Posted by: frburke23 | November 22, 2015

Thought for Sunday – Feast of Christ the King

JOHN 18:33B-37

Pilate said to Jesus,
“Are you the King of the Jews?”
Jesus answered, “Do you say this on your own
or have others told you about me?”
Pilate answered, “I am not a Jew, am I?
Your own nation and the chief priests handed you over to me.
What have you done?”
Jesus answered, “My kingdom does not belong to this world.
If my kingdom did belong to this world,
my attendants would be fighting
to keep me from being handed over to the Jews.
But as it is, my kingdom is not here.”
So Pilate said to him, “Then you are a king?”
Jesus answered, “You say I am a king.
For this I was born and for this I came into the world,
to testify to the truth.
Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice.”
======================================
This weekend we celebrate Christ the King. It is the last week of the liturgical year before we begin Advent next Sunday. It is one of the most important feast days of the year after Christmas and Easter because it summarizes Christ’s mission.

King David was promised that one of his descendants would reign forever, so Israel was on the lookout for this Messiah, the anointed one. They expected a king that would come as a powerful ruler to dominate their foes.

When Jesus came He fulfilled all of the prophecies of the Messiah. One of titles given to Jesus was “Son of David”. However, Jesus came not as a powerful ruler but as a sinless lamb. People looked up to Him on His throne, but they didn’t realize it would be a cross. His crown was made of thorns. He came to suffer. They put a sign above His head that read in three languages “King of the Jews”. Little did they realize they were killing the “King of the Universe”.

He may not have come as a powerful ruler, but His power overcame the fiercest enemy, that of death itself. By taking on our flesh, Jesus took our sins with Him to the cross and opened the Kingdom of Heaven for all who believed in Him. He did not come to lord His power over us. He came as a humble, suffering servant.

And yet, when we pledge to Him our obedience we find true freedom. We are not slaves or servants, but He calls us “friends”. When we follow this King faithfully, He invites us into His Kingdom and gives us a peace and joy beyond understanding. And oh, by the way, we will have to suffer with Him on this journey. He told us to pick up our crosses and follow Him, but we are never alone on this journey.

Have I pledged my obedience to his King?
Do I allow Jesus to be king of my mind, my heart, my eyes, my mouth – my whole being?
Am I willing to suffer with my King?

He will give you the crown of eternal glory if you are willing to follow Him faithfully.

Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke


Responses

  1. Thank you Fr. Burke for the wonderful meditations throughout the year.

    Have a Blessed Thanksgiving! Virginia and Mike Butz

    Sent from my iPhone VButz

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

