Posted by: frburke23 | December 30, 2014

Thought for December 30, day 6 in the octave of Christmas

1 John 2:12-17

I am writing to you, children,
because your sins have been forgiven for his name’s sake.

I am writing to you, fathers,
because you know him who is from the beginning.

I am writing to you, young men,
because you have conquered the Evil One.

I write to you, children,
because you know the Father.

I write to you, fathers,
because you know him who is from the beginning.

I write to you, young men,
because you are strong and the word of God remains in you,
and you have conquered the Evil One.

Do not love the world or the things of the world.
If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.
For all that is in the world,
sensual lust, enticement for the eyes, and a pretentious life,
is not from the Father but is from the world.
Yet the world and its enticement are passing away.
But whoever does the will of God remains forever.

=================================================

When I was young I dreamed of playing 2nd base for the Philadelphia Phillies, my favorite team since attending a Cubs-Phillies game as a little boy.  I love baseball and part of my dream was to make a living doing something that I loved.  But also in my mind was making millions of dollars, becoming famous, living in a mansion, traveling the world and buying anything I ever wanted.  My ulterior motives all revolved around material things.  I thought once I reached that dream THEN I would be happy.

I was 23 years old when my baseball career finished.  I worked as an actuary for a while. In that job I made good money, but I was not happy.  Then I worked for the Kane County Cougars, a minor league baseball team, working on the business side of sports.  My salary was cut in half from my previous job, but I was happy because I was doing something I loved – I was around baseball all day long!  While working for the Cougars, I felt called to the priesthood and my salary was cut in half again, but the joy has gone through the roof.

I now realize that joy is not a product of material things.  Joy comes from making Jesus Christ the center of our lives.  Jesus never said that following Him would be easy.  In fact, He said that we have to pick up our cross daily and follow Him.  But there is a joy and peace that comes when we place our complete trust in Him and when we share His love with others.

So as we approach this new year of 2015, let us listen to the words of St. John:

Do not love the world or the things of the world.
If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.
For all that is in the world,
sensual lust, enticement for the eyes, and a pretentious life,
is not from the Father but is from the world.
Yet the world and its enticement are passing away.
But whoever does the will of God remains forever.

Let us focus our new years’ resolutions on our spiritual lives.

How can I make Jesus the center of my life in 2015?

Where do I spend my time, money and energy?  This is where my heart is.

Lord, you know my heart.  I seek to be happy, fulfilled, joyful and peaceful.  I have tried looking for these things in so many places, but it is only in you that my heart finds peace and rest.  Help me to seek you above all things.

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Thanks Father, I needed this!

  2. Gracia Padre por ser mi amigo por sus reflexiones durante el año 2014 . Gracias poque muchas veces me llevo a un ubícate Lorena Dios te ama y tu que estas haciendo. Lo quiero mucho Dios nos cubra y nos bendiga.

  3. Thanks Fr. Burke! I saw you speak at St. Monica Church on Mercer Island this last summer and I have been following your blog periodically ever since. I’m currently a senior at Gonzaga University and am discerning the priesthood. I found your story of conversion and eventual call to the priesthood inspiring. Thanks for your witness and for the daily reflections.

    • Thanks Luke for your note. Know that I will pray for your discernment. Priesthood is a wonderful life; if God calls you to this wonderful vocation it will be incredible. May God bless you in this New Year!

  4. Hello Father Burke – a fellow parishioner recommend you blog to me (and many others seated nearby) and when she mentioned it, I recalled you fondly for the following reason: while you led mass at St. Isidore a few years ago, a fellow extraordinary minister for communion tripped and dropped her plate of the holy eucharist. You were fantastic: first and immediatly concerned that she was not injured, then very no-nonsense and discreet as you picked up the holy host and consumed the wafers, ensuring that she did not feel any extra embarrassment due to her accident. I was really impressed with how you handled that, and thought, I bet his blog is good. And it has been more than good – it has been wonderful – for the year plus that I have had the fortune to read it. I decided to consciously commit to what I was doing (reading this) during the stewardship season as one small (small!) way that I could let the Word into my day and let it guide me, and it has. Father Burke, you have provided a glimmer of guidance in the work or home day that has truly nudged me, led me, held me a little more accountable. I am an incredibly fortunate wife, mother, daughter, aunt, niece, friend, and community member but I often find myself yearning for something ‘other’ and your guidance has helped me. I am grateful to you for taking an extraordinary amount of time to consider your words, formulate them, and send them to us. You have also made yourself relatable to us and that has increased your influence on me; this journey has not come easily for you, but its rewards are deep and fulfilling.

    Thank you for giving this to all of us, and Happy New Year!

    • Thanks for your kind message Penni. This does take time, but it is time well spent as we try to participate in the New Evangelization. The rewards I experience, like receiving your kind post, make it well worth the effort. Have a blessed New Year!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

