Posted by: frburke23 | March 10, 2016

Thought for Thursday, 4th Week of Lent

John 5:31-47

Jesus said to the Jews:
“If I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is not true.
But there is another who testifies on my behalf,
and I know that the testimony he gives on my behalf is true.
You sent emissaries to John, and he testified to the truth.
I do not accept human testimony,
but I say this so that you may be saved.
He was a burning and shining lamp,
and for a while you were content to rejoice in his light.
But I have testimony greater than John’s.
The works that the Father gave me to accomplish,
these works that I perform testify on my behalf
that the Father has sent me.
Moreover, the Father who sent me has testified on my behalf.
But you have never heard his voice nor seen his form,
and you do not have his word remaining in you,
because you do not believe in the one whom he has sent.
You search the Scriptures,
because you think you have eternal life through them;
even they testify on my behalf.
But you do not want to come to me to have life.

“I do not accept human praise;
moreover, I know that you do not have the love of God in you.
I came in the name of my Father,
but you do not accept me;
yet if another comes in his own name,
you will accept him.
How can you believe, when you accept praise from one another
and do not seek the praise that comes from the only God?
Do not think that I will accuse you before the Father:
the one who will accuse you is Moses,
in whom you have placed your hope.
For if you had believed Moses,
you would have believed me,
because he wrote about me.
But if you do not believe his writings,
how will you believe my words?”
_____________________________

As we move closer to Holy Week in our spiritual spring training we ask ourselves the questions, “Whom do I serve?  Do I serve myself, others or God?”

Jesus is frustrated with the people at this point in the Gospel of John.  They do not understand that He truly is the Son of God, who has come in the name of the Father.  They are more likely to listen to other human beings than to listen to Jesus.   Jesus then says, “How can you believe, when you accept praise from one another and do not seek the praise that comes from the only God?”

Do I seek the praise of others or the praise of the only God?  This is a trap of the evil one – to seek the praise of others instead of God.  This has always been a challenge for me because I like people to like me.  But I have come to realize that my identity was not based in God.  I was basing my identity on what others thought of me, and that is a slippery slope because we cannot please everyone.  The more I become grounded in my identity as a beloved son of God, the less I worry about what others think of me.  As long as I am following the will of God at each moment of my life I have nothing to fear.

And when we base our identity on what others think of us, fear is often the motivator.  But Jesus wants our motivator to be Him and His love.  Remember “perfect love drives out all fear”.

What motivates me to act?

Am I trying to seek the approval of others?

Or do I seek to be holy as my heavenly Father is holy?

 

In today’s first reading from Exodus, the people who await Moses to come down the mountain create the golden calf to worship.  I wonder how many people participated in worshiping the golden calf only because the others were doing it.  Some of them probably got caught up in the excitement and before they knew it, they were sinning terribly.  In their desire to please others, they committed the terrible sin of idol worship.  They placed a golden calf  before God.

We do this at times also.  Instead of just seeking the praise of God and doing what we know is right, we sell ourselves short by following the crowd. 

When you are in a group that is gossiping or talking bad about someone else, do you stand up for the person who is not there, join in the gossip, or do you remain silent? 

When no one is looking, do you do the right thing, or do you cheat, lie or steal, thinking “no one will ever know”? 

Is holiness your ultimate goal?

Do you only seek to please God alone?

We are presented with decisions throughout our day.  We can choose God and things of God, or we can choose to move away from God.  For example, when I have free time where do my thoughts go?  Do I think holy thoughts?  Our future actions begin with our thought processes.  When I speak, do I build up the Lord and my neighbor?  Or do tear down others with my words?  And when I act, do people know that I am a disciple of Jesus by what I do?  Or do my actions betray my profession of faith?

Who am I trying to please?  God, myself or others?

Have a blessed day!

Fr. Burke  

Spanish translation:

Juan 5:31-47

En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a los judíos: “Si yo diera testimonio de mí, mi testimonio no tendría valor; otro es el que da testimonio de mí y yo bien sé que ese testimonio que da de mí, es válido.

Ustedes enviaron mensajeros a Juan el Bautista y él dio testimonio de la verdad. No es que yo quiera apoyarme en el testimonio de un hombre. Si digo esto, es para que ustedes se salven. Juan era la lámpara que ardía y brillaba, y ustedes quisieron alegrarse un instante con su luz. Pero yo tengo un testimonio mejor que el de Juan: las obras que el Padre me ha concedido realizar y que son las que yo hago, dan testimonio de mí y me acreditan como enviado del Padre.

El Padre, que me envió, ha dado testimonio de mí. Ustedes nunca han escuchado su voz ni han visto su rostro, y su palabra no habita en ustedes, porque no le creen al que él ha enviado.

