd.  Jesus sits upon his “glorious throne, and all nations will be assembled before him.”  And from His throne He will separate the sheep and the goats.  What is the deciding factor?   It is our actions.  Those who feed the hungry, visit the imprisoned and care for the sick will “inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.

Those who neglect the hungry, the sick, the imprisoned and the stranger will “go off to eternal punishment.”  So we have a king and a shepherd.  Jesus shows us how to go after the poor and the marginalized.  He teaches us to go after those who have no voice, those who are pushed aside.  Who are these people today?  The poor, unborn, elderly, minorities, immigrants, sick, etc.  The list can go on. 

Am I loving to those who are marginalized?

Can I see Jesus in everyone?

The consequences of our actions can be eternal. 

Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

MATEO 25:31-46

Jesús dijo a sus discípulos:
“Cuando el Hijo del Hombre venga en su gloria,
y todos los ángeles con él,
él se sentará en su trono de gloria,
y todas las naciones se reunirán delante de él.
Y él separará a unos de otros,
como el pastor separa las ovejas de las cabras.
El Pondrá las ovejas a su derecha y los cabritos a su izquierda

Entonces el Rey les  dirá a los de su derecha,
“Vengan, ustedes benditos de mi Padre.
Heredaran  el reino preparado para ustedes desde la fundación del mundo.
Porque tuve hambre y ustedes me dieron de comer;
Tuve sed, y me dieron de beber,
un forastero y me dieron la bienvenida,
desnudo y me vistieron,
enfermo y se preocuparon por mí,
en la cárcel, y me visitaron. ”
Entonces los justos le responderán a él diciendo:
‘Señor, ¿cuándo te vimos hambriento y te alimentamos,
o sediento, y te dimos de beber?

¿Y cuándo te vimos forastero y te dimos la bienvenida,
o desnudo, y te vestimos?
¿Cuándo te vimos enfermo o en la cárcel, y te visitamos a ti? ‘
Y el Rey les dirá en respuesta,
‘En verdad les digo que cuanto hicieron
para uno de esos hermanos míos más pequeños, a mí lo hicieron.”
Entonces les dirá  a los de su izquierda,
“Apártense de mí, malditos,
al fuego eterno preparado para el diablo y sus ángeles.
Porque tuve hambre y no me dieron de comer,
Tuve sed, y no  me dieron  de beber,
forastero, y no me dieron la bienvenida,
desnudo, y no me dieron ropa,
enfermo y en la cárcel, y  no se preocuparon por mí. ‘

Entonces van a responder y diran:
‘Señor, ¿cuándo te vimos hambriento o sediento,
o forastero o desnudo o enfermo o en la cárcel,
y no atendimos  a tus necesidades?
Él les responderá: “En verdad les digo,
lo que no hicieron por uno de estos más pequeños,
tampoco me lo hicieron  a mí. ‘
entonces irán éstos al castigo eterno,
y los justos a la vida eterna. ”

___________________________________________________________

Este fin de semana celebramos a Cristo Rey. Y las lecturas de este fin de semana nos señalan a Jesús como el Buen Pastor. Tenemos un Dios que no Reina cosas sobre nosotros, sino uno que busca a los perdidos (pastor). Pero también tenemos un Dios que separará las ovejas de las cabras (rey).

En la primera lectura del profeta Ezequiel, me llama la atención la imagen de Dios como un pastor. “Yo apacentaré mis ovejas.” Dios buscara a los perdidos, los extraviados, los heridos y los enfermos. Y aquellos que están pulidos y fuertes serán destruidos.

Y en el Evangelio, tenemos la imagen del rey y pastor. Jesús se sienta en su “trono glorioso, y todas las naciones se reunirán delante de él.” Y desde su trono Él separará a las ovejas y las cabras. ¿Cuál es el factor decisivo? Son nuestras acciones. Aquellos que alimentan a los hambrientos, visitan a los encarcelados y cuidan de los enfermos “heredaran el reino preparado para ustedes desde la fundación del mundo.”

Aquellos que descuidan a los hambrientos, los enfermos, los encarcelados y el desconocido “se irán al castigo eterno.” Así que tenemos un rey y un pastor. Jesús nos muestra cómo ir tras los pobres y los marginados. Él nos enseña ir tras aquellos que no tienen voz, aquellos que son dejados al lado. ¿Quiénes son estas personas hoy en día? Los pobres, los no nacidos, los ancianos, las minorías, los inmigrantes, los enfermos, etc. La lista puede seguir.

¿Estoy amando a los marginados?

¿Puedo ver a Jesús en todos?

Las consecuencias de nuestras acciones pueden ser eternas.

Tengan un fin de semana bendecido!

Fr. Burke

 


Responses

  1. your final words…”the consequences of our actions can be eternal….” speaks volumes for me!!
    I feel I am very giving, understanding of others but this makes me wonder… “am I doing enough”? Can I give more???


Leave a Reply

Categories

