Posted by: frburke23 | March 23, 2016

Thought for Wednesday of Holy Week

MATTHEW 26:14-25
One of the Twelve, who was called Judas Iscariot,
went to the chief priests and said,
“What are you willing to give me
if I hand him over to you?”
They paid him thirty pieces of silver,
and from that time on he looked for an opportunity to hand him over.
 
On the first day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread,
the disciples approached Jesus and said,
“Where do you want us to prepare
for you to eat the Passover?”
He said,
“Go into the city to a certain man and tell him,
‘The teacher says, My appointed time draws near;
in your house I shall celebrate the Passover with my disciples.”‘“
The disciples then did as Jesus had ordered,
and prepared the Passover.
 
When it was evening,
he reclined at table with the Twelve.
And while they were eating, he said,
“Amen, I say to you, one of you will betray me.”
Deeply distressed at this,
they began to say to him one after another,
“Surely it is not I, Lord?”
He said in reply,
“He who has dipped his hand into the dish with me
is the one who will betray me.
The Son of Man indeed goes, as it is written of him,
but woe to that man by whom the Son of Man is betrayed.
It would be better for that man if he had never been born.”
Then Judas, his betrayer, said in reply,
“Surely it is not I, Rabbi?”
He answered, “You have said so.”
===========================
As we move toward the Holy Triduum starting on Thursday, we read about Judas the betrayer. What could have caused Judas to betray Jesus in such a way? Surely Judas had initially responded to Jesus’ call with enthusiasm when He said, “Come follow me”. Did Judas become disillusioned with this type of Messiah? Did holding the money bag become too much of a temptation for him? Did he become jealous of the other apostles and decide to do something to get attention? We can’t get into the mind of Judas, but from what we read he certainly lost his way.
 
Have you ever betrayed a friend?
If so, what caused you to do so?
 
None of us are beyond what Judas did to Jesus. We are all sinners and at any moment could betray our best friend and/or the Lord. “There but for the grace of God go I.”
 
I have betrayed good friends in the past. I didn’t wake up in the morning thinking, “I’m going to betray a friend today”. But when I move away from the Lord in prayer and when I start focusing on myself, that is when I have fallen. Sin is defined as “I want what I want, right now.” Love is seeking the best for the other.
 
Do I notice this dynamic in my life?
Do I notice selfishness?
Do I truly seek the best for others or is that just a guise to get what I want?
 
Let us take time this Holy Week to look into our hearts and test our motivations.
 
What is the deepest desire of my heart?
Is it truly to know, to love and to serve the Lord?
Or is my desire to be known, to be loved, to be God?
 
Lord, I come before you as a sinner. As I reflect on what Judas did to you, I am reminded that I betray you daily with my thoughts, words and actions. That is not my desire, but I get distracted away from You. I start to focus on the things of this world and my own wants and desires. This Holy Week, I open my heart to you in a new way. I ask you to fill me with your grace, your light and your strength in order to make you my top priority. Give me persistence in prayer, so that my heart burns with your love and the desire to serve you above all else. Help me to be selfless, trusting that your grace and love is sufficient for me.
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
 
MATEO 26:14-25
En aquel tiempo, uno de los Doce, llamado Judas Iscariote, fue a ver a los sumos sacerdotes y les dijo: “¿Cuánto me dan si les entrego a Jesús?” Ellos quedaron en darle treinta monedas de plata. Y desde ese momento andaba buscando una oportunidad para entregárselo.
 
El primer día de la fiesta de los panes Ázimos, los discípulos se acercaron a Jesús y le preguntaron: “¿Dónde quieres que te preparemos la cena de Pascua?” Él respondió: “Vayan a la ciudad, a casa de fulano y díganle: ‘El Maestro dice: Mi hora está ya cerca. Voy a celebrar la Pascua con mis discípulos en tu casa’ ”. Ellos hicieron lo que Jesús les había ordenado y prepararon la cena de Pascua.
 
