Posted by: frburke23 | March 26, 2015

Thought for Friday, 5th Week of Easter

John 10:31-42

The Jews picked up rocks to stone Jesus.
Jesus answered them, “I have shown you many good works from my Father.
For which of these are you trying to stone me?”
The Jews answered him,
“We are not stoning you for a good work but for blasphemy.
You, a man, are making yourself God.”
Jesus answered them,
“Is it not written in your law, ‘I said, ‘You are gods?'”
If it calls them gods to whom the word of God came,
and Scripture cannot be set aside,
can you say that the one
whom the Father has consecrated and sent into the world
blasphemes because I said, ‘I am the Son of God?’
If I do not perform my Father’s works, do not believe me;
but if I perform them, even if you do not believe me,
believe the works, so that you may realize and understand
that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.”
Then they tried again to arrest him;
but he escaped from their power.

He went back across the Jordan
to the place where John first baptized, and there he remained.
Many came to him and said,
“John performed no sign,
but everything John said about this man was true.”
And many there began to believe in him.

==========================================

Once again today we focus on faith during our spiritual spring training.  This is something that we could focus on for years because it is so fundamental in our spiritual lives.  Jesus was speaking the truth to everyone that He was the Son of God.  He performed mighty works, taught with authority and displayed a love that was beyond anything the world had seen before, and yet most did not believe Him.

However, some people did believe Jesus.  They placed their faith in Him and their lives were never the same.  They did not understand everything, but they trusted Jesus.

Jesus invites us today to place our faith in Him as well.  We may not understand everything – natural disasters, innocent people suffering, violence and poverty.  We may not completely understand the mystery of the Eucharist or the gift of life.   But Jesus invites us to trust in Him.  With Jesus all things are possible, no matter how difficult things may seem.

The choice is up to us.  We are asked to make a conscious decision to follow Jesus and surrender our wills to Him.  This can be frightening, but allow Peter’s words to echo in our hearts, “To whom shall we go?  You alone Lord have the words of everlasting life.”

Lord, increase my faith.  Help me to trust in you especially when I don’t have the answers.  Help me to stay close to you when I feel alone.  Help me to follow you when I don’t see the path in front of me.  Jesus, I trust in you.

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column.  Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.

Here is the Spanish translation:

JUAN 10:31-42

Los Judíos recogieron piedras para apedrear a Jesús.
Jesús les respondió: “Yo les he mostrado muchas obras buenas de mi Padre.
¿Por cuál de estas están ustedes tratando de apedrearme? ”
Los Judíos le respondieron:
“No te apedreamos por una obra buena, sino por blasfemia.
Tú, un hombre, te estás haciendo Dios. ”
Jesús les respondió:
“¿No está escrito en su ley: Yo les digo: ‘ustedes son dioses?'”
Si se les llama dioses a quienes la palabra de Dios vino,
y la Escritura no se puede dejar de lado,
¿pueden decir que el único
a quien el Padre consagro y envió al mundo,
blasfema porque he dicho: “Yo soy el Hijo de Dios?’
Si no realizo las obras de mi Padre, no me crean;
pero si las realizo, incluso si ustedes no me creen,
crean las obras, para  que puedan darse cuenta y comprendan
que el Padre está en mí y yo en el Padre”.
Luego intentaron de nuevo detenerlo;
pero él se escapó de su poder.

Se regresó al otro lado del Jordán
al lugar donde Juan bautizó primero, y allí permaneció.
Muchos vinieron a él y le dijeron:
“Juan no hizo ninguna señal,
pero todo lo que Juan dijo de éste hombre, era verdad. ”
Y muchos allí comenzaron a creer en él.

_____________________________________________________

Una vez más, hoy nos enfocamos en la fe durante nuestro entrenamiento espiritual de primavera. Esto es algo en lo que podemos enfocarnos por años porque es tan fundamental en nuestra vida espiritual. Jesús le estaba diciendo la verdad a todos que Él era el Hijo de Dios. Él realizó milagros, enseño con autoridad y mostró un amor que estaba más allá de cualquier cosa que el mundo había visto antes, y sin embargo la mayoría no le creyó.

Sin embargo, algunas personas si le creyeron a Jesús. Ellos pusieron su fe en Él y sus vidas nunca fueron las mismas. Ellos no entendían todo, pero confiaron en Jesús.

Jesús nos invita hoy a poner nuestra fe en Él también. Puede que no entendamos todo – los desastres naturales, personas inocentes sufriendo, violencia y pobreza. Puede que no entendamos completamente el misterio de la Eucaristía o el regalo de la vida. Pero Jesús nos invita a confiar en Él. Con Jesús todo es posible, no importa que tan difícil puedan parecer las cosas.

La elección depende de nosotros. Se nos pide que hagamos una decisión consciente para seguir a Jesús y entregarle nuestra voluntad a Él. Esto puede ser aterrador, pero permitan que las palabras de Pedro resuenen en nuestros corazones, “¿A quién iremos? Solo tu Señor tienes palabras de vida eterna”.

Señor, aumenta mi fe. Ayúdame a confiar en ti, especialmente cuando no tengo las respuestas. Ayúdame a permanecer cerca de ti cuando me siento solo. Ayúdame a seguirte cuando no veo el camino delante de mí. Jesús, confío en ti.

¡Tengan un día bendecido!
Padre Burke
Para suscribirse, vaya a  https://frburke23.wordpress.com e ir a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” /“inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.


Responses

  1. Lisa Jennings ❄️ ⛄️❄️

    >

  2. Thanks ! Your insight helps to keep my faith stronger daily God Bless.

  3. Thank you Fr Burke for your posting today. To be reminded that Jesus has the words of everlasting life is what we all need to remember every day. God bless you for what you do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

