Posted by: frburke23 | January 26, 2015

Thought for January 26 – Sts. Timothy and Titus

2 Timothy 1:1-8

Paul, an Apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God
for the promise of life in Christ Jesus,
to Timothy, my dear child:
grace, mercy, and peace from God the Father
and Christ Jesus our Lord.

I am grateful to God,
whom I worship with a clear conscience as my ancestors did,
as I remember you constantly in my prayers, night and day.
I yearn to see you again, recalling your tears,
so that I may be filled with joy,
as I recall your sincere faith
that first lived in your grandmother Lois
and in your mother Eunice
and that I am confident lives also in you.

For this reason, I remind you to stir into flame
the gift of God that you have through the imposition of my hands.
For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice
but rather of power and love and self-control.
So do not be ashamed of your testimony to our Lord,
nor of me, a prisoner for his sake;
but bear your share of hardship for the Gospel
with the strength that comes from God.

==================================================

Today we celebrate the lives of Saints Timothy and Titus.  There are two options for the first reading – I chose to comment on the reading from Paul to Timothy.  Paul often refers to Timothy as his “son”.  You can hear the tender affection that he has for Timothy by the tone of this letter.  Their spiritual relationship was father/son as Paul had taught Timothy everything he could about Jesus.  Their ministry had brought them to different places and Paul yearns to see Timothy again and urges him to remain strong in the faith.  He tells him to be courageous and to share in the hardships and challenges of being an apostle of Jesus Christ.

Timothy has been ordained by Paul (“I remind you to stir into flame the gift of God that you have through the imposition of my hands”).  Paul is encouraging Timothy to stir the flames of faith so that he does not back down from the mission that he has been given by God.

As I read this letter from St. Paul to Timothy, I am reminded of the people in my life that have taught me about Jesus Christ.  My parents were my first teachers of the faith.  And throughout my life the Lord has placed influential people in my path that would further encourage me and help me grow in my relationship with Jesus.  To all of you, I thank you.  Take time today to thank all of those in your life that have helped you grow in faith and love.

It also reminds me of my mission to encourage others to know and love Jesus Christ.  Paul must have spent countless hours with Timothy – teaching him about Jesus, modeling the life of a disciple, encouraging him in the faith.  Do I take the time to help others grow in their relationship with Jesus?  Do I invest my time and energy to grow in holiness myself so that I know the mission that the Lord wants to give me?

May we too stir into flame the fire that is in our hearts.  Through the gift of the Holy Spirit we have been given the spirit of “power and love and self-control”.  What a great gift!  What a wonderful God we have!  Take time today to:

1) Pray and grow in holiness, in the likeness of Jesus Christ.

2) Thank others who have helped you grow in faith and love.

3) Encourage others in their walk with Jesus.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

2 Timoteo 1:1-8
Pablo, Apóstol de Jesucristo, por la voluntad de Dios, para anunciar la promesa de Vida que está en Cristo Jesús,
saluda a Timoteo, su hijo muy querido. Te deseo la gracia, la misericordia y la paz que proceden de Dios Padre y de nuestro Señor Jesucristo.
Doy gracias a Dios, a quien sirvo con una conciencia pura al igual que mis antepasados, recordándote constantemente, de día y de noche, en mis oraciones.
Al acordarme de tus lágrimas, siento un gran deseo de verte, para que mi felicidad sea completa.
Porque tengo presente la sinceridad de tu fe, esa fe que tuvieron tu abuela Loide y tu madre Eunice, y estoy convencido de que tú también tienes.
Por eso te recomiendo que reavives el don de Dios que has recibido por la imposición de mis manos.
Porque el Espíritu que Dios nos ha dado no es un espíritu de temor, sino de fortaleza, de amor y de sobriedad.
No te avergüences del testimonio de nuestro Señor, ni tampoco de mí, que soy su prisionero. Al contrario, comparte conmigo los sufrimientos que es necesario padecer por el Evangelio, animado con la fortaleza de Dios.

