Posted by: frburke23 | March 31, 2015

Thought for Tuesday of Holy Week

John 13:21-33, 36-38

Reclining at table with his disciples, Jesus was deeply troubled and testified,
“Amen, amen, I say to you, one of you will betray me.”
The disciples looked at one another, at a loss as to whom he meant.
One of his disciples, the one whom Jesus loved,
was reclining at Jesus’ side.
So Simon Peter nodded to him to find out whom he meant.
He leaned back against Jesus’ chest and said to him,
“Master, who is it?”
Jesus answered,
“It is the one to whom I hand the morsel after I have dipped it.”
So he dipped the morsel and took it and handed it to Judas,
son of Simon the Iscariot.
After Judas took the morsel, Satan entered him.
So Jesus said to him, “What you are going to do, do quickly.”
Now none of those reclining at table realized why he said this to him.
Some thought that since Judas kept the money bag, Jesus had told him,
“Buy what we need for the feast,”
or to give something to the poor.
So Judas took the morsel and left at once. And it was night.

When he had left, Jesus said,
“Now is the Son of Man glorified, and God is glorified in him.
If God is glorified in him, God will also glorify him in himself,
and he will glorify him at once.
My children, I will be with you only a little while longer.
You will look for me, and as I told the Jews,
‘Where I go you cannot come,’ so now I say it to you.”

Simon Peter said to him, “Master, where are you going?”
Jesus answered him,
“Where I am going, you cannot follow me now,
though you will follow later.”
Peter said to him,
“Master, why can I not follow you now?
I will lay down my life for you.”
Jesus answered, “Will you lay down your life for me?
Amen, amen, I say to you, the cock will not crow
before you deny me three times.”

==========================

We are in Holy Week, the final week of spiritual spring training.  This is a time of spiritual purification.  Today let us focus on being selfless rather than selfish.  As we move toward the Holy Triduum starting on Thursday, we read about Judas the betrayer.  What could have caused Judas to betray Jesus in such a way?  Surely Judas had initially responded to Jesus’ call with enthusiasm when He said, “Come follow me”. 

Did Judas become disillusioned with Jesus’ message?  Did holding the money bag become too much of a temptation for him?  Did he become jealous of the other apostles and decide to do something to get attention?  We can’t get into the mind of Judas, but from what we read he certainly lost his way.

Have you ever betrayed a friend?

Have you noticed that sometimes major betrayals begin with small sins and we slowly fade away from the Lord?

None of us are beyond what Judas did to Jesus.  We are all sinners and at any moment could betray our best friend and/or the Lord.  One of my grandmother’s favorite sayings was, “There but for the grace of God go I.”  It is only by the grace of God that we can stay on His path toward holiness.

I have betrayed good friends in the past.  I didn’t wake up in the morning thinking, “I’m going to betray a friend today”.  I have noticed that when I have fallen in sin, it is because I have neglected my personal prayer time with the Lord.  Instead of focusing on Him, I focus on myself and I become selfish.  One definition of “sin” is wanting what I want, right now.  On the other hand, “love” is seeking the best for the other. 

Do I notice this dynamic of sin and selfishness in my life?

Do I truly seek the best for others or is that just a guise to get what I want?

Let us take time this Holy Week to look into our hearts and test our motivations. 

What is the deepest desire of my heart?

Is it truly to know, to love and to serve the Lord?

Or is my desire to be known, to be loved, to be God?

Judas started off on the right track and something led him astray.  That could be me or you.  Once he realized that he had betrayed Jesus for a bag of money he despaired.

Lord, I come before you as a sinner.  As I reflect on what Judas did to you, I am reminded that I betray you daily with my thoughts, words and actions.  That is not my desire, but the things of this world distract me from You.  I start to focus on my own wants and desires.  This Holy Week, I open my heart to you in a new way.  I ask you to fill me with your grace, your light and your strength in order to make you the absolute center of my life.  Give me persistence in prayer, so that my heart burns with your love and the desire to serve you above all else.  Help me to be selfless, trusting that your grace and love is sufficient for me.

God bless,

Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

JUAN 13:21-33, 36-38

En aquel tiempo, cuando Jesús estaba a la mesa con sus discípulos, se conmovió profundamente y declaró: “Yo les aseguro que uno de ustedes me va a entregar”. Los discípulos se miraron perplejos unos a otros, porque no sabían de quién hablaba. Uno de ellos, al que Jesús tanto amaba, se hallaba reclinado a su derecha. Simón Pedro le hizo una seña y le preguntó: “¿De quién lo dice?” Entonces él, apoyándose en el pecho de Jesús, le preguntó: “Señor, ¿quién es?” Le contestó Jesús: “Aquel a quien yo le dé este trozo de pan, que voy a mojar”. Mojó el pan y se lo dio a Judas, hijo de Simón el Iscariote; y tras el bocado, entró en él Satanás.

