Posted by: frburke23 | May 9, 2015

Thought for Saturday, 5th Week of Easter

Acts of the apostles 16:1-10

Paul reached also Derbe and Lystra
where there was a disciple named Timothy,
the son of a Jewish woman who was a believer,
but his father was a Greek.
The brothers in Lystra and Iconium spoke highly of him,
and Paul wanted him to come along with him.
On account of the Jews of that region, Paul had him circumcised,
for they all knew that his father was a Greek.
As they traveled from city to city,
they handed on to the people for observance the decisions
reached by the Apostles and presbyters in Jerusalem.
Day after day the churches grew stronger in faith
and increased in number.

They traveled through the Phrygian and Galatian territory
because they had been prevented by the Holy Spirit
from preaching the message in the province of Asia.
When they came to Mysia, they tried to go on into Bithynia,
but the Spirit of Jesus did not allow them,
so they crossed through Mysia and came down to Troas.
During the night Paul had a vision.
A Macedonian stood before him and implored him with these words,
“Come over to Macedonia and help us.”
When he had seen the vision,
we sought passage to Macedonia at once,
concluding that God had called us to proclaim the Good News to them.

======================================

We continue to follow the travels of St. Paul.  Today we read about him encountering the young disciple Timothy.  Interestingly Paul has Timothy circumcised, even though the Apostles had asked them not to add any burden on new converts.  However, I can only imagine that St. Paul did not want to create a controversy in Derbe and Lystra.  They did not have the internet at this time and word did not spread like it does today.  In order not to scandalize the people of this region, Timothy was circumcised.

Together Paul and Timothy preached the Good News of Jesus Christ and many people were added to their numbers.  They listened closely to the promptings of the Holy Spirit and went where they were called.  At the same time, when doors did not open to go to certain places, they did not go there.

Imagine the education Timothy received by shadowing St. Paul!  What a blessing that must have been, to be with possibly the greatest evangelist of all time.

Who is my mentor?

Have I chosen to follow people who inspire me to be a better disciple of Christ?

Am I attentive to the promptings of the Holy Spirit in my life?

Have a blessed weekend!

Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Father Burke I just wanted to say THANK YOU for all you do to help keep me connected to my faith. I live in place where there is no Catholic church and I read your emails every morning. Thank you for all you do!

  2. I have been looking for a mentor all my adult life. My daughter who became a Baptist was assigned a mentor early on. In my Bible Study classes, the leader was very encouraging but not readily accessible. I’ve turned inward to find what I feel I need to know. May God be praised!

  3. Thanks for the great words this morning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

