Posted by: frburke23 | January 26, 2016

Thought for Wednesday, 3rd Week in Ordinary Time

2 SAMUEL 7:4-17
That night the LORD spoke to Nathan and said:
“Go, tell my servant David, ‘Thus says the LORD:
Should you build me a house to dwell in?
I have not dwelt in a house
from the day on which I led the children of Israel
out of Egypt to the present,
but I have been going about in a tent under cloth.
In all my wanderings everywhere among the children of Israel,
did I ever utter a word to any one of the judges
whom I charged to tend my people Israel, to ask:
Why have you not built me a house of cedar?’

“Now then, speak thus to my servant David,
‘The LORD of hosts has this to say:
It was I who took you from the pasture
and from the care of the flock
to be commander of my people Israel.
I have been with you wherever you went,
and I have destroyed all your enemies before you.
And I will make you famous like the great ones of the earth.
I will fix a place for my people Israel;
I will plant them so that they may dwell in their place
without further disturbance.
Neither shall the wicked continue to afflict them as they did of old,
since the time I first appointed judges over my people Israel.
I will give you rest from all your enemies.
The LORD also reveals to you that he will establish a house for you.
And when your time comes and you rest with your ancestors,
I will raise up your heir after you, sprung from your loins,
and I will make his Kingdom firm.
It is he who shall build a house for my name.
And I will make his royal throne firm forever.
I will be a father to him,
and he shall be a son to me.
And if he does wrong,
I will correct him with the rod of men
and with human chastisements;
but I will not withdraw my favor from him
as I withdrew it from your predecessor Saul,
whom I removed from my presence.
Your house and your kingdom shall endure forever before me;
your throne shall stand firm forever.’”

Nathan reported all these words and this entire vision to David.
——————————————————————————
I found these words of God to David through the prophet Nathan to be very comforting:

I will be a father to him,
and he shall be a son to me.
And if he does wrong,
I will correct him with the rod of men
and with human chastisements;
but I will not withdraw my favor from him
as I withdrew it from your predecessor Saul,
whom I removed from my presence.
Your house and your kingdom shall endure forever before me;
your throne shall stand firm forever.

God is our father, Abba (daddy). We are His beloved children. He loves us and desires only the good for us. God asks us to be faithful to Him as parents want their children to be obedient to them. Usually parents know what is best for their children and they give them rules because they love them. God always knows what is best and He gives us rules, boundaries and commandments because He loves us and wants to protect us from danger.

And yet, we still sin. We become selfish and do our own thing. We forget that God made us in His image and likeness. We seek power, pleasure, honor and money at the expense of seeking God. God lays out the boundaries and tells us that if we stay faithful, He can protect us. If we go outside the boundaries, we bring the consequence upon ourselves. I don’t believe God is waiting to punish us; we punish ourselves with our sinful actions.

Finally, I love the promise God makes to David that “I will not withdraw my favor from him….” God promises to be with us until the end of time. He will never leave us. Sometimes we choose to leave Him, but God is always faithful. God is always loving.

Do I see myself as a beloved son / daughter of God?
In which areas of my life do I get selfish and turn away from God?
Do I believe that God will be with me until the end of time?

Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke

SPANISH TRANSLATION

2 SAMUEL 7:4-17
Esa noche, el SEÑOR le habló a Natán y dijo:
“Ve, dile a mi siervo David, “Así dice el SEÑOR:
¿Debes edificarme una casa para habitar?
No he habitado en una casa
desde el día en que guie a los hijos de Israel
fuera de Egipto hasta la actualidad,
pero he estado yendo en una carpa bajo tela.
En todos mis viajes a todas partes entre los hijos de Israel,
Alguna vez pronuncie una palabra a algunos de los jueces
a quien encargué para cuidar a mi pueblo Israel, para preguntar:
¿Por qué no me han edificado una casa de cedro?’
“Ahora bien, habla así a mi siervo David,
‘El SEÑOR de los ejércitos tiene esto que decir:
Fui yo quien te sacó de la pastura
y del cuidado del rebaño
para ser comandante de mi pueblo Israel.
Yo he estado contigo dondequiera que fuiste,
y yo he destruido a todos tus enemigos delante de ti.
Y te haré famoso como a los grandes de la tierra.
Fijaré un lugar para mi pueblo Israel;
Los plantaré de modo que puedan habitar en su lugar
sin más perturbación.
Ni los impíos continuarán afligiéndolos como lo hicieron en la antigüedad,
desde el momento en que primero nombre a jueces sobre mi pueblo Israel.
Yo te daré descanso de todos tus enemigos.
El SEÑOR también te revela que él establecerá una casa para ti.
Y cuando tu hora llegue y descanses con tus antepasados,
Yo levantaré tu heredero después de ti, surgido de tus entrañas,
y haré su reino firme.
Él es el que edificará una casa en mi nombre.
Y haré que su trono real firme para siempre.
Seré un padre para él,
y él será un hijo para mí.
Y si hace mal,
Yo lo castigaré con la vara de hombres,
y con castigos humanos;
pero no voy a retirar mi favor de él
como lo retiré de tu predecesor Saúl,
al cual quité de mi presencia.
Tu casa y tu reino permanecerán para siempre delante de mí;
tu trono permanecerá por siempre.”
Natán le comunicó todas estas palabras y toda esta visión a David.
==================================
Encontré estas palabras de Dios a David por medio del profeta Natán muy reconfortantes:

Seré un padre para él,
y él será un hijo para mí.
Y si hace mal,
Yo lo castigaré con la vara de hombres,
y con castigos humanos;
pero no voy a retirar mi favor de él
como lo retiré de tu predecesor Saúl,
al cual quité de mi presencia.
Tu casa y tu reino permanecerán para siempre delante de mí;
tu trono permanecerá por siempre.

Dios es nuestro Padre, Abba (papi). Somos sus hijos amados. Él nos ama y desea sólo el bien para nosotros. Dios nos pide que seamos fieles a Él así como los padres quieren que sus hijos sean obedientes con ellos. Por lo general, los padres saben qué es lo mejor para sus hijos y les dan reglas porque los aman. Dios siempre sabe qué es lo mejor y nos da reglas, límites y los mandamientos porque nos ama y nos quiere proteger del peligro.

Y, sin embargo, todavía pecamos. Nos volvemos egoístas y hacemos nuestras propias cosas. Nos olvidamos de que Dios nos hizo a su imagen y semejanza. Buscamos poder, placer, honor y dinero a costa de buscar a Dios. Dios establece los límites y nos dice que si nos mantenemos fieles, Él puede protegernos. Si nos vamos fuera de los límites, traemos la consecuencia sobre nosotros mismos. No creo que Dios está esperando para castigarnos, nos castigamos a nosotros mismos con nuestras acciones pecaminosas.

Por último, me encanta la promesa que Dios le hace a David que “no voy a retirar mi favor de él….” Dios nos promete estar con nosotros hasta el fin de los tiempos. Él nunca nos dejará. A veces nosotros escogemos dejarlo, pero Dios es siempre fiel. Dios siempre es amoroso.

¿Me veo como un hijo amado / hija de Dios?
¿En qué áreas de mi vida soy egoísta y me alejo de Dios?
¿Creo que Dios estará conmigo hasta el fin de los tiempos?

¡Tengan un día bendecido!
Fr. Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

