Thought for Wednesday, 3rd Week of Lent

John 6:35-40

Jesus said to the crowds,
“I am the bread of life;
whoever comes to me will never hunger,
and whoever believes in me will never thirst.
But I told you that although you have seen me,
you do not believe.
Everything that the Father gives me will come to me,
and I will not reject anyone who comes to me,
because I came down from heaven not to do my own will
but the will of the one who sent me.
And this is the will of the one who sent me,
that I should not lose anything of what he gave me,
but that I should raise it on the last day.
For this is the will of my Father,
that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him
may have eternal life,
and I shall raise him on the last day.”

============================

We continue the Bread of Life discourse today from the 6th chapter of the Gospel of John.  Jesus reiterates, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst.”  He is the answer to all of our questions, all of our needs, all of our desires.  And He has given Himself to us sacramentally in the Eucharist to feed our soul.

Jesus also reveals to us His mission.  He did not come for His own good, but He came to do “the will of the one who sent me”.  God the Father entrusted to Jesus the mission to draw all people back to the Father.  The Father’s desire is that we all be saved and live with Him forever.  And Jesus was sent to accomplish this mission by dying on the cross, calling us to believe in Him and feeding on His Body and Blood.

Think about what Jesus did to save me and you.  That is the extent to which God is willing to go to save us.  Are you convinced of this love for you?  We hear in the first reading today from Acts 8:1-8 that Philip went to preach in Samaria.  He drove out demons, cured the crippled and paralyzed and performed many powerful deeds in Jesus’ name.  Philip was convinced about Jesus and allowed the Holy Spirit to work through him very powerfully.

Do I allow the Holy Spirit to work through me to proclaim the Good News of Jesus Christ?

What do I need to experience in order to be convinced?

Am I helping Jesus accomplish His mission on earth?

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

JUAN 6:35-40

En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a la multitud: “Yo soy el pan de la vida. El que viene a mí no tendrá hambre, y el que cree en mí nunca tendrá sed. Pero como ya les he dicho: me han visto y no creen. Todo aquel que me da el Padre viene hacia mí; y al que viene a mí yo no lo echaré fuera, porque he bajado del cielo, no para hacer mi voluntad, sino la voluntad del que me envió.

Y la voluntad del que me envió es que yo no pierda nada de lo que él me ha dado, sino que lo resucite en el último día. La voluntad de mi Padre consiste en que todo el que vea al Hijo y crea en él, tenga vida eterna y yo lo resucite en el último día”.

____________________________________________________

Hoy continuamos con el discurso del Pan de Vida del sexto capítulo del Evangelio de Juan. Jesús reitera: “Yo soy el pan de vida; el que viene a mí no tendrá hambre y el que cree en mí nunca tendrá sed.” Él es la respuesta a todas nuestras preguntas, todas nuestras necesidades, todos nuestros deseos. Y Él mismo se ha dado a nosotros sacramentalmente en la Eucaristía para alimentar nuestra alma.

Jesús también nos revela Su misión. Él no vino para Su propio bien, sino que vino para hacer “la voluntad del que me envió”. Dios Padre confió a Jesús la misión de atraer a todos de regreso al Padre. El deseo del Padre es que todos seamos salvados y vivamos con Él para siempre. Y Jesús fue enviado para llevar a cabo esta misión al morir en la cruz, llamándonos a creer en Él y alimentándonos de Su Cuerpo y Sangre.

Piensa en lo que Jesús hizo para salvarte a ti y a mí. Ese es el grado al que Dios está dispuesto a ir para salvarnos. ¿Estás convencido de este amor por ti? Hoy escuchamos en la primera lectura de Hechos 8: 1-8 que Felipe fue a predicar en Samaria. Expulso a demonios, curo a los lisiados y paralíticos e hiso obras poderosas en el nombre de Jesús. Felipe estaba convencido de Jesús y permitió que el Espíritu Santo obrara a través de él muy poderosamente.

¿Permito que el Espíritu Santo obre a través de mí para anunciar la Buena Nueva de Jesucristo?
¿Qué necesito experimentar con el fin de estar convencido?
¿Estoy ayudando a Jesús a cumplir Su misión en la tierra?

¡Tengan un día bendecido!
Padre Burke

2 thoughts on “Thought for Wednesday, 3rd Week of Lent

  1. Fr. Burke,

    I look forward to your beautiful words daily and thank you for your wonderful messages.

    I saw you on EWTN and am proud to tell others about your beautiful walk in life as if you were my own son….I know your mother is watching over you and is so very proud of you.

    You are truly Blessed…

    Sylvia Rivers
    <

Leave a comment