Ustedes estudian las Escrituras pensando encontrar en ellas vida eterna; pues bien, ellas son las que dan testimonio de mí. ¡Y ustedes no quieren venir a mí para tener vida! Yo no busco la gloria que viene de los hombres; es que los conozco y sé que el amor de Dios no está en ellos. Yo he venido en nombre de mi Padre y ustedes no me han recibido. Si otro viniera en nombre propio, a ése sí lo recibirían. ¿Cómo va a ser posible que crean ustedes, que aspiran a recibir gloria los unos de los otros y no buscan la gloria que sólo viene de Dios?

No piensen que yo los voy a acusar ante el Padre; ya hay alguien que los acusa: Moisés, en quien ustedes tienen su esperanza. Si creyeran en Moisés, me creerían a mí, porque él escribió acerca de mí. Pero, si no dan fe a sus escritos, ¿cómo darán fe a mis palabras?”

=========================

A medida que nos acercamos a la Semana Santa en nuestro entrenamiento espiritual de primavera nos hacemos las preguntas, “¿A quién sirvo? ¿Me sirvo a mí mismo, a otros o a Dios?”

Jesús esta frustrado con la gente en este momento en el Evangelio de Juan. Ellos no entienden que Él es verdaderamente el Hijo de Dios, quien ha venido en el nombre del Padre. Es más probable que ellos escuchen a otros seres humanos a que escuchen a Jesús. Entonces Jesús dice: “¿Cómo va a ser posible que crean ustedes, que aspiran a recibir gloria los unos de los otros y no buscan la gloria que sólo viene de Dios?”

¿Busco la gloria de los demás o la gloria del único Dios? Esta es una trampa del maligno – de buscar la gloria de los demás en lugar de Dios. Esto siempre ha sido un reto para mí porque me gusta que la gente me quiera. Pero me he dado cuenta de que mi identidad no se basó en Dios. Yo estaba basando mi identidad en lo que otros pensaban de mí, y esa es una ladera resbaladiza porque no podemos complacer a todos. Cuanto más estoy cimentado en mi identidad como un hijo amado de Dios, cuanto menos me preocupa lo que los demás piensen de mí. Siempre y cuando este siguiendo la voluntad de Dios en cada momento de mi vida no tengo nada que temer.

Y cuando basamos nuestra identidad en lo que otros piensan de nosotros, a menudo el miedo es el motivador. Pero Jesús quiere que nuestro motivador sea Él y Su amor. Recuerda que “el amor perfecto expulsa todo temor”.

¿Qué me motiva a actuar?
¿Estoy tratando de buscar la aprobación de los demás?
¿O busco ser santo como mi Padre celestial es santo?

En la primera lectura de hoy del Éxodo, las personas que esperan a Moisés bajar del monte crean el becerro de oro para adorarlo. Me pregunto cuántas personas participaron en la adoración del becerro de oro sólo porque los demás lo estaban haciendo. Algunos de ellos probablemente quedaron atrapados en la emoción y antes de darse cuenta, estaban pecando terriblemente. En su deseo de complacer a los demás, cometieron el terrible pecado de la adoración de ídolos. Pusieron un becerro de oro delante de Dios.

A veces también hacemos esto. En lugar de simplemente buscar la gloria de Dios y hacer lo que sabemos que es correcto, nos vendemos siguiendo a la multitud.

Cuando estás en un grupo que está chismeando o hablando mal de alguien más, ¿defiendes a la persona que no está allí, te unes al chisme, o permaneces callado?

Cuando nadie está viendo, ¿haces lo correcto, o haces trampa, mientes o robas, pensando “nunca nadie sabrá”?

¿Es la santidad tu meta final?

¿Buscas agradar solo a Dios?

Se nos presentan decisiones a lo largo de nuestro día. Podemos elegir a Dios y las cosas de Dios, o podemos elegir alejarnos de Dios. Por ejemplo, cuando tengo tiempo libre ¿a dónde van mis pensamientos? ¿Tengo pensamientos sagrados? Nuestras acciones futuras comienzan con nuestro proceso de pensamiento. ¿Cuando hablo, construyo al Señor y a mi prójimo? ¿O derribo a los demás con mis palabras? Y cuando actúo, ¿la gente sabe que soy un discípulo de Jesús, por lo que hago? ¿O mis acciones traicionan mi profesión de fe?

¿A quién estoy tratando de complacer? ¿A Dios, a mí mismo o a los demás?

¡Que tengas un día bendecido!

Padre Burke


Leave a Reply

Categories

