Posted by: frburke23 | March 17, 2016

Thought for Thursday, 5th Week of Lent

JOHN 8:51-59
Jesus said to the Jews:
“Amen, amen, I say to you,
whoever keeps my word will never see death.”
So the Jews said to him,
“Now we are sure that you are possessed.
Abraham died, as did the prophets, yet you say,
‘Whoever keeps my word will never taste death.’
Are you greater than our father Abraham, who died?
Or the prophets, who died?
Who do you make yourself out to be?”
Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is worth nothing;
but it is my Father who glorifies me,
of whom you say, ‘He is our God.’
You do not know him, but I know him.
And if I should say that I do not know him,
I would be like you a liar.
But I do know him and I keep his word.
Abraham your father rejoiced to see my day;
he saw it and was glad.”
So the Jews said to him,
“You are not yet fifty years old and you have seen Abraham?”
Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you,
before Abraham came to be, I AM.”
So they picked up stones to throw at him;
but Jesus hid and went out of the temple area.
============================
We will begin Holy Week in just a few days. Our spiritual spring training is reaching its high point. Today we will focus on our call to holiness and giving our lives over to Christ completely. I had many different coaches in my years of playing baseball. Some were better than others. Some inspired me to trust them completely and they always helped me to become a better baseball player. I tried anything they asked me to do to be better. Jesus is asking us to be holy. He is asking us to trust Him so that He can lead us to everlasting life.
 
Jesus tells the listeners that if we keep His word that we will never taste death. Of course, He is talking about the resurrection and eternal life with the Father. Several times in Scripture Jesus tells us that it is of utmost importance to hear the Word of God and put it into practice. So if you want to be holy begin by following the Commandments. This is the minimum requirement.
 
But do we not want to be minimalists? Do you ask God, “What is the least I need to do to get to heaven?” Or do you ask your spouse or best friend, “What is the least I need to do to keep you happy?” Minimalism can kill our drive to be holy, to do something great for the Lord. Sometimes we approach all of our relationships, even with God, with a minimalist approach. Minimalism leaves us empty and wanting. Minimalism causes our lives to lose its flavor.
 
But if we really want a life of abundance, the Lord asks us to give Him everything. “Go sell what you have and give to the poor. Then come follow me.” (Mark 10:21) The Lord wants us to soar like eagles in holiness because that is what leads to true joy, peace and happiness. How often do we barely begin to fly and something from the world draws us back down to earth? How much are we tied to the things of this earth that keep us from trusting in Jesus completely?
 
The skeptics in this Gospel did not want to believe that Jesus was the Son of God. They trusted Abraham, their father in faith. But their hearts were closed to Jesus. There are so many things that work against our faith. There are so many temptations and distractions that make us take our gaze away from Jesus.
 
What keeps you from giving Jesus everything in your life?
Are you soaring like an eagle in holiness?
Or do worldly distractions keep you from giving your life to Christ?
What are the distractions of this world that keep you from trusting Jesus?
 
Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke
To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.
 
Spanish translation:
 
JUAN 8:51-59
En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a los judíos: “Yo les aseguro: el que es fiel a mis palabras no morirá para siempre”.
 
Los judíos le dijeron: “Ahora ya no nos cabe duda de que estás endemoniado. Porque Abraham murió y los profetas también murieron, y tú dices: ‘El que es fiel a mis palabras no morirá para siempre’. ¿Acaso eres tú más que nuestro padre Abraham, el cual murió? Los profetas también murieron. ¿Quién pretendes ser tú?”
 
Contestó Jesús: “Si yo me glorificara a mí mismo, mi gloria no valdría nada. El que me glorifica es mi Padre, aquel de quien ustedes dicen: ‘Es nuestro Dios’, aunque no lo conocen. Yo, en cambio, sí lo conozco; y si dijera que no lo conozco, sería tan mentiroso como ustedes. Pero yo lo conozco y soy fiel a su palabra. Abraham, el padre de ustedes, se regocijaba con el pensamiento de verme; me vio y se alegró por ello”.
 
Los judíos le replicaron: “No tienes ni cincuenta años, ¿y has visto a Abraham?” Les respondió Jesús: “Yo les aseguro que desde antes que naciera Abraham, Yo Soy”.
 
Entonces recogieron piedras para arrojárselas, pero Jesús se ocultó y salió del templo.
========================
Comenzaremos la Semana Santa en tan sólo unos días. Nuestro entrenamiento espiritual de primavera está llegando a su punto alto. Hoy nos enfocaremos en nuestro llamado a la santidad y a darle completamente nuestras vidas a Cristo. Tuve muchos entrenadores distintos en mis años de jugar béisbol. Algunos eran mejores que otros. Algunos me inspiraron a confiar en ellos completamente y siempre me ayudaron a convertirme en un mejor jugador de béisbol. Yo intentaba todo lo que me pedían que hiciera para ser mejor. Jesús nos está pidiendo ser santos. Él nos está pidiendo que confiemos en Él para que nos pueda llevar a la vida eterna.
 
Jesús les dice a los oyentes que si guardamos Su palabra nunca probaremos la muerte. Por supuesto, Él está hablando de la resurrección y la vida eterna con el Padre. Varias veces en la Escritura Jesús nos dice que es de suma importancia escuchar la Palabra de Dios y ponerla en práctica. Así que si quieres ser santo comienza por seguir los Mandamientos. Este es el mínimo requisito.
 
¿Pero no queremos ser minimalistas? Le pides a Dios, “¿Qué es lo mínimo que necesito hacer para llegar al cielo?” O le preguntas a tu cónyuge o mejor amigo, “¿Qué es lo mínimo que necesito hacer para mantenerte feliz?” El minimalismo puede matar nuestro deseo de ser santos, de hacer algo grande para el Señor. A veces nos acercamos a todas nuestras relaciones, incluso con Dios, con un acercamiento minimalista. El minimalismo nos deja vacíos y con ganas. El minimalismo hace que nuestras vidas pierdan su sabor.
 
Pero si realmente queremos una vida de abundancia, el Señor nos pide que le demos todo. “Anda, vende todo lo que tienes y dalo a los pobres. Luego ven y sígueme.” (Marcos 10:21) El Señor quiere que volemos como águilas en la santidad, porque eso es lo que conduce a la verdadera alegría, paz y felicidad. ¿Con qué frecuencia apenas comenzamos a volar y algo del mundo nos lleva de nuevo a la tierra? ¿Cuánto estamos atados a las cosas de esta tierra que no nos permiten confiar completamente en Jesús?
 
Los escépticos en este Evangelio no querían creer que Jesús era el Hijo de Dios. Ellos confiaban en Abraham, su padre en la fe. Pero sus corazones estaban cerrados a Jesús. Hay tantas cosas que trabajan en contra de nuestra fe. Hay tantas tentaciones y distracciones que hacen que quitemos nuestra mirada de Jesús.
 
¿Qué te impide darle a Jesús todo en tu vida?
¿Estás volando como un águila en la santidad?
¿O las distracciones mundanas impiden que le des tu vida a Cristo?
¿Cuáles son las distracciones de este mundo que impiden que confíes en Jesús?
 
¡Que tengas un día bendecido!
Padre Burke
Para suscribirse, vaya a https://frburke23.wordpress.com y vaya a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” / “inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

