Posted by: frburke23 | December 9, 2014

Thought for Wednesday, 2nd Week of Advent

Isaiah 40:25-31

To whom can you liken me as an equal?
says the Holy One.
Lift up your eyes on high
and see who has created these things:
He leads out their army and numbers them,
calling them all by name.
By his great might and the strength of his power
not one of them is missing!
Why, O Jacob, do you say,
and declare, O Israel,
“My way is hidden from the LORD,
and my right is disregarded by my God”?

Do you not know
or have you not heard?
The LORD is the eternal God,
creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint nor grow weary,
and his knowledge is beyond scrutiny.
He gives strength to the fainting;
for the weak he makes vigor abound.
Though young men faint and grow weary,
and youths stagger and fall,
They that hope in the LORD will renew their strength,
they will soar as with eagles’ wings;
They will run and not grow weary,
walk and not grow faint.

—————————————————————————

Take time to read today’s selection from Isaiah.  It gives me such peace to contemplate these words.  In the first paragraph, the Lord is telling us to look to Him for all things.  He is the creator of everything and everyone, yet He calls each of us by name.  He knows all of us intimately and does not disregard any of our ways.  We are precious in the eyes of God.

Then in the second paragraph we read, “He gives strength to the fainting; for the weak he makes vigor abound.”  There are many times in our lives when we feel that we cannot go on.  We are at the end of our rope and have no strength to continue.  The Lord calls us to look to Him for our strength and endurance.  “They that hope in the LORD will renew their strength, they will soar as with eagles’ wings; They will run and not grow weary, walk and not grow faint.

This has been my experience.  When I try to run the race alone and do everything on my own strength I get tired easily and feel that I cannot continue.  My battery runs out quickly.  However, when I am devoted to prayer and constantly connect with the Lord, He gives me strength and energy that I did not know I had.  Actually, it is not my strength but it is the Lord working through me.

This reading is connected today with Matthew 11:28-30:  “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”  These are great words of comfort for us to contemplate today.

Do I pray every day and allow the Lord to recharge my batteries?

Do I turn to the Lord with my struggles or do I try to carry them myself?

“Come to me,” the Lord says, “and I will give you rest.”  Do not try to carry your burden alone.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

ISAÍAS 40:25-31
¿A quién pueden compararme de igual a igual?
dice el Santo.
Levanten los ojos a lo alto
y miren quién ha creado estas cosas:
Él que hace salir a su ejército y los numera,
llamándolos a todos por su nombre.
Por su gran poder y la fuerza de su poder
¡Ni uno de ellos falta!
¿Por qué, dices, oh Jacob,
y declaras, oh Israel,
“Mi camino está oculto del SEÑOR,
y mi derecho es desatendido por mi Dios”?

¿No saben
O no han oído?
El SEÑOR es el Dios eterno,
creador de los confines de la tierra.
Él no se fatiga ni se cansa,
y su conocimiento va más allá del escrutinio.
Él le da fuerza al fatigado;
Al débil le abunda vigor.
Aunque los muchachos se fatigan y se cansan,
y los jóvenes se tambalean y caen,
Los que esperan en el SEÑOR renuevan sus fuerzas,
se elevan como con alas de águila;
corren y no se cansan;
caminan, y no se fatigan.

___________________________________________________________
Tomen  tiempo para leer la selección de hoy de Isaías. Me da tanta paz contemplar estas palabras. En el primer párrafo, el Señor nos está diciendo que lo veamos a Él para todas las cosas. Él es el creador de todo y todos, sin embargo, Él nos llama a cada uno por nombre. Él nos conoce a todos íntimamente y no desatiende ninguno de nuestros caminos. Somos preciosos a los ojos de Dios.

Luego, en el segundo párrafo leemos, “Él le da fuerza al fatigado; al débil le abunda vigor.” Hay muchas veces en nuestras vidas cuando sentimos que no podemos seguir. Estamos al final de nuestra cuerda y no tenemos fuerzas para continuar. El Señor nos llama a mirarlo a Él para nuestra fuerza y resistencia. “Los que esperan en el SEÑOR renuevan sus fuerzas, se elevan como con alas de águila; corren y no se cansan, caminan y no se fatigan.”

Esta ha sido mi experiencia. Cuando trato de correr la carrera solo y hago todo por mi propia fuerza me canso con facilidad y siento que no puedo continuar. Mi batería se agota rápidamente. Sin embargo, cuando me dedico a la oración y me conecto constantemente con el Señor, Él me da fuerza y energía que yo no sabía que tenía. En realidad, no es mi fuerza, pero es el Señor obrando a través de mí.

Esta lectura está conectada hoy con Mateo 11: 28-30: “Vengan a mí todos los que están cansados y agobiados, y yo les daré descanso. Carguen mi yugo y aprendan de mí, porque soy manso y humilde de corazón; y encontraran descanso. Porque mi yugo es suave y mi carga ligera.” Estas son grandes palabras de consuelo para nosotros para que contemplemos hoy.

¿Rezo todos los días y permito que el Señor recargue mis baterías?
¿Me dirijo al Señor con mis conflictos o trato de cargarlos yo mismo?

“Vengan a mí”, dice el Señor, “y yo les daré descanso.” No traten de llevar su carga solos.

Dios los bendiga,
Fr. Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