Al atardecer, se sentó a la mesa con los Doce, y mientras cenaban, les dijo: “Yo les aseguro que uno de ustedes va a entregarme”. Ellos se pusieron muy tristes y comenzaron a preguntarle uno por uno: “¿Acaso soy yo, Señor?” Él respondió: “El que moja su pan en el mismo plato que yo, ése va a entregarme. Porque el Hijo del hombre va a morir, como está escrito de él; pero ¡ay de aquel por quien el Hijo del hombre va a ser entregado! Más le valiera a ese hombre no haber nacido”. Entonces preguntó Judas, el que lo iba a entregar: “¿Acaso soy yo, Maestro?” Jesús le respondió: “Tú lo has dicho”.
=======================
A medida que avanzamos hacia el Santo Triduo a partir del jueves, leemos acerca de Judas el traidor. ¿Qué pudo haber ocasionado que Judas traicionara a Jesús de tal manera? Judas ciertamente había respondido al llamado de Jesús con entusiasmo cuando dijo, “Ven y sígueme”. ¿Judas se desilusiono con este tipo de Mesías? ¿El sostener la bolsa de dinero fue mucha tentación para él? ¿Se enceló de los otros apóstoles y decidió hacer algo para llamar la atención? No podemos entrar en la mente de Judas, pero por lo que leemos, ciertamente perdido su camino.
 
¿Alguna vez ha traicionado a un amigo?
Si es así, ¿Qué ocasionó que lo hicieras?
 
Ninguno de nosotros está más allá de lo que Judas le hiso a Jesús. Todos somos pecadores y en cualquier momento podríamos traicionar a nuestro mejor amigo y / o al Señor. “Allá, de no ser por la gracia de Dios, voy yo.”
 
He traicionado a buenos amigos en el pasado. No me desperté por la mañana pensando, “voy a traicionar a un amigo hoy”. Pero cuando me alejo del Señor en la oración, y cuando comienzo a enfocarme en mí mismo, es cuando he caído. El pecado es querer lo que quiero, ahora mismo. El amor es buscar lo mejor para el otro.
 
¿Noto esta dinámica en mi vida?
¿Noto el egoísmo?
¿Realmente busco lo mejor para los demás o es sólo un pretexto para obtener lo que quiero?
 
Tomemos tiempo esta Semana Santa para ver nuestros corazones y poner a prueba nuestras motivaciones.
 
¿Cuál es el deseo más profundo de mi corazón?
¿Es realmente para conocer, amar y servir al Señor?
¿O mi deseo es de ser conocido, ser amado, de ser Dios?
 
Señor, vengo ante ti como un pecador. Al reflexionar sobre lo que Judas te hizo, me recuerda que yo te traiciono diariamente con mis pensamientos, palabras y acciones. Ese no es mi deseo, pero me distraigo lejos de ti. Comienzo a enfocarme en las cosas de este mundo y en mis propias necesidades y deseos. Esta Semana Santa, te abro mi corazón de una manera nueva. Te pido que me llenes con tu gracia, tu luz y tu fuerza con el fin de hacerte mi prioridad. Dame la persistencia en la oración, para que mi corazón arda con tu amor y el deseo de servirte por encima de todo. Ayúdame a ser desinteresado, confiando en que tu gracia y tu amor es suficiente para mí.
 
Dios te bendiga,
Padre Burke

Responses

  1. Dear Fr Burke..

    Thank you for this reading and homily. Indeed, Holy Thursday and Good Friday are my favorite days of the Holy Week before Easter Sunday. Thank you God for the gift of the Eucharist! But thank you for the priests ordained able to consecrate the bread and wine into His Sacred Body and Blood.. thank you for the priests given the absolution power in reconciliation to forgive my sins.

    Thank you for what you do, Fr Burke as our Diocese Vocation Director .. always looking for good young men and grooming them to become good priest!

    I lift you up in my prayers.. God Bless you, and be with you always.


Leave a Reply

Categories

