Posted by: frburke23 | December 29, 2014

Thought for December 29 – 5th day of the Christmas octave

1 John 2:3-11

Beloved:
The way we may be sure that we know Jesus
is to keep his commandments.
Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not keep his commandments
is a liar, and the truth is not in him.
But whoever keeps his word,
the love of God is truly perfected in him.
This is the way we may know that we are in union with him:
whoever claims to abide in him ought to walk just as he walked.

Beloved, I am writing no new commandment to you
but an old commandment that you had from the beginning.
The old commandment is the word that you have heard.
And yet I do write a new commandment to you,
which holds true in him and among you,
for the darkness is passing away,
and the true light is already shining.
Whoever says he is in the light,
yet hates his brother, is still in the darkness.
Whoever loves his brother remains in the light,
and there is nothing in him to cause a fall.
Whoever hates his brother is in darkness;
he walks in darkness
and does not know where he is going
because the darkness has blinded his eyes.

___________________________________________________________

“Actions speak louder than words.”  This is what St. John was saying to the disciples in this letter.

‘Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not keep his commandments
is a liar, and the truth is not in him.
But whoever keeps his word,
the love of God is truly perfected in him.
This is the way we may know that we are in union with him:
whoever claims to abide in him ought to walk just as he walked.’

Am I walking just as Jesus walked?  Am I keeping His word?  It is easy to say, “I know Jesus”, but it is much more difficult to follow His ways of love, mercy, forgiveness, compassion, integrity, etc.  Yet that is what is asked of us – to put into practice what we profess to believe. 

I recently heard a story from a friend who is a deacon.  He had just preached a Sunday homily on integrity and had to take the public transportation in the afternoon.  He got on the bus and gave the bus drive $1 for the fair that was 90 cents.  He received two coins (presumably nickels) and sat down.

When we looked at the coins he realized that the driver had given him two dimes, 10 cents too much.  He had an internal argument.  “It is only 10 cents.  No one will notice.  It is no big deal.  But the right thing to do is to give it back.”  He argued with himself for the whole bus ride but finally decided to return the dime. 

As he was getting off the bus he gave the bus driver a dime back and said, “You gave me too much change.”  The bus driver replied, “I know.  I heard you preach this morning and I just wanted to see what you would do with it.”  Wow!

Now this deacon has a framed dime on his wall to remind him that someone is always watching what he does.  We need to practice what we preach.

Am I a person of integrity?

Do I practice what I preach, even when no one is watching?

God bless you

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Dear Father, my children are now ages 47,49,55 and 54 yrs. old. They still remember the day we Were doing last minute Christmas shopping,they were tired and I needed to get home to make dinner for Dad. When we got to the car I noticed the clerk had mistakenly placed a pair of Mittens in our bag..That big discussion began..it’s late,it’s okay because it was her fault Anyway and the famous ” no one will know”.We turned back,piled out rode down that Escalator and returned the mittens to the stunned clerk,who said”you didn’t have to do that” This lesson was repeated many times . The response became,It’s the right thing to do”!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. This reminds me of a funny episode I had. I gave the McDonalds drive through a 10$. He gave me change for a 20$. I promptly pointed it out, he apologized, and I said dead serious “ don’t let it happen again !”.

    Have a Funny Sunny day Fr. Burke.

    Sent from Windows Mail


Leave a Reply

Categories

