Posted by: frburke23 | March 21, 2016

Thought for Monday of Holy Week

JOHN 12:1-11
Six days before Passover Jesus came to Bethany,
where Lazarus was, whom Jesus had raised from the dead.
They gave a dinner for him there, and Martha served,
while Lazarus was one of those reclining at table with him.
Mary took a liter of costly perfumed oil
made from genuine aromatic nard
and anointed the feet of Jesus and dried them with her hair;
the house was filled with the fragrance of the oil.
Then Judas the Iscariot, one of his disciples,
and the one who would betray him, said,
“Why was this oil not sold for three hundred days’ wages
and given to the poor?”
He said this not because he cared about the poor
but because he was a thief and held the money bag
and used to steal the contributions.
So Jesus said, “Leave her alone.
Let her keep this for the day of my burial.
You always have the poor with you, but you do not always have me.”
 
The large crowd of the Jews found out that he was there and came,
not only because of him, but also to see Lazarus,
whom he had raised from the dead.
And the chief priests plotted to kill Lazarus too,
because many of the Jews were turning away
and believing in Jesus because of him.
================================
Coaches always told me, “You are going to get out of this whatever you put into it.” The same is true in our spiritual life as we enter Holy Week and the climax of our spiritual spring training. We cannot expect to be holy just be going through the motions. We have to invest time and energy into this process.
 
There is a sharp contrast in the two characters in this scene – Mary and Judas. Mary used a costly liter of perfumed oil to anoint the feet of Jesus. She dried his feet with her hair. You can imagine the care with which she bathed Jesus’ feet. She was giving Jesus her best – her love, her tenderness, the most expensive oil she had.
 
Judas, on the other hand, could not see Jesus in front of him. He was only concerned about the money that was being “wasted” by Mary on the feet of Jesus. He only saw dollar signs.
 
How does this relate to us today?
 
Do I give Jesus the very best that I have – my time, my money, my talents? I was talking with a friend recently. He put a $20 bill in the collection basket at church and his girlfriend said, “How can you put $20 in the collection? We can use that money for something else.” He responded, “You don’t seem to mind when we go out for drinks and spend $50 and yet you are offended that I want to offer $20 to the Lord?”
 
Do I give Jesus my leftovers or do I give Him my best? I am not saying that this is all about money. Yes, we should return to the Lord 10% of everything that we make. Every dollar we earn is a gift from God because Jesus has given us the ability to work and has allowed us to find a job. Judas only thought selfishly about money. Am I selfish with the financial gifts that God gives me?
 
Do I also give the Lord the best of my time? Do I attend Mass at least every Sunday? Do I spend time in prayer each day thanking God for all that He has given me? Do I give God time only when it is convenient for me?
 
Do I share my talents with God and others? What are the talents that God has given me? Do I use them for the greater glory of God? Am I selfish with my talents? Do I use them only for my benefit? Or do I use them to share the Good News of Jesus Christ? Can you imagine a world in which everyone used the talents for the purpose God intended them to be used.
 
Take time today to reflect on how God has blessed you. Are you being generous in return? We cannot outdo God in generosity! Try to outdo God in generosity and see what happens.
 
Peace,
Fr. Burke
To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.
 
Spanish translation:
 
San Juan 12, 1-11
Seis días antes de la Pascua, fue Jesús a Betania, donde vivía Lázaro, a quien había resucitado de entre los muertos. Allí le ofrecieron una cena; Marta servía y Lázaro era uno de los que estaban con él a la mesa. María tomó entonces una libra de perfume de nardo auténtico, muy costoso, le ungió a Jesús los pies con él y se los enjugó con su cabellera, y la casa se llenó con la fragancia del perfume.
 
Entonces Judas Iscariote, uno de los discípulos, el que iba a entregar a Jesús, exclamó: “¿Por qué no se ha vendido ese perfume en trescientos denarios para dárselos a los pobres?” Esto lo dijo, no porque le importaran los pobres, sino porque era ladrón, y como tenía a su cargo la bolsa, robaba lo que echaban en ella.
 
