Posted by: frburke23 | July 27, 2015

Thought for Monday, 17th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 13:31-35

Jesus proposed a parable to the crowds.
“The Kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed
that a person took and sowed in a field.
It is the smallest of all the seeds,
yet when full-grown it is the largest of plants.
It becomes a large bush,
and the ‘birds of the sky come and dwell in its branches.'”

He spoke to them another parable.
“The Kingdom of heaven is like yeast
that a woman took and mixed with three measures of wheat flour
until the whole batch was leavened.”

All these things Jesus spoke to the crowds in parables.
He spoke to them only in parables,
to fulfill what had been said through the prophet:

I will open my mouth in parables,
I will announce what has lain hidden from the foundation
of the world.

====================

Yesterday we heard the story of the feeding of the multitude.  Jesus took the simple offering of bread and fish from the young boy and multiplied the gifts to feed thousands.

Today Jesus tells us that the Kingdom of heaven is like a tiny mustard seed.  It becomes one of the largest plants when sowed in a fertile field.  When we have a little bit of faith we can move mountains.  Jesus also tells us that the Kingdom of heaven is like yeast.  A little yeast makes the dough expand and grow to abundance.

This gives me great comfort to know that the Lord can do great things with our simple offerings.  Jesus tries to tell us that we don’t have to do this on our own.  We don’t have to do miraculous things on our own.  When we try to do things on our own, it can be exhausting.  But when we give everything to the Lord and work with Him, miracles can happen.

Jesus simply invites us to trust Him like a little child.  He invites us to offer our gifts, gifts that He has already given to us, back to Him so that He can abundantly bless them.  Alone we can do nothing.  But with the Lord, all things are possible. 

Am I selfish with my gifts and talents?

Do I wait for others to do the work of the Lord while I stand by idly?

Am I afraid to fail because I try to do things on my own?

Or am I generous with the gifs God has given me?

Do I offer my gifts to the service of the Lord like the little boy who gave 5 loaves and 2 fish?

Do I invite the Lord into my daily endeavors so that together we can do anything?

Lord Jesus, you love us more than we can imagine.  You desire an intimate relationship with us while we are on earth and you desire salvation for each one of us.  However, we pull back and try to do things our way.  Our pride and selfishness get in the way of your plan.  Help us to trust in you, that you will multiply anything that we offer You.  Help me to be generous, giving and trusting.

Have a blessed day,

Fr. Burke

To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column.  Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.


Leave a Reply

Categories

