Posted by: frburke23 | January 2, 2015

Thought for January 2

1 John 2:22-28

Beloved:
Who is the liar?
Whoever denies that Jesus is the Christ.
Whoever denies the Father and the Son, this is the antichrist.
Anyone who denies the Son does not have the Father,
but whoever confesses the Son has the Father as well.

Let what you heard from the beginning remain in you.
If what you heard from the beginning remains in you,
then you will remain in the Son and in the Father.
And this is the promise that he made us: eternal life.
I write you these things about those who would deceive you.
As for you,
the anointing that you received from him remains in you,
so that you do not need anyone to teach you.
But his anointing teaches you about everything and is true and not false;
just as it taught you, remain in him.

And now, children, remain in him,
so that when he appears we may have confidence
and not be put to shame by him at his coming.

_____________________________________________________

Happy New Year!  I write this from Nashville, TN at the national FOCUS (Fellowship of Catholic University Students) Conference.  There are 9500 young adults here on fire for Jesus Christ and the Catholic Church!  There is such amazing energy here!

This language from the 1st letter of St. John can get a little confusing.  He keeps telling us to remain in Jesus.  What does this mean – to remain in someone?

Physically it may sound impossible to remain in someone.  However, that is part of the beauty of the faith.  Jesus gave us the Eucharist, the bread of life to eat.  “Unless you eat my flesh and drink my blood, you have no life in you.”  In a very REAL way, we are able to remain in Jesus when we receive the Eucharist.  He gives of Himself to us.

Spiritually we can also remain in Jesus.  This is done through prayer, the Sacraments and reading the Scriptures.  The more time we spend with someone, the better we get to know them.  In fact, we often take on characteristics of our friends and family when we spend a lot of time with them.  That is what happens when we remain with Jesus in prayer – we begin to look like Him, act like Him, talk like Him and love like Him.  That is amazing!

So the question is:  am I remaining/abiding in Christ these days?  Life can get very busy.  In fact, I would guess that about 95% of adults would say that they are too busy.  At times, my prayer time has suffered because I have placed work over prayer.  With the dawn of a new year, I have resolved once again to spend a quiet Holy Hour every day with Jesus in prayer.  I intend to immerse myself in the Bible during this time, as well as just spend quiet time listening to His voice in my heart.

Have you made a New Year’s resolution?  I’m not talking about giving up chocolate!  I’m talking about remaining more in Christ during 2015.  I guarantee it will change your life if you give yourself to Him completely.  Remain in Jesus and watch what happens…

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Welcome to nashville! I myself live here ( born and raised) and have been reading your emails for the last year.

    If you are in town for an extended time, i would love to have coffee and say hello.

    Happy new year and thanks for your thoughtful emails. They have helped me more then you know.

    Eric Crawford
    615-473-7494

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Thank you for your message. They are very helpful in building my relationship with Christ. I also look forward to spending more time in prayer and religious reading this year. Happy New Year!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