Jesús le dijo entonces a Judas: “Lo que tienes que hacer, hazlo pronto”. Pero ninguno de los comensales entendió a qué se refería; algunos supusieron que, como Judas tenía a su cargo la bolsa, Jesús le había encomendado comprar lo necesario para la fiesta o dar algo a los pobres. Judas, después de tomar el bocado, salió inmediatamente. Era de noche.

Una vez que Judas se fue, Jesús dijo: “Ahora ha sido glorificado el Hijo del hombre y Dios ha sido glorificado en él. Si Dios ha sido glorificado en él, también Dios lo glorificará en sí mismo y pronto lo glorificará.

Hijitos, todavía estaré un poco con ustedes. Me buscarán, pero como les dije a los judíos, así se lo digo a ustedes ahora: ‘A donde yo voy, ustedes no pueden ir’ ”. Simón Pedro le dijo: “Señor, ¿a dónde vas?” Jesús le respondió: “A donde yo voy, no me puedes seguir ahora; me seguirás más tarde”. Pedro replicó: “Señor, ¿por qué no puedo seguirte ahora? Yo daré mi vida por ti”. Jesús le contestó: “¿Conque darás tu vida por mí? Yo te aseguro que no cantará el gallo, antes de que me hayas negado tres veces”.

______________________________________________________

Estamos en la Semana Santa, la última semana de entrenamiento espiritual de primavera. Este es un tiempo de purificación espiritual. Hoy vamos a enfocarnos en ser desinteresados en lugar de ser egoístas. A medida que avanzamos hacia el Santo Triduo que comienza el jueves, leemos acerca de Judas el traidor. ¿Qué le pudo haber causado a Judas para que traicionara a Jesús de tal manera? Ciertamente Judas había respondido inicialmente al llamado de Jesús con entusiasmo cuando dijo: “Ven y sígueme”.

¿Acaso Judas se desilusiono con el mensaje de Jesús? ¿Acaso el sostener la bolsa de dinero se convierto en demasiada tentación para él? ¿Llegó a ponerse celoso de los otros apóstoles y decidió hacer algo para llamar la atención? No podemos entrar en la mente de Judas, pero por lo que leemos ciertamente perdido la razón.

¿Alguna vez han traicionado a un amigo?
¿Han notado que a veces grandes traiciones comienzan con pequeños pecados y lentamente nos desvanecemos del Señor?

Ninguno de nosotros está más allá de lo que le hizo Judas a Jesús. Todos somos pecadores y en cualquier momento podemos traicionar a nuestro mejor amigo y / o al Señor. Uno de los dichos favoritos de mi abuela fue: “Ahí, pero por la gracia de Dios, voy yo.” Es sólo por la gracia de Dios que podemos permanecer en su camino hacia la santidad.

He traicionado a buenos amigos en el pasado. No me levante por la mañana pensando: “Hoy voy a traicionar a un amigo”. He notado que cuando me he caído en el pecado, es porque he descuidado mi tiempo de oración personal con el Señor. En lugar de concentrarme en Él, me concentro en mí mismo y me vuelvo egoísta. Una definición de “pecado” es querer lo que quiero, ahora mismo. Por otro lado, el “amor” es buscar lo mejor para el otro.

¿Noto esta dinámica del pecado y el egoísmo en mi vida?
¿Busco verdaderamente lo mejor para los demás o es sólo un disfraz para conseguir lo que quiero?

Tomemos tiempo esta Semana Santa para ver en nuestros corazones y poner a prueba nuestras motivaciones.

¿Cuál es el deseo más profundo de mi corazón?
¿Es realmente para conocer, amar y servir al Señor?
¿O mi deseo es de ser conocido, de ser amado, de ser Dios?

Judas comenzó en el camino correcto y algo lo descarrió. Ese podrías ser tú o yo. Una vez que se dio cuenta de que había traicionado a Jesús por una bolsa de dinero se desesperó.

Señor, vengo ante ti como un pecador. Al reflexionar sobre lo que Judas te hizo, me acuerdo que yo te traiciono diariamente con mis pensamientos, palabras y acciones. Ese no es mi deseo, pero las cosas de este mundo me distraen de ti. Comienzo a concentrarme en mis propias necesidades y deseos. Esta Semana Santa, abro mi corazón a ti de una manera nueva. Te pido que me llenes con tu gracia, tu luz y tu fuerza con el fin de hacerte el centro absoluto de mi vida. Dame la persistencia en la oración, para que mi corazón arda con tu amor y el deseo de servirte por encima de todo. Ayúdame a ser desinteresado, confiando en que tu amor y gracia es suficiente para mí.

Dios los bendiga,
Padre Burke


Responses

  1. By way of explaining Judas’ motive, someone said., He wanted Jesus to show His power and Majesty .and when the soldiers came he Expected Jesus to call on God to send down His legions. Realizing how he had misunderstood Jesus’ message and the enormity of his betrayal, He returned the coins then , He killed himself.

    Sent from my iPad

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

