Posted by: frburke23 | November 3, 2015

Thought for Tuesday, 31st Week in Ordinary Time

LUKE 14:15-24

One of those at table with Jesus said to him,
“Blessed is the one who will dine in the Kingdom of God.”
He replied to him,
“A man gave a great dinner to which he invited many.
When the time for the dinner came,
he dispatched his servant to say to those invited,
‘Come, everything is now ready.’
But one by one, they all began to excuse themselves.
The first said to him,
‘I have purchased a field and must go to examine it;
I ask you, consider me excused.’
And another said, ‘I have purchased five yoke of oxen
and am on my way to evaluate them;
I ask you, consider me excused.’
And another said, ‘I have just married a woman,
and therefore I cannot come.’
The servant went and reported this to his master.
Then the master of the house in a rage commanded his servant,
‘Go out quickly into the streets and alleys of the town
and bring in here the poor and the crippled, the blind and the lame.’
The servant reported, ‘Sir, your orders have been carried out
and still there is room.’
The master then ordered the servant,
‘Go out to the highways and hedgerows
and make people come in that my home may be filled.
For, I tell you, none of those men who were invited will taste my dinner.'”
=================================
Jesus begins to share this parable about inviting guests to a dinner party. One by one those who were invited began to excuse themselves from the dinner party. They had many different excuses. When the host learned that many people refused the invitation, he told the servants to go into the “streets and alleys of the town” to invite the poor, crippled, blind and the lame to the dinner. He wanted his house to be full.

The imagery is clear that Jesus is the host and is inviting everyone to the heavenly banquet. You and I are invited to this heavenly banquet. We hold the invitation in our hands and it is up to us to RSVP. Do I delay my reply to see if a better offer comes my way? Do I make excuses in order to not respond to the Lord’s invitation?

I’m too busy. I will get back to you later.
I want to be there, but I’m having too much fun doing things my own way to be present in person.
I don’t think this invitation sounds like much fun.
I have too many sporting events on my calendar to make this a priority in my life.

Have you RSVP’d to the Lord’s invitation?
Have you given your heart completely to the Lord?
What is holding you back from saying YES?

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

Here is the Spanish translation:

LUCAS 14:15-24
Una de las personas sentada en la mesa con Jesús le dijo,
“Bendito es el que va a comer en el Reino de Dios.”
Él le respondió,
“Un hombre dio una gran cena a la que invitó a muchos.
Cuando la hora de la cena llegó,
envió a su siervo a decir a los invitados,
‘Vengan, ya todo está listo.”
Pero uno por uno, todos ellos comenzaron a excusarse.
El primero le dijo,
“He comprado un campo y tengo que ir a examinarlo;
Te pido, me disculpes.’
Y otro dijo, “He comprado cinco yuntas de bueyes
y estoy en camino para evaluarlos;
Te pido, me disculpes.
Y otro dijo, “Acabo de casarme,
y por lo tanto no puedo venir. ”
El siervo fue e informó de esto a su amo.
Entonces el dueño de la casa lleno rabia ordenó a su siervo,
“Ve pronto por las calles y callejones de la ciudad
y trae acá a los pobres y los lisiados, los ciegos y los cojos. ‘
El siervo informó, “Señor, sus órdenes se han llevado a cabo
y todavía hay lugar. ”
El dueño luego ordenó al siervo,
‘Ve por los caminos y cercas
y has que la gente venga para que mi casa se llene.
Porque les digo, ninguno de aquellos hombres que fueron invitados probará mi cena. “”
________________________________
Jesús comienza a compartir esta parábola acerca de invitar a convidados a una fiesta de cena. Uno a uno, aquellos que fueron invitados comenzó a excusarse de la cena. Tenían muchas excusas diferentes. Cuando el anfitrión se enteró que mucha gente rechazó la invitación, dijo a los sirvientes que fueran alas “calles y callejones de la ciudad” para invitar a los pobres, lisiados, ciegos y cojos a la cena. Él quería que su casa estuviera llena.

La imaginería es clara que Jesús es el anfitrión y está invitando a todos al banquete celestial. Tú y yo estamos invitados a este banquete celestial. Tenemos la invitación en nuestras manos y depende de nosotros confirmar nuestra asistencia/RSVP. ¿Retraso mi respuesta para ver si una mejor oferta viene a mí? ¿Hago excusas con el fin de no responder a la invitación del Señor?

Estoy demasiado ocupado. Me pondré en contacto con usted más tarde.
Quiero estar ahí, pero me estoy divirtiendo mucho haciendo las cosas a mi manera para estar presente en persona.
No creo que esta invitación suena muy divertida.
Tengo demasiados eventos deportivos en mi calendario para hacer de esto una prioridad en mi vida.

¿Has confirmado tu asistencia a la invitación del señor?
¿Le has dado tu corazón completamente al señor?
¿Qué te está deteniendo de decir SI?

¡Tengan un día bendecido!
Fr. Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

