Posted by: frburke23 | December 3, 2015

Thought for December 3 – St. Francis Xavier

MATTHEW 7:21, 24-27
Jesus said to his disciples:
“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’
will enter the Kingdom of heaven,
but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven.

“Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them
will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.
The rain fell, the floods came,
and the winds blew and buffeted the house.
But it did not collapse; it had been set solidly on rock.
And everyone who listens to these words of mine
but does not act on them
will be like a fool who built his house on sand.
The rain fell, the floods came,
and the winds blew and buffeted the house.
And it collapsed and was completely ruined.”
=========================
Today is the feast day of St. Francis Xavier, the patron saint of the Diocese of Joliet. He lived in the 16th century and was one of the founding fathers of the Society of Jesus or the “Jesuits”. With great missionary zeal he evangelized the Indies and Japan. Some consider him the greatest evangelist since St. Paul. He would go into an area and learn the language and culture and then teach them about Jesus. May the missionary zeal of St. Francis Xavier inspire each of us to radically give ourselves to the Lord.

If the Lord were to come for you today, how would you respond? Would you be crying out, “Lord, Lord”? Will the Lord recognize you? Will you be able to say, “Lord, I listened to your words and put them into action the best that I could”? Or will you have many regrets, realizing that you wasted much of your time on things that really do not matter in the long run?

Once again, Jesus is teaching His disciples the importance of putting our faith into action. “Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.” This means that two things need to happen in our lives:

1) We need to know Jesus’ words. Am I spending time daily in the Word of God? Do I feed my mind with Jesus’ words, especially in the Gospels?
2) We need to put these words into action. Do I pray for inspiration by the Holy Spirit each day? Where do you want me to serve you today, Lord? Do I love God and my neighbor generously? Do I go through the motions relegating my faith to maybe one hour a week on Sunday? Or does my faith inform my every thought, word and action?

Lord help me to know you intimately. Give me the desire to know your Word. Help me to fall in love with you so that my every thought honors you, my every word praises you and my every action spreads your love and mercy. Help me to make this Advent a time of daily conversion of heart, mind and soul.

God bless!
Fr. Burke
To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.

Spanish translation:

MATEO 7:21, 24-27
En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a sus discípulos: “No todo el que me diga: ‘¡Señor, Señor!’, entrará en el Reino de los cielos, sino el que cumpla la voluntad de mi Padre, que está en los cielos.

El que escucha estas palabras mías y las pone en práctica, se parece a un hombre prudente, que edificó su casa sobre roca. Vino la lluvia, bajaron las crecientes, se desataron los vientos y dieron contra aquella casa; pero no se cayó, porque estaba construida sobre roca.

El que escucha estas palabras mías y no las pone en práctica, se parece a un hombre imprudente, que edificó su casa sobre arena. Vino la lluvia, bajaron las crecientes, se desataron los vientos, dieron contra aquella casa y la arrasaron completamente”.
=================================
Hoy es el día de la fiesta de San Francisco Javier, el santo patrono de la Diócesis de Joliet. Él vivió en el siglo 16 y fue uno de los padres fundadores de la Compañía de Jesús o los “Jesuitas”. Con gran celo misionero evangelizó las Indias y Japón. Algunos lo consideran el más grande evangelista desde San Pablo. Se iba a una zona y aprendía el idioma y la cultura y luego les enseñaba acerca de Jesús. Que el celo misionero de San Francisco Javier nos inspire a cada uno de nosotros para entregarnos radicalmente al Señor.

Si el Señor viniera hoy por ti, ¿cómo responderías? ¿Estarías clamando: “Señor, Señor”? ¿El Señor te reconocerá? ¿Podrás decir: “Señor, yo escuche tus palabras y las puse en práctica lo mejor que pude”? ¿O vas a tener muchos remordimientos, dándote cuenta de que perdiste gran parte de tu tiempo en cosas que realmente no tienen importancia a largo plazo?

Una vez más, Jesús enseña a Sus discípulos la importancia de poner nuestra fe en práctica. “El que escucha estas palabras mías y las pone en práctica, se parece a un hombre prudente que edificó su casa sobre roca.” Esto significa que dos cosas tienen que suceder en nuestras vidas:

1) Necesitamos saber las palabras de Jesús. ¿Estoy pasando tiempo diariamente en la Palabra de Dios? ¿Alimento mi mente con las palabras de Jesús, especialmente en los Evangelios?

2) Necesitamos poner estas palabras en práctica. ¿Rezo cada día en busca de inspiración por el Espíritu Santo? ¿Dónde quieres que te sirva hoy, Señor? ¿Amo a Dios y a mi prójimo generosamente? ¿Voy a través de las mociones relegando mi fe a quizá una hora a la semana el domingo? ¿O mi fe informa a cada uno de mis pensamientos, palabras y acciones?

Señor ayúdame a conocerte íntimamente. Dame el deseo de conocer tu Palabra. Ayúdame a enamorarme de ti para que cada uno de mis pensamientos te honre, cada una de mis palabras te alabe y cada una de mis acciones propague tu amor y misericordia. Ayúdame a hacer de este Adviento un tiempo de conversión diaria de corazón, mente y alma.

¡Dios te bendiga!
Padre Burke
Para suscribirse, vaya a https://frburke23.wordpress.com y vaya a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” /“inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

