Posted by: frburke23 | April 24, 2015

Thought for Friday, 3rd Week of Easter

John 6:52-59

The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying,
“How can this man give us his Flesh to eat?” Jesus said to them,
“Amen, amen, I say to you,
unless you eat the Flesh of the Son of Man and drink his Blood,
you do not have life within you.
Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood
has eternal life,
and I will raise him on the last day.
For my Flesh is true food,
and my Blood is true drink.
Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood
remains in me and I in him.
Just as the living Father sent me
and I have life because of the Father,
so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me.
This is the bread that came down from heaven.
Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died,
whoever eats this bread will live forever.”
These things he said while teaching in the
synagogue in Capernaum.

=============================

We continue the Bread of Life discourse today in John chapter 6.  The crowd of Jews listening to Jesus could stand it no more.  “How can this man give us his Flesh to eat?”  They thought Jesus was talking about cannibalism and they walked away.  They were not willing to trust Jesus, despite all of the miracles they had seen, when they could not understand His teaching.  So they left.

What Jesus did NOT say is very important.  He did not say, “Come back.  I was only speaking symbolically.”  No, He let them walk away and continued to say, “For my Flesh is true food, and my Blood is true drink.  Whoever eats my Flesh and drinks my Blood remains in me and I in him.”

He referred to the manna that God gave the Israelites in the desert when he said, “Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever.”  In other words, Jesus came to conquer death forever.  We will die physical deaths, but we will live forever if we have faith in Jesus and receive the Eucharist in faith.  What a great promise!  Do we believe Him?

There are many things in life we do not understand.  We want scientific proof in order to believe in anything.  And yet Jesus calls us to have faith – to believe in things unseen.  At the same time, Jesus has given us Eucharistic miracles to help our unbelief.  Jesus has shown us in many ways how much He loves us.  He simply asks for our faith in Him.

Do I believe in Jesus and His promises?

Do I believe that the Eucharist is truly the Body and Blood of Jesus?

Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Juan 6:52-59

Los Judíos reñían entre sí, diciendo:
“¿Cómo puede éste hombre darnos a comer su Carne?” Jesús les dijo,
“En verdad, en verdad les digo,
si no comen la Carne del Hijo del Hombre y no beben su Sangre,
no tienen vida en ustedes.
El que come mi Carne y bebe mi Sangre
tiene vida eterna;
y yo lo resucitaré el último día.
Porque mi Carne es comida verdadera,
y mi Sangre es bebida verdadera.
El que come mi Carne y bebe mi Sangre
permanece en mí y yo en él.
Así como el Padre viviente me ha enviado
y yo tengo vida por el Padre,
así también el que come de mi vivirá por mí.
Este es el pan que ha bajado del cielo.
A diferencia de sus antepasados, quienes comieron y murieron;
el que coma de este pan vivirá para siempre.”
Estas cosas decía mientras enseñaba en la
sinagoga de Cafarnaúm.

===============================

Hoy continuamos con el discurso del Pan de Vida en Juan capítulo 6. La multitud de Judíos que escuchaban a Jesús no podían soportarlo más. “¿Cómo puede éste hombre darnos a comer su carne?” Ellos creían que Jesús estaba hablando de canibalismo y se alejaron. No estaban dispuestos a confiar en Jesús, a pesar de todos los milagros que habían visto, cuando no podían comprender Su enseñanza. Así que se fueron.

Lo que Jesús NO dijo es muy importante. Él no dijo, “Vuelvan. Yo sólo estaba hablando simbólicamente.” No, Él los dejó que se marcharan y continuó diciendo: “Porque mi carne es comida verdadera, y mi sangre es bebida verdadera. El que come mi carne y bebe mi sangre permanece en mí y yo en él”.

Se refirió al maná que Dios le dio a los israelitas en el desierto, cuando dijo: “A diferencia de sus antepasados, quienes comieron y murieron; el que coma de este pan vivirá para siempre.” En otras palabras, Jesús vino a vencer a la muerte para siempre. Moriremos muertes físicas, pero viviremos para siempre si tenemos fe en Jesús y recibimos la Eucaristía en la fe. ¡Qué gran promesa! ¿Le creemos?

Hay muchas cosas en la vida que no entendemos. Queremos una prueba científica para creer en cualquier cosa. Y sin embargo, Jesús nos llama a que tengamos fe – a creer en cosas que no se ven. Al mismo tiempo, Jesús nos ha dado milagros Eucarísticos para ayudar a nuestra incredulidad. Jesús nos ha mostrado de muchas maneras lo mucho que Él nos ama. Simplemente pide nuestra fe en Él.

¿Creo en Jesús y en Sus promesas?
¿Verdaderamente creo que la Eucaristía es el Cuerpo y Sangre de Jesús?

¡Tengan un fin de semana bendecido!
Padre Burke
https://frburke23.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