____________________________________________________

Ahora celebramos las vidas de los Santos Timoteo y Titus. Hay dos opciones para la primera lectura- opte comentar sobre la Carta de Pablo a Timoteo. Pablo frecuentemente se refiere a Timoteo como su “hijo”. Puedes escuchar el afecto personal que le tiene a Timoteo a través del tono de la carta. Su relación espiritual como padre/hijo por lo cual Pablo le enseño a Timoteo todo lo que pudo sobre Jesús. Su ministerio los había llevado a diferentes lugares y Pablo anhela ver de nuevo a Timoteo y le anima a permanecer firme en la fe. Él le dice que sea valiente y que participe en las dificultades y desafíos de ser un apóstol de Jesucristo.

Timoteo fue ordenado por Pablo (“Te recomiendo que reavives el don de Dios que has recibido por la imposición de mis manos”). Pablo está animando a Timoteo a reavivar la fe para que no se arrepienta de la misión que Dios le ha dado.

Al leer esta carta de San Pablo a Timoteo, me acuerdo  de las personas en mi vida las cuales me han enseñado sobre Jesucristo. Mis padres fueron mis primeros maestros de la fe. A lo largo de mi vida el Señor a puesto en mi camino personas de influencia los cuales me animaron y me ayudaron a crecer en mi relación personal con Jesús. A todos ustedes, les doy las gracias. Toma un tiempo el día de hoy para darles las gracias a todas las personas en tu vida que te han ayudado a crecer en la fe y en el amor.

También me recuerda mi misión de animar a los demás a conocer y amar a Jesucristo. Pablo debió haber pasado incontables horas con Timoteo – en la enseñanza de Jesús, modelando la vida de un discípulo, y animándolo en la fe. ¿Tomo tiempo para ayudar a los demás en crecer su relación con Jesús? ¿Invierto mi tiempo y energía para crecer personalmente en la santidad para poder saber la misión que el Señor me quiere dar?

Que nosotros también podamos reavivar el fuego que está en nuestros corazones. A través del don del Espíritu Santo se nos ha dado el espíritu de “poder y amor y auto-control”. ¡Qué gran regalo! ¡Que Dios tan maravilloso tenemos! Toma tiempo hoy para:

  1) Orar y crecer en la santidad, en la semejanza de Jesucristo.

  2) Darle gracias a aquellos que te han ayudado a crecer en tu fe y amor.

  3) Animar a otros en su caminar con Jesús.

Dios los bendiga,

Padre Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Responses

  1. Thank You Fr. Burke for encouraging me/us in our faith.

    Fr. Burke…has spent countless hours writing and encouraging me/us. Many days my eye have come open to see….my ears open to hear God, through him. Many times his writing as brought me strength an courage in my Faith. May God continue to Bless Him.

    HUGE THANKS!!!
    Been Blessed,
    Rhonda

  2. You Fr. Burke, are one of the Great influences of my Spiritual Life. Thank you for “connecting” with me. I never felt close, personally, to any priests growing up. I had that detached “looking from the outside in” feeling, that I think many of my generation had. Through the closeness I have with Fr. Matt Lemeroux, Bishop Joe, Fr. Matt Pratcher,and yourself, I am growing In The Lord. Have a peaceful day. God Bless.

    Sent from Windows Mail

  3. Thanks, Fr. Burke

    God bless you in your ministry. This passage from the Bible was perfect for me and my brothers and sisters in Christ Jesus.

    Thanks for coming to my dad, Bob Irwin’s wake a week ago last Saturday.

    Blessings to you !

    Appreciatively, Trudy Irwin Wille

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • It was nice to see you Trudy. May God bless you and your family…

  4. thank you Father Burke for all the inspiration you have given me and continue to do so thru your daily reflections. I also am in Florida now and last
    Friday went thru Estero Too bad I didn’t know how to contact you. Alice

    • Sorry I missed you. And I was just in West Chicago for the 10am Mass last weekend and missed you again. Hope to see you soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

