Posted by: frburke23 | August 21, 2015

Thought for Friday, 20th Week in Ordinary Time

Ruth 1:1, 3-6, 14b-16, 22

Once in the time of the judges there was a famine in the land;
so a man from Bethlehem of Judah
departed with his wife and two sons
to reside on the plateau of Moab.
Elimelech, the husband of Naomi, died,
and she was left with her two sons, who married Moabite women,
one named Orpah, the other Ruth.
When they had lived there about ten years,
both Mahlon and Chilion died also,
and the woman was left with neither her two sons nor her husband.
She then made ready to go back from the plateau of Moab
because word reached her there
that the LORD had visited his people and given them food.

Orpah kissed her mother-in-law good-bye, but Ruth stayed with her.

Naomi said, “See now!
Your sister-in-law has gone back to her people and her god.
Go back after your sister-in-law!”
But Ruth said, “Do not ask me to abandon or forsake you!
For wherever you go, I will go, wherever you lodge I will lodge,
your people shall be my people, and your God my God.”

Thus it was that Naomi returned
with the Moabite daughter-in-law, Ruth,
who accompanied her back from the plateau of Moab.
They arrived in Bethlehem at the beginning of the barley harvest.

======================================================

Today we have a wonderful reading from the book of Ruth about the friendship between a mother-in-law (Naomi) and daughter-in-law (Ruth).  Naomi’s husband died and she was left with two sons.  Both of her sons married Moabite women, Orpah and Ruth.  When both of her sons died, Naomi decided to go back to her home of Bethlehem and she asked her daughters-in-law to return to their home town as well.  Orpah returned to her homeland, but Ruth decided to stay with her mother-in-law.

I love Ruth’s words to Naomi.  You can hear the tenderness and love that she has for her mother-in-law:

“Do not ask me to abandon or forsake you!  For wherever you go, I will go, wherever you lodge I will lodge, your people shall be my people, and your God my God.”

Ruth was willing to give up her homeland, her family and her religion for this wonderful friend that she had found in Naomi.  Friendship is a powerful way to evangelize.  Jesus chose twelve men, befriended them, and then brought them to the Father.  It reminds me of other wonderful friendships in Scripture like David and Jonathan, Jesus and John, etc.  In Sirach 6:14 we read:

“Faithful friends are a sturdy shelter; whoever finds one finds a treasure.”

This topic of friendship is very important to me because I think finding a true friend is the closest experience we will have to God here on earth.  One of our deepest desires is to be known and to know another person, to be loved and to love.  When you find someone that you can open your heart and soul to, and you are not judged, but loved and accepted, you have found a treasure, a true friend.  This gives us a glimpse of God.

I have been blessed in my life to find treasures in my friends.  God has placed friends in my life just when I needed them.  They often have traits that I don’t have but I want to develop.  The often have a deep faith and point me toward greater holiness.  They inspire me to be a better person, a better man and a better priest.

Making true friends is not easy today.  There is a risk in being vulnerable, in sharing personal things about oneself.  I usually start by sharing small things with someone.  If I find that they are trustworthy, I start sharing more personal things.  And when I find that I can confide anything to them, I share my heart completely.  I believe that we need at least one person in this world, besides God, with whom we can be completely transparent.  These friends are a blessing from God.

Have I found a treasure in a true friend?

Which friends has God placed in my path along this journey?

What keeps me from being a faithful friend?

Thank God today for your friends.  These friends give us a glimpse of God’s unconditional love.  Jesus wants to have a deep friendship with us as well.

Make a friend, be a friend and bring that friend to Christ.

Have a blessed day,

Fr. Burke

Spanish translation: 

RUT 1:1, 3-6, 14B-16, 22
En tiempo de los jueces, hubo hambre en el país de Judá y un hombre de Belén, llamado Elimélek, se fue a residir con Noemí, su esposa, y sus dos hijos a la región de Moab.

Murió Elimélek, y Noemí se quedó sola con sus dos hijos. Estos se casaron con dos mujeres moabitas: una se llamaba Orpá y la otra, Rut. Vivieron ahí unos diez años y murieron también los hijos de Noemí, Malón y Kilión, y ella se quedó sin hijos y sin esposo.

Entonces decidió abandonar los campos de Moab y regresar al país de Judá con sus dos nueras, porque oyó decir que el Señor había favorecido al pueblo y le daba buenas cosechas. Se pusieron, pues, en camino, para volver a la tierra de Judá. Entonces Noemí dijo a sus dos nueras: “Vuélvase cada una a casa de su madre. Que el Señor tenga piedad de ustedes, como ustedes la han tenido con mis hijos y conmigo”.