Entonces dijo Jesús: “Déjala. Esto lo tenía guardado para el día de mi sepultura; porque a los pobres los tendrán siempre con ustedes, pero a mí no siempre me tendrán”.
 
Mientras tanto, la multitud de judíos, que se enteró de que Jesús estaba allí, acudió, no sólo por Jesús, sino también para ver a Lázaro, a quien el Señor había resucitado de entre los muertos. Los sumos sacerdotes deliberaban para matar a Lázaro, porque a causa de él, muchos judíos se separaban y creían en Jesús.
==============================
Los entrenadores siempre me dijeron: “Usted va a obtener de esto lo que usted haya puesto.” La misma verdad se aplica a nuestra vida espiritual al entrar en la Semana Santa y al punto culminante de nuestra formación espiritual en primavera. No podemos esperar que para ser santos simplemente lo vamos a lograr por estar pasando por los caminos de la vida. Tenemos que invertir tiempo y energía en este caminar.
 
Hay un marcado contraste en los dos personajes del evangelio de hoy – María y Judas. María utiliza un litro de aceite perfumado costoso para ungir los pies de Jesús. Ella le secó sus pies con su cabello. Se pueden imaginar con que cuidado le lavaba los pies a Jesús. Ella estaba dando lo mejor que tenía a Jesús: su amor, su ternura, el aceite más caro que poseía.
 
Por otro lado, Judas no podía ver a Jesús delante de él. El sólo se preocupaba por el dinero que estaba siendo “desperdiciado”, por María en los pies de Jesús. El sólo miraba el dinero que desperdisiaba.
 
¿Cómo se relaciona esto con nosotros hoy?
¿Doy a Jesús lo mejor que tengo: mi tiempo, mi dinero, mi talento? Yo estaba hablando con un amigo recientemente. Él puso un billete de $20 dólares en la canasta de la colecta en la iglesia y su novia dijo: “¿Cómo puedes poner $20 dólares en la colecta? Podemos usar ese dinero para otra cosa.” Él le respondió: “Esto no te viene a la mente cuando vamos a tomar unas bebidas y gastamos $50 dólares y todavía te ofendes que yo quiero ofrecer $20 dólares al Señor?”
 
¿Doy a Jesús lo que me sobra o le doy lo mejor de mí? No quiero decir que esto tiene que ver con el dinero. Nosotros deberíamos devolver al Señor el 10% de todo lo que ganamos. Cada dólar que ganamos es un regalo de Dios porque Jesús nos ha dado la capacidad de trabajar y nos ha permitido obtener un trabajo. Judas egoístamente sólo pensaba en el dinero. ¿Soy egoísta con los dones y talentos que Dios me ha dado?
 
¿También doy al Señor lo mejor de mi tiempo? ¿Asisto a misa por lo menos todos los domingos? ¿Paso tiempo en oración cada día dando gracias a Dios por todo lo que me ha dado? ¿Solamente dedico tiempo a Dios cuando es conveniente para mí?
 
¿Comparto mis talentos con Dios y los demás? ¿Cuáles son los talentos que Dios me ha dado? ¿Uso mis talentos para la mayor gloria de Dios? ¿Soy egoísta con mis talentos? Cómo puedo utilizar dichos dones no únicamente para mi beneficio? ¿O los utilizo para compartir la Buena Nueva de Jesucristo? ¿Se imaginan un mundo en el que todos utilizan sus talentos para el fin con el que Dios desea que sean utilizados?
 
Tómese hoy el tiempo necesario para reflexionar sobre cómo Dios le ha bendecido. ¿Está siendo generoso/a para devolverle lo que Dios le da? ¡No podemos superar a Dios en generosidad! Trata de superar a Dios en generosidad y veras qué pasará!
Paz,
Padre Burke
Para suscribirse, vaya a https://frburke23.wordpress.com y vaya a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” / “inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.

Responses

  1. Buenos días Padre, una gran tristeza me invade en este momento porque sé cuánto me ama Dios y yo le correspondo?
    Gracias Padre por sus palabras que me llevan al interior de mi corazón y proponerme ser mejor cada día .
    De Colores


Leave a Reply

Categories

