Posted by: frburke23 | April 21, 2016

Thought for Thursday, 4th Week of Easter

John 13:16-20
When Jesus had washed the disciples’ feet, he said to them:
“Amen, amen, I say to you, no slave is greater than his master
nor any messenger greater than the one who sent him.
If you understand this, blessed are you if you do it.
I am not speaking of all of you.
I know those whom I have chosen.
But so that the Scripture might be fulfilled,
The one who ate my food has raised his heel against me.
From now on I am telling you before it happens,
so that when it happens you may believe that I AM.
Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever receives the one I send
receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.”
====================
After Jesus washed the feet of His disciples, which was a strong visual lesson, He began to teach them even more. “No slave is greater than his master, nor any messenger greater than the one who sent him.” Jesus was sent by the Father and He humbled himself to wash the feet of His followers. Jesus did not make Himself greater than the Father.
 
How much more should we humble ourselves?
Does my pride get in the way of me serving others?
 
Not everyone responds to Jesus’ invitation to be a servant. In fact, Jesus knew that Judas, “the one who ate my food has raised his heel against me.” Judas was focused on himself and betrayed Jesus over money.
 
What prevents me from being a true servant and disciple of Jesus?
Do material things get in the way of my surrender?
 
Jesus was trying to prepare His disciples for the passion. He knew it would be difficult for them to stay faithful because things were going to get very bad. “From now on I am telling you before it happens, so that when it happens you may believe that I AM.”
 
Do I let difficult situations in my life take my focus off of Jesus?
Do I lose faith when times are tough?
 
Jesus has shown us the way. Jesus has taught us how to follow God the Father. Jesus has invited us to follow Him. What is my response? Can I say YES? Do my actions follow my words? May the zeal of the early disciples during this Easter season inspire us to not only place our faith in Jesus, but impel us to works of love and mercy in the world.
 
Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
 
Juan 13:16-20
En aquel tiempo, después de lavarles los pies a sus discípulos, Jesús les dijo:
 
“Yo les aseguro: el sirviente no es más importante que su amo, ni el enviado es mayor que quien lo envía. Si entienden esto y lo ponen en práctica, serán dichosos.
 
No lo digo por todos ustedes, porque yo sé a quiénes he escogido. Pero esto es para que se cumpla el pasaje de la Escritura, que dice: El que comparte mi pan me ha traicionado. Les digo esto ahora, antes de que suceda, para que, cuando suceda, crean que Yo soy.
 
Yo les aseguro: el que recibe al que yo envío, me recibe a mí; y el que me recibe a mí, recibe al que me ha enviado”.
======================
Después de que Jesús lavó los pies de Sus discípulos, lo cual fue una fuerte lección visual, comenzó a enseñarles aún más. “El sirviente no es más importante que su amo, ni el enviado es mayor que quien lo envía.” Jesús fue enviado por el Padre y Él se humilló para lavar los pies de Sus seguidores. Jesús no se hiso mayor que el Padre.
 
¿Cuánto más debemos humillarnos?
¿Mi orgullo se interpone en el camino de mi servicio a los demás?
 
No todos responden a la invitación de Jesús para ser un servidor. De hecho, Jesús sabía que Judas, “El que comparte mi pan me ha traicionado.” Judas estaba enfocado en sí mismo y traicionó a Jesús por dinero.
 
¿Qué me impide ser un verdadero servidor y discípulo de Jesús?
¿Las cosas materiales se interponen en el camino de mi rendición?
 
Jesús estaba tratando de preparar a Sus discípulos para la pasión. Él sabía que sería difícil para ellos de permanecer fiel porque las cosas se iban a poner muy mal. “Les digo esto ahora, antes de que suceda, para que, cuando suceda, crean que Yo soy.”
 
¿Dejo que las situaciones difíciles en mi vida me quiten el enfoque de Jesús?
¿Pierdo la fe en tiempos difíciles?
 
Jesús nos ha mostrado el camino. Jesús nos ha enseñado a seguir a Dios Padre. Jesús nos ha invitado a seguirlo. ¿Cuál es mi respuesta? ¿Puedo decir SÍ? ¿Mis acciones siguen mis palabras? Que el celo de los primeros discípulos durante este tiempo de Pascua nos inspire, no sólo para poner nuestra fe en Jesús, sino para impulsarnos a obras de amor y misericordia en el mundo.
 
¡Que tengas un día bendecido!
Padre Burke

Leave a Reply

Categories