Ellas rompieron a llorar y Orpá besó a su suegra, Noemí, y se volvió a su pueblo; pero Rut se quedó con su suegra. Entonces Noemí le dijo a Rut: “Tu concuña se ha vuelto a su pueblo y a sus dioses; vuélvete tú también con ella”. Pero Rut respondió: “No insistas en que te abandone y me vaya, porque a donde tú vayas, iré yo; donde tú vivas, viviré yo; tu pueblo será mi pueblo y tu Dios será mi Dios”.

Así fue como Noemí, con su nuera Rut, la moabita, regresó de los campos de Moab y llegó con ella a Belén, al comienzo de la cosecha de la cebada.

________________________________________________________

Hoy tenemos una   maravillosa   lectura   del libro de   Rut   sobre la amistad entre   una suegra (Noemí) y su nuera (Rut). El marido de Noemí murió y ella se quedó con dos hijos. Sus dos hijos se casaron con mujeres moabitas, Orpa y Rut. Cuando sus dos hijos murieron, Noemí decidió regresar a su casa de Belén y les preguntó a sus nueras que volvieran a su ciudad natal también. Orpa volvió a su tierra natal, pero Rut decidió quedarse con su suegra.

Me   encantan las palabras   de Rut  para Noemí . Puedes escuchar la ternura y el amor que le tiene a su suegra:

“¡ No me pidas que te abandone o te desampare! Por donde quiera que vayas, yo iré, donde tú te alojes, me alojare, tu pueblo será mi pueblo, y tu Dios será mi Dios.”

Rut   estaba dispuesta a   renunciar a su   patria, su familia y su religión por esta maravillosa   amiga   que había encontrado   en   Noemí . La amistad es una manera poderosa de evangelizar. Jesús escogió a doce hombres, se hizo amigo de ellos, y luego los llevó al Padre. Me recuerda a otras amistades maravillosas en la Escritura como David y Jonathan, Jesús y Juan, etc. En Eclesiástico 6:14 leemos:

 Amigos  fieles son un refugio seguro, y el que se encuentra uno se encuentra un tesoro.”

Este tema   de la amistad es   muy importante para mí , porque creo que al encontrar un verdadero amigo es la experiencia más cercana a Dios que tendremos aquí en la tierra. Uno de nuestros más profundos deseos es ser conocido y conocer a otra persona, de amar y ser amado. Cuando encuentres a alguien con quien puedes abrir tu corazón y alma, y no eres juzgado, sino amado y aceptado, has encontrado un tesoro, un verdadero amigo. Esto nos da una idea de Dios.

He sido bendecido en mi vida al encontrar tesoros en mis amigos. Dios ha puesto amigos en mi vida justo cuando los necesitaba. A menudo tienen características que yo no tengo pero quiero desarrollar. A menudo tienen una fe profunda y me apuntan hacia una mayor santidad. Ellos me inspiran a ser una mejor persona, un mejor hombre y un mejor sacerdote.

Hacer   amigos de confianza   no es   fácil hoy en día. Existe el riesgo de ser vulnerables, en compartir cosas personales de uno mismo. Yo suelo empezar por compartir pequeñas cosas con alguien. Si veo que son dignos de confianza, comienzo a compartir  más cosas personales. Y cuando veo que puedo confiar cualquier cosa en ellos, comparto mi corazón completamente. Creo que necesitamos al menos una persona en este mundo, además de Dios, con el cual podemos ser completamente transparentes. Estos amigos son una bendición de Dios.

¿He encontrado un tesoro en un verdadero amigo?
¿Qué amigos ha puesto Dios en mi camino a lo largo de este viaje?
¿Qué me impide ser un amigo fiel?

Agradece hoy a Dios por tus amigos. Estos amigos nos dan una idea del amor incondicional de Dios. Jesús quiere tener una amistad profunda con nosotros también.

Haz un amigo, se un amigo y trae ese amigo a Cristo.

Tengan un día bendecido,

Padre Burke


Responses

  1. I had some if the dearest friends anyone could have! My mother was number one. Unfortunately, my mother and several of my best friends have died and others have moved away. Making dear friends at an older age is not as easy as it was some time ago. I do rejoice in the fact that my daughters and granddaughter have allowed me to be their ‘Bud’! I love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